Canadian Cyclist


February 2/07 9:01 am - 2007 Cycling Team Launch

Posted by Editoress on 02/2/07 Unveils 2007 Cycling Team


Giroscopic Sport Management presented for the first time its pro women's cycling team - The event took place in Portland, Oregon, where the head office of the title sponsor,, is located. Owner Lee Dietz welcomed the team at the Multnomah Athletic Club. The 2007 season is promising for Team, one of the strongest North American UCI licenced women's cycling team. Giroscopic Sports Management has recruited some of the best riders in the world. The eleven riders from Canada, USA and New Zealand, will be racing in more than one hundred international events

Gina Grain (Can), Jessica Phillips (USA), Anne Samplonius (Can), Erinne Willock (Can), Meshy Holt (NZ) and Audrey Lemieux (Can) represent the first division. This squad will take part in the major European races in the spring, and will be returning in North America in May to take part of the biggest international events. The season will conclude with the World Championships in Germany.

The second division which includes Stéphanie Bourbeau (Can), Jennifer Magur (USA), Joelle Numainville (Can), Alison Testroete (Can) and Amanda Shaw (Can) will be focusing on the North American circuit. With this impressive undertaking, team manager, Scott Gerrie, has deployed enormous resources to support the two divisions who will be racing at the same time in two different continents.

The season will officially start tomorrow with the team's training camp in Tucson, Arizona. The team will then take part of Valley of the Sun in Phoenix, Arizona on February 16th.

In addition to this full racing calendar, the girls will be highly involved within the community, where they will promote the importance of a healthy and active lifestyle among female teenagers. The program called FitSpirit has currently 3500 students registered. Special guest speakers will include Olympic athletes and health specialists.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.