Canadian Cyclist


May 23/07 10:24 am - Mississauga Midweek

Posted by Editoress on 05/23/07

Mississauga Midweek
Courtesy Club

Almost ninety riders took to the course this week for the Midweek Tuesday night races. The early race was a 20 lap points race with Dennis Sartori of La Bicicletta winning the final sprint and the overall classification.

In the late race numerous attacks failed until the last ten laps when a strong break went away with Sebastian Porten (Aquila Racing), Chris Freeland (Cycle Solutions), Brent Aquino (Invita Racing), Zach Morris (Jet Fuel) and Sam Bail and Blair Purvis of Teamates Purvis and Bail woud take 1-2 in the finish, but La Bicicletta's Cockburn had already put away enough points to walk away with another win.

Midweek CC requires some instructors to help with the Youth Clinics at Centennial Park Thursdays. If you can offer a few hours please contact Craig Fagan at

Some riders in kit are also needed for publicizing the CHIN Picnic races at their infamous press party. If you are available on Wednesday June 6th from 11:30 am-1:00pm and wish to help out in this regard contact Amit Ghosh (

Thanks to Michelle Payne for help at the registration table and to Midweek's Craig Fagan, Alan Forde and Dan Rothnie for setup and marsalling and to the Meloff kids and Vic Ching for marshalling during the race. The talented Dave Conroy has posted a great set of photos from the night on his flickr account: (

Early Race

20 Laps - 19.8 km (41.3 kph avg. speed(

1. Dennis Sartori (La Bicicletta) 14 pts
2. Graham Anderson (Midweek CC) 8
3. Derek Hsiung (Midweek CC) 8
4. Jordan Kremblewski (Cycle Solutions) 6
5. Mike Ybanez (Mississauga BRC) 6
6. Bruce Camacho (D'Ornellas) 4
7. Rick Meloff (La Bicicletta) 4
8. Tim Taha (Cyclissimo) 3
9. Johnny Edgehill (D'Ornellas) 2
10. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) 2
11. Joseph Commachio (Ind.) 2
12. Chad Ruby (La Bicicletta) 1

1. Anderson, Meloff, D.Thompson, C.Ruby
2. Hsiung, Ybanez, Sartori, Commachio
3. Anderson, Taha, Sartori, Meloff
4. Sartori, J.Kremblewski, Camacho, Edgehill (2x pts)

Late Race

49 Laps - 48.5 km (44.8 kph avg. speed(

1. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) 25 pts
2. Peter Morse (Jet Fuel) 18
3. Blair Purvis ( 12
4. Sam Bail ( 12
5. Ed Makarchuk (KHS) 12
6. Zach Morris (Jet Fuel) 11
7. Ed Veal (Cyclissimo) 9
7. Dan Lefebvre ( Team R.A.C.E.) 9
9. Greg Cavanagh (Oakville Cyclepath) 8
10. John Prosser (Aquila Racing) 5
11. Bent Aquino (Invita Racing) 4
12. Rob D'Amico (Invita Racing) 4
13. Chris Freeland (Cycle Solutons) 3
14. Mark Polsinelli (Invita Racing) 3
15 Paul Dilecce (Wheels of Bloor) 1.
86 Starters

1. Cockburn, Makarchuk, Morse, Cavanagh, Dilecce
2. Prosser, Morse, Polsinelli, Makarchuk, Lefebvre
3. Cockburn, Lefebvre, Makarchuk, Morse, Cavanagh
4. Cockburn, Morse, Veal, Lefebvre, Cavanagh (2x pts)
5. Cockburn, D'Amico, Veal, Cavanagh, Morse
6. Z.Morris, Bail, Freeland, Purvis, Makarchuk
7. Purvis, Bail, Z.Morris, Aquino, Makarchuk, (2x pts)
Freeland, Porten, J.Hall, Morse, Cavanagh, Cockburn, Chiocca, Shaw, Ficko


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.