Canadian Cyclist


March 7/07 9:15 am - Trust House Women's Tour: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 03/7/07

Trust House Women's Tour New Zealand
Courtesy Organization

Stage 1: Hutt City Criterium, 27.3 km

In today‚s stage one, T- Mobile sprinter Ina-Yoko Teutenberg won the Trust House criterium stage with a huge sprint over Laura Van Gilder from the Cheerwine American team and Charlotte Becker from the German national team.

With a strong team, the T-Mobile dominated today's racing. Nikki Edyed from the Australian national team is leading the sprints competition.

A strong northerly created problems for the riders on the 2.1 km circuit and seemed to discourage breakaways. A number of riders try to break away but the T-Mobile team was always alert and chase any attempt.

Five riders crash half way through the race with German national team member Nina Khon and Amy-Kelly Horsfall from the Exodus team taken to hospital for check up, both riders have been allowed to start tomorrow 100 km stage from Martinborough to Masterton.

Oneone Wood from T-Mobile was an early protagonist, always in the front of the race. Teutenberg never attempted to go for any of the four sprints in the stage but was always either chasing or at the front of the bunch.

With 20 minutes to go, ten riders went away from the main bunch, the most to benefit from the break where the American team Cheerwine with three riders in the break. With six of the strongest teams in the race represented in the break, the main bunch allowed them to go away and everyone wait for the final sprint.

The ten riders at the front where Teutenberg and Judith Arndt, both from T-Mobile, Susanne Ljungskog, Joanne Kiesanowski, Loes Gunnewijk, Leigh Hobson, Nikki Egyed, Charlotte Becker, Laura Van Gilder and Catherine Cheatley. The break went to a 20 seconds lead in just a lap and they maintained the pace to contest the final sprint.

With two laps to go, Olivia Gollan try to close the gap but it was too late and the front ten got ready to the final sprint. Judith Arndt lead the bunch with one lap to go with Teutenberg in fifth place.

On the final 150 meters Joanne Kiesanowski lead out but Teutenberg prove too strong coming from outside and taking her first Yellow jersey in New Zealand.

Tomorrow 100km stage will test the riders with two hill climbs and cross winds in the Wairarapa. All riders however are concentrating on stage four, the 125 km stage with a 12km top of the mountain finish, this will be where the winner of the tour should be found.

1. Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Ger) T-Mobile Team, 1:10:14
2. Lauravan Gilder (USA) Cheerwine - USA
3. Charlotte Becker (Ger) German National Team
4. Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) Trust House New Zealand
5. Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) Team Flexipoint
6. Judith Arndt (Ger) T-Mobile Team
7. Nikki Egyed (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport
8. Leigh Hobson (Can) Cheerwine - USA
9. Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Team Flexipoint
10. Catherine Cheatley (NZl) Cheerwine - USA, all s.t.
11. Oenone Wood (Aus) T-Mobile Team, 0:38
12. Jenny MacPherson (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport
13. Loes Markerink (Ned) Team Flexipoint
14. Amanda Spratt (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport
15. Kate Nichols (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport
16. Vicki Whitelaw (Aus) Australian National Team
17. Annette Beutler (Sui) Team Flexipoint
18. Catherine Hare (GBr) Infinity Solutions Team
19. Candice Sullivan (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport
20. Rachel O‚Connell (Aus) Cheerwine - USA
21. Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Australian National Team
22. Peta Mullens (Aus) Infinity Solutions Team
23. Toni Bradshaw (NZl) Trust House New Zealand
24. Jocelynloane (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport
25. Linda Villumsen (Den) T-Mobile Team
26. Jennifer Fay (Irl) Infinity Solutions Team
27. Betina Hold (Can) Cheerwine - USA
28. Madeleine Sandig (Ger) Team Flexipoint
29. Michelle Hyland (NZl) Trust House New Zealand
30. Olivia Gollan (Aus) Australian National Team
31. Michelle Kiesanowski (NZl) Wellington Star Mercedes Benz
32. Amy Mosen (NZl) Wellington Star Mercedes Benz
33. Gina Waibl (NZl) Samsung New Zealand
34. Alex Rhodes (Aus) T-Mobile Team
35. Carla Ryan (Aus) Australian National Team
36. Rosara Joseph (NZl) Trust House New Zealand
37. Tracy Clark (NZl) Wellington Beds Team
38. Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) Samsung New Zealand
39. Larissa Kleinmann (Ger) German National Team
40. Sophie Ruderman (GBr) Infinity Solutions Team
41. Sarah Ulmer (NZl) Trust House New Zealand
42. Sara Carrigan (Aus) Australian National Team
43. Lorian Graham (Aus) Australian National Team
44 Marina Jduvnjak (NZl) Trust House New Zealand, all s.t.
45. Lauren Webb (NZl) Exodus Gym Team, 3:20
46. Nicola Cox (NZl) Exodus Gym Team, s.t.
47. Brooke Ourada (USA) Cheerwine - USA, 6:40
48. Yvette Hill-Willis (NZl) Wellington Star Mercedes Benz
49. Kerri-Anne Torckler (NZl) Samsung New Zealand
50. Tracy Herbert (NZl) Wellington Beds Team
51. Virginia Hennig (Ger) German National Team
52. Rosy Mccall (NZl) Wellington Star Mercedes Benz
53. Brei Gudsell (NZl) Samsung New Zealand
54. Annelies Basten (NZl) Samsung New Zealand
55. Gabrielle Bahler (NZl) Wellington Beds Team
56. Tara Allerton (NZl) Wellington Beds Team, 10:00
57. Ninakohn (Ger) German National Team
58. Amy-Kelly Horsfall (NZl) Exodus Gym Team, both s.t.
DNF Naomi Williams (Aus) Exodus Gym Team
DNS Kate Bates (Aus) T-Mobile Team
DNS Ske Gebhardt (Ger) German National Team
DNS Laura Gavican (Aus) Exodus Gym Team


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.