Canadian Cyclist


April 16/07 9:04 am - Rollin Scores a Deuce in Florida

Posted by Editoress on 04/16/07

Jackson Cycling Classic
Courtesy Kodak Gallery Pro Cycling Team

Oh, Canada! Rollin On Fire In Back-To-Back Wins For Kodak Gallery Pro Cycling Team Presented By Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.

Canadian National Champion, Dominique Rollin scored two major victories for the Kodak Gallery Pro Cycling Team, presented by Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. winning both the Comcast Jacksonville Twilight Crit (NRC) and Sunday's Jacksonville Road Race.

As riders took the starting line in Saturday evening's criterium, driving rains soaked the 1-kilometer course and set the stage for a true test of speed and riding skill. Nearly from the gun, Rollin jumped to the front and set a blistering tempo few could match. Riders fell of pace as the field strung out in desparate chase. Despite the efforts to chase, Rollin and two break away companions took only 30-minutes to lap the field.

From that point, the field stayed together setting up for an almost certain field sprint to decide the race victory. Not wanting to risk a field sprint in the slippery conditions, Rollin turned on the afterburners and rode away from the field. Rollin explained, "I was leading with two corners to go and I knew I had to give it all. This way no one could pass me, because it was so slippery on the final corner that you had to go through first."

Rollin's teammate, Josh Thornton, played an important role helping Rollin win the race. In the early stages of the race, Thornton worked to control the field as Rollin and his breakaway companions rode away from the field. In the final laps of the race, Thornton and Rollin worked closely to stay at the front of a surging field to make sure Rollin hit the critical final turns in first place. Thornton finished strongly in the field sprint as his teammate took the win.

When asked after the race about how he was able to turn the wet and slippery surface conditions into an advantage, Rollin explained, "I was using the Michelin Pro2 Grip tires and that was clearly an advantage! Those tires really hook up in the wet."

On Sunday the Kodak Gallery duo again joined forces to ride away with the Jacksonville Road Race. Rollin took the victory and Thornton, who worked all race to support Rollin took a very impressive 4th place.

Jacksonville Cycling Classic

NRC Criterium April 14th

Pro 1-2 Men
1. Dominique Rollin ( p/b Sierra Nevada), 1:31:00
2. Alejandro Borrajo (Rite Aid)
3. Frank Travieso (AEG-TOSHIBA-JetNetwork)
4. Chris Jones (Nerac)
5. Chris Frederick
6. Mark Hekman (A&F Pro Cycling), all s.t.
7. Jeff Hopkins (Jittery Joe's), 2:18
8. Andrew Crater (Wheel & Sprocket)
9. Ivan Franco (AEG-TOSHIBA-JetNetwork)
10. Chad Burdzilauskas (Cycle Science)
11. Adam Myerson (Nerac)
12. Josh Thorton ( p/b Sierra Nevada)
13. Todd Henriksen (AEG-TOSHIBA-JetNetwork)
14. Guido Palma (Rite Aid)
15. Rudy Robaina (Cycle Science)
16. David Wiswell (Nerac)
17. Craig Dodson (Nature's Path)
18. Johnny Sundt (Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast)
19. Bill Short (Team Alliance Environmental)
20. Seth Hansley (Loco's Grill and Pub)
21. Tim Henry (Jittery Joe's)
22. Ryan White (PCW Cycling)
23. Frank Lopez (Preferred Alliance)
24. Peter Penzell (Nature's Path)
25. Daniel Holt (Nerac)
26. Todd Hancock (Herbalife/Bike America)
27. David Duncan (TIME Developmental)
28. Kevin Attkisson (Texas Roadhouse)
29. Leo Frayre Avalos (Colavita)
30. Jon Atkins (Team Myogenesis p/b Landmark)
31. James Sweeney (ABRT)
32. Ryan DeWald (Rite Aid), all s.t.
33. Gary Yates (Naples Cyclery), 2:28
34. Robert White, Jr. (PCW Cycling)
35. Winston David
36. Karel Sumbal (Team Gearlink)
37. Aidan Charles (Nerac)
38. Nicole Bossie (Juice Plus)
39. Bobby Sweeting (AEG-TOSHIBA-JetNetwork)
40. Chris Monteleone (TIME Developmental)
41. Jered Gruber (TIME Developmental), all s.t.
42. Jonathan Erdelyi (YSG Racing), 2:40
43. Keith Norris (AEG-TOSHIBA-JetNetwork), 2:59
44. Bill Elliston (Rite Aid), 3:04

Elite 1-2-3 Women
1. Kelly Benjamin (Cheerwine), 52:34
2. Allyson Brandt (Targetraining)
3. Kristen Sanders (Aaron's Corporate Furnishings)
4. Dale Tye (Hub Racing), all s.t.
5. Shannon Hutchinson-Krupat (Aaron's Corporate Furnishings), 0:18
6. Laura Van Gilder (Cheerwine)
7. Erica Allar (Team Fuji)
8. Frances Elliott (Cycle Science)
9. Christina Dekraay (HT Naturals)
10. Nichole Wangsgard (Vitesse Cycling)
11. Jenette Williams (Hub Racing)
12. Valeria Sanders (Team Kenda Tire)
13. Cherie Disque (Team Laser)
14. Christi-An Hansley
15. Leigh Valetti (Targetraining)
16. Debbie Veitch (CycleScience)
17. Holli Steelman (Juice Plus)
18. Kim Foland (BMW/Bianchi)
19. Shannon Koch (Compliance Depot)
20. Tamyra Barnard (Team Kenda Tire)
21. Gina Voci
22. Sheba Farrin (Hub Racing)
23. Samantha Van Gerbig (Wachovia/Intl Bicycle Centers)
24. Robin Farina (Targetraining)
25. Amy McGuire (Wachovia/Intl Bicycle Centers)
26. Julie Granger (Aaron's Corporate Furnishings)
27. Beth Frye (Cheerwine)
28. Lee Anne Asbury (Aaron's Corporate Furnishings)
29. Tracy Huber
30. Allison Carter (Team Kenda Tire)
31. Jacqueline Kurth (ABD Cycle Club)
32. Sarah Uhl (Cheerwine)
33. Patria Lanfranchi (Mob Cyclery ETC Racing)
34. Elizabeth Morse Hill
35. Boyed Johnson (Team Alliance Environmental)
36. Kim Sawyer (BMW/Bianchi)
37. Krystal Jeffs (Hub Racing)
38. Kathryn Clark (H2 Naturals)
39. Kathleen Baldwin
40. Jacquelyn Crowell (Cycle Science)
41. Katie DeGoursey (Jacksonville Racing Club)
42. Donna Kerby (Sorella Cycling/Allegiance), all s.t.
43. Alane Ballweg (CycleScience), 0.36
44. Lee Farabaugh (Team Cycleworks pb Lowes Mortgages)
45. Robin Kavan (Neptune)
46. Kristin Keim (Team Cycleworks pb Lowes Mortgages), all s.t.

Penny Farms Road Race April 15th

1. Dominique Rollin (Kodak Sierra Nevada)
2. Alejandro Borrajo (Rite-Aid)
3. Jeff Hopkins (Jittery Joes)
4. Josh Thorton (Kodak Sierra Nevada)
5. Daniel Chavez (Preferred Alliance)
6. Ivan Franco (AEG- TOSHIBA-JetNetwork)
7. Yosvany Falcon (AEG- TOSHIBA-JetNetwork)
8. Johny Sundt (Kelly Benefits)
9. Allison Anjos (Herba-Life)
10. James Sweeney (American Bicycle Racing Team)
11. Karel Sumbal (TeamGearLink)
12. Chad Burdzilauskas (Cycle Science)
13. Kieth Gerber (Human Zone Cycling)
14. Leonel Ramirez (Preferred Alliance)
15. Rich Harper (ABRC Cane Creek)
16. Ricardo Hernandez (A & E Investors)
17. Rudy Robaina (Cycle Science)
18. David Guttenplan (CRCA/Sakonnet Technology U25)
19. Todd Hancock (Herba-Life)
20. Daniel Holt (NERAC/Outdoorlights.Com)
21. Nicholas Shaffer (Human Zone Cycling)
22. Frank Lopez (Preferred Alliance)
23. Unknown (Unattached)
24. Mike Norton (Rite-Aid)
25. Guido Palma (Rite-Aid)

1. Laura Van Gilder (Cheerwine)
2. Erica Allar (Team Fuji)
3. Kathleen Baldwin (Unattached)
4. Katie DeGoursey (Jacksonville Racing Club)
5. Allison Brandt (Target Training)
6. Kelly Benjamin (Cheerwine)
7. Christina DeKraay (HT Naturals)
8. Sarah Uhl (Cheerwine)
9. Debbie Veitch (Cycle Science)
10. Jenette Williams (Hub Racing)
11. Nichole Wangsgard (Vitesse Cycling)
12. Hollie Steelman (Cheerwine)
13. Samantha Van Gerbig (Wachovia)
14. Cherie Disque (Laser-es)
15. Valeria Sanders (Kenda Tire)
16. Gina Voci (Kenda Tire)
17. Beth Frye (Cheerwine)
18. Amanda Hall (Atomic Race Team)
19. Kim Sawyer (Travel Girl)
20. Katherine Clark (HT Naturals)
21. Ann Turner (Georgia)
22. Robin Farina (Target Training)
23. Amy McGuire (Wachovia)
24. Leigh Valletti (Travel Girl)
25. Allison Carter (Unattached)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.