Canadian Cyclist


May 19/07 3:05 am - Tour de L'Aude: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 05/19/07

Tour de L'Aude France
Report courtesy Team

Stage One of the Tour de l'Aude, the 115.5 km Port La Nouvelle road race gave riders and teams their first opportunity to stretch their legs against each other, rub shoulders and speculate on race tactics.

Team came off the line firing on all cylinders and were by far the most aggressive team of the day, with Anne Samplonius leading the charge and expected to win Most Aggressive Rider of the Day. "I had good legs today," Anne said after the race, "it is great to be back riding in Europe and our plan for today was to get out there and shake it up a bit".

Meshy Holt (Team placed second in a sprint, which also put her on the point's board.

Heading into the last 20km the peloton was still together, Team still attacking off the front. "Without our sprinter we had nothing to lose so Anne and I decided to keep pushing it," said Meshy Holt (Team, "we aren't giving anything away". As a result of their efforts the tempo remained high with the sprinters teams controlling the front, chasing down attacks and maneuvering for position for the final sprint.

The stage ended with a big sprint finish

Stage 1: Port La Nouvelle to Port La Nouvelle , 115.5km

1. Marianne Vos (Ned) Team DSB Bank, 3:00:54
2. Ina Teutenberg (Ger) T-Mobile Team - Women
3. Angela Brodtka (Ger) Germany
4. Tanja Hennes (Ger) Bigla Cycling Team
5. Priska Doppmann (Swi) Raleigh Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team

15. Anne Samplonius (Can) Team
46. Joelle Numainville (Can) Team

62. Jessica Phillips (USA) Team
69. Melissa Holt (NZl) Team, all s.t.
75. Amanda Shaw (Can) Team, 2:58
92. Erinne Willock (Can) Team, s.t.

1. Marianne Vos (Ned) Team DSB Bank, 3:05:57
2. Christiane Soeder (Aut) Raleigh Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team, at s.t.
3. Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Germany, 0:05
4. Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) Vrienden Van Het Platteland, s.t.
5. Zoulfia Zabirova (Kaz) Bigla Cycling Team, 0:08

26. Anne Samplonius (Can) Team, 0:22
42. Jessica Phillips (USA) Team, 0:32
48. Melissa Holt (NZl) Team, 0:35
70. Joelle Numainville (Can) Team, 1:11
79. Amanda Shaw (Can) Team, 3:38
86. Erinne Willock (Can) Team, 3:50


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.