Canadian Cyclist


February 5/07 1:11 am - Escape Velocity Announces Cat 1-2 Men's Team for 2007 Season

Posted by Editoress on 02/5/07

Escape Velocity Announces Cat 1-2 Men's Team for 2007 Season
Courtesy Team Escape Velocity

One of BC's largest and most active competitive cycling clubs, Team Escape Velocity is pleased to announce its 2007 Cat 1/2 Men's Team for 2007. “The Team has been training hard for 2007,” said EV President Gordon Ross. “After last year with a number of strong individual performances in the BC Cup races and John Tolkamp's National Masters TT Champion title, I'm looking forward to seeing the team's progress this season.” The team has strong management support, sponsorship from Louis Garneau and Powerbar, and has added new riders including Tahuya Seabeck Tahuya road race winner Damien Waugh from Masi-Adobe and dEVo graduate Jeff Ain.

The Cat 1/2 team represents an important part of Escape Velocity's commitment to the long-term athlete development model. The team's mission is to provide an environment where espoir-age dEVo graduates can gain valuable racing and training experience at the regional and provincial level with older and more experienced riders. The dEVo youth program, founded and managed by Jeremy Storie has developed cyclists like Cam Evans, Marsh Cooper, and Naomi Cooper. As a recent dEVo graduate himself, Jeff Ain intends on making this happen. “I can see a National Champ in every one of those kids. But first they'll ride with us!”

The team also encourages EV members to progress to the Cat 1/2 level and race with the team. Co-Team Leader Tim Abercrombie agrees, “There is a huge amount of talent within the club just waiting to be unleashed.”

After taking the 2006 season off to pursue his firefighting career, Eric Kameka returns to volunteer his leadership and skills as Team Manager. “Having gone through the dEVo program and having raced Cat 2 with EV, I'm happy to be able to give something back and be involved with a great program”, said Eric.

New for 2007 is a club-wide comprehensive sponsorship arrangement with Louis Garneau. LG Product Representative Joe Lepine is also a team member, “The 2007 Team's appearance and presentation will be very professional, with the highest quality products.” The new Dura-Ace equipped carbon fibre Louis Garneau Sonix 6.5 SL bikes, custom painted in red, white, and black EV colors, are eagerly anticipated. John Tolkamp, co-Team Leader, test-rode the bike this fall. “It's a great bike. Rides like a dream,” said John.

Escape Velocity Cat 1/2 Men's Team roster for 2007:
1. Tim Abercrombie - co team leader
2. Jeff Ain
3. Paul Beard
4. Joe Lepine
5. Gordon Ross
6. Chris Squires
7. Jason Thompson
8. John Tolkamp - co team leader
9. Damien Waugh

Team Managers: Eric Kameka, Jak New and Twyla Biberdorf.

In addition, the team will have support from a number of other EV Cat 1/2 riders this season, including Axel Bergmann, Duncan Steele, Stephen Cork, and Robin Suopanki. Lastly, the team anticipates up and coming Cat 3 riders later in the summer including Jonathan Page, Owen Sturgess, Cody Campbell, Jonny Cheung, and Karl von Beckmann.

For more information on the Cat 1/2 Team, the dEVO youth development program and Team Escape Velocity, please visit the website:


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.