Canadian Cyclist


May 7/07 10:00 am - FloraGLO Island Cup XC #4 (B.C.)

Posted by Editor on 05/7/07

FloraGLO Island Cup XC #4
Courtesy Brian Kuhn

The FloraGLO Island Cup continued this weekend (May 6th) with the #4 XC race in the series. Sunday saw grey skies and rain that left the course muddy and slick, especially over Maple Mountain's famous technical, rocky terrain.

Just 38 racers made the drive to Duncan, only 30 finished:

Expert Men - 4 Laps
Drew Mackenzie 1:50:05
Cory Wallace 1:54:33
Craig Richey 1:56:09
Justin Mark 2:00:05
Andrew Kent 2:04:48
Andrew Brown 2:06:41
Ken Olson 2:06:54
Trevor Jones 2:07:30
Chris Birch 2:07:56
Bryn Shapperd 2:08:50
Bill McMillan 2:15:33
Jeremy Hart 2:20:12
Dave Bergman 2:25:36
Micheal Davison 2:29:00
David Huntley 2:40:00

Expert Women - 3 Laps
Joele Guynup 1:54:20
Carey Sather 1:58:54

Intermediate Men - 2 Laps
Don Coburn 1:09:10
Charles Hamer 1:10:07
Chris Dickinson 1:17:17
Derek Steel 1:17:37
Kevin Brown 1:20:25
Peter Daan 1:21:29
Brad Niessen 1:25:00
Russ Dodd 1:25:45
Gerrit Huizinia 1:28:01
Scott Manson 1:32:52
Rick King 1:33:37
Aaron Fisher 1:34:10

Intermediate Women - 2 laps
Janna Mackenzie 1:34:20

Heartfelt thank you's go out to... the racers for making the drive; Moby Meats for the free BBQ; Norco, Kona and Experience Cycling for the draw prizes; Cowichan Rental for donating trail-maintenance machinery and manpower; and to the volunteers without whom there would be no race. A special thanks to the Municipality of North Cowichan for allowing us to race on their land.

The FloraGLO Island Cup is a grassroots series that has fun races all over Vancouver Island at the best singletrack hot-spots. The FloraGLO Island Cup is part of Cycling BC's commitment to grass-roots racing and fun events. Check out the Arrowsmith Bike Club website - - for more info on the series.

Questions regarding the race can be directed via e-mail to or call the Experience Cycling store at 250-746-4041.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.