Canadian Cyclist


May 14/07 9:18 am - CCA Announces Pan American Road & Track Championship Team

Posted by Editoress on 05/14/07

CCA Announces Pan American Road & Track Championship Team
Courtesy CCA

The Canadian Cycling Association is happy to announce the full team for the Pan American Road and Track Championships, to be held in Valencia, Venezuela, from May 21 to 27, 2007.

After several athletes met the time standards at the CCA trials in Burnaby, BC, on May 9-11, Canada will be sending a larger than expected track delegation to the championships.

Track competition runs from May 21 to 24, and road competition runs May 25-27.

The following athletes will represent Canada in Venezuela:

Track men:
• Zach Bell (Vancouver BC) : Points Race
• Martin Gilbert (Montreal QC) : Madison
• Ryan McKenzie (Calgary AB) : Madison
• Cam MacKinnon (Calgary AB): Team Sprint, Keirin, Sprint, Kilo
• Lawrence Leroux (Oka QC): Team Sprint
• Yannick Morin (Otterburn Park QC): Team Sprint

Track women:
• Gina Grain (Vancouver BC): Points Race
• Monique Sullivan (Calgary AB): Sprint
Note: Sullivan has been selected as a self-funded development athlete

Road men
• Zach Bell (Vancouver BC) : Time Trial
• Charles Dionne (Ste-Foy QC) : Road Race
• Martin Gilbert (Montreal QC) : Road Race
• Ryan McKenzie (Calgary AB) : Road Race
• Keven Lacombe (U23 - Amos QC) : Road Race, Time Trial
• David Veilleux (U23 - Quebec QC) : Road Race, Time Trial

Road women:
• Gina Grain (Vancouver BC): Road Race

• Kris Westwood (manager)
• Richard Wooles (coach - track)
• Vincent Jourdain (coach - road)
• Sophie St-Jacques (soigneur)
• Chad Grochowina (mechanic)

Editor's Note: As has previously been reported, Symmetrics pulled their riders from the road squad over pre-selections the High Performance Committee (HPC) made t the track squad. Zach Bell will be the only Symmetrics rider participating due to his qualification on the track. He will ride the Individual Time Trial but not the Road Race.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.