Canadian Cyclist


April 2/07 4:04 am - Garrett Lemire Memorial Grand Prix

Posted by Editoress on 04/2/07

4th Annual Garrett Lemire Memorial Grand Prix April 1st, Ojai, CA
Race Report by Kirsten Robbins

Mackenzie Dickey Finishes on the Podium in Second; Charles Dionne Takes 7th in a Field Sprint

Women's Race: At the fourth annual racing of the 60-minute timed criterium downtown Ojai, named in memory of cyclist Garret Lemire who was killed in a head on collision during the 2003 Tucson Bicycle Classic, the Colavita/Sutter Home Women's Team presented by Cooking Light was represented by Andrea Dvorak, Sarah Tillotson, Mackenzie Dickey, and Stacey Spencer. The race was aggressive all around and on the final lap, Mackenzie positioned herself in fourth on the wheel of Cheerwine's Laura Van Gilder's as they crested the top of hill on the backside of the circuit. Mackenzie jumped before the final corner and was caught by Van Gilder just before the line to take a strong second place on the podium.

Men's race: The roster for the Colavita/Sutter Home Men's Cycling Team presented by Cooking Light included Tyler Wren, Charles Dionne, Luca Damiani, Alejandro Acton, Davide Frattini, Anthony Colby, Peter Hatton and Adam Bergman. The squad launched multiple attacks and breakaway attempts forcing other teams to work hard throughout the two-hour criterium, taking turns themselves to ensure the team was represented at the front and in every move. Peter initiated the most threatening move when he launched himself off of the field with 10 laps to go. Toyota-United's Hank Vogel's and Successful Living's Ricardo Secular bridged up to him two laps later and the three worked hard to make the break stick. When it looked like the break would get caught, the team sent four riders to the front to organize their lead out for Charles Dionne. Several attacks came with two laps to go and in the end a field sprint barreled through the final corner with Charles taking 7th place.


1. Ivan Dominguez (Toyota- United Pro Cycling Team)
2. Russell Downing
3. Lucas Haedo
4. Alexander Candelario (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)
5. Rory Sutherland
6. Frank Travieso (AEG-TOSHIBA-JetNetwork Pro Cycling Team)
7. Charles Dionne (Colavita/Sutter Home Men's Cycling Team presented by Cooking Light)
8. Martin Gilbert (Kelly Benefit Strategies)

9. Eric Keim (AEG-TOSHIBA-JetNetwork Pro Cycling Team)
10. Kayle Leo Grande (Rock Racing)

43. Ryan Roth
56. Eric Wohlberg (Symmetrics)


1. Laura Van Gilder (Cheerwine)
2. Mackenzie Dickey (Colavita Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light)
3. Nichole Wangsgard (Vitesse Cycling LLC)
4. Brenda Lyons (TEAm Lipton)
5. Kelly Benjamin (Cheerwine)
6. Anne Samplonius (Team
7. Jennifer Wilson (South Bay Wheelmen)
8. Brooke Miller (Team TIBCO)
9. Martina Patella (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team)
10. Taitt Sato (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team)

17. Stacey Spencer (Colavita Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light)
23. Kirsten Robbins (Advil/Chapstick)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.