Canadian Cyclist


March 24/07 10:49 am - Cape Epic: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 03/24/07

Absa Cape Epic

Photos from Frank Bodenmüller -

Top riders in the men's classification of the 2007 Absa Cape Epic completed the 1st stage today (March 24, 2007), with the stage winners, Stefan Sahm (Germany) and Karl Platt (Germany) of the Bulls team winning the tight sprint finish at 11.00am against Roel Paulissen and Jakob Fuglsang of team Cannondale-Vredestein 1, after four hours, one minute and sixteen seconds of race time. Starting today's route at 7.00am in Knysna, the riders covered 101 kilometres of terrain through lush indigenous forest, majestic mountain climbs and the heat of the Klein Karoo, with a total climb of 2660 metres.

Rider of the winning Bulls team, Stefan Sahm says of today's stage: "This was my inaugural ride at the Absa Cape Epic and it was mind-blowing. The scenery we rode through today was absolutely stunning and I actually cannot believe that we won this stage because we did not expect to at all in this high-class field. We have actually accomplished our mission - to win a stage, particularly knowing who we were up against."

Tomorrow, the 1206 riders will again be challenged to another gruelling 132 kilometres compounded by 2 245metres of total climbing as the race moves from Uniondale to Oudtshoorn in the second stage of this year's Absa Cape Epic.

Stage 1

Men's Classification Stage Winners

1. Bulls Team (Stefan Sahm and Karl Platt) 4:01:16.1
2. Cannondale-Vredestein 1 Team (Roel Paulissen and Jakob Fuglsang) 4:01:16.6
3. Multivan Merida Biking Team 1 (Ralph Naef and Jose Hermida) 4:03:52.3
4. Giant/Athleticum Team (Silvio Bundi and Gion Manetsch) 4:05:26.4
5. Dolphin Mountainbike Team (Bart Brentjiens and Rudi van Houts) 4:07:21.1

1. MC/Mongoose (Yolande Speedy/Paul Cordes) RSA, 4:46:35
2. MARSILIO PROJECTS MIXED (Peter Stopforth/Ischen Stopforth) RSA, 4:53:40
3. Maloja-BTS Time for Travel (Ivonne Kraft/Nico Pfitzenmaier) Ger, 4:58:35

7. ABSA PRO MIXED (GeddanRuddock (RSA)/Jean Ann McKirdy (Can), 5:10:30


1. Cycle lab (Andrew McLean/Damian Booth) RSA, 4:41:02
2. Red Mongoose (M.C. Franken/Fred Coleske) RSA, 4:43:46
3. ABSA Masters (Linus van Onselen/Doug Brown) RSA, 4:46:34

44. Crazy Canucks (Andrew Hunt/John Thompson), 6:11:51

Full results available at


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.