Canadian Cyclist


May 23/07 10:44 am - McGrath Receives Amateur Athletes Fund Bursary

Posted by Editor on 05/23/07

McGrath Receives Amateur Athletes Fund Bursary
Courtesy SIRC

AthletesCAN, the association of Canada's national team athletes, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2007 Team Investors Group Amateur Athletes Fund Bursary. Mountain biker Seamus McGrath is one of the recipients.

In keeping with their commitment to amateur sport in Canada, Investors Group established an Amateur Athlete Bursary Fund for Canada's top amateur athletes. A national leader in delivering personalized financial solutions to Canadians, Investors Group annually awards twenty $5,000 bursaries to assist Canada's elite amateur athletes with the costs of training and competition. Selection criteria includes: athletic achievement, financial need and community involvement. AthletesCAN administers the bursary on behalf of Investors Group.

"Being involved in the community is a fundamental part of being a national team athlete and this year's bursary recipients are great examples of how athletes can make a difference both on and off the playing field," says AthletesCAN CEO Guy Tanguay. "AthletesCAN is proud to partner with Investors Group each year to recognize the efforts of some of our country's top athletes in their sports and in their communities. We thank Investors Group for the continual leadership and support they provide to Canada's amateur athletes."

"Team Investors Group Amateur Athletes Fund bursaries acknowledge achievement but, even more importantly, they celebrate the hard work and dedication required to reach the highest goals," said Richard Irish, Assistant Vice-President, Community Affairs for Investors Group. "Amateur Athletes Bursary Fund recipients, through their commitment and perseverance, continue to provide worthy examples for us all. We are proud to honor and help support these outstanding Canadians".

2007 Team Investors Group Amateur Athletes Fund Bursary Recipients:

Lyndsay Belisle Wrestling Burnaby, BC
Tamas Buday Jr. Canoe/Kayak Mississauga, ON
Jeff Christy Goalball Kemptville, ON
Shannon Condie Taekwondo Mississauga, ON
Karen Furneaux Canoe/Kayak Waverley, NS
Sonja Gaudet Wheelchair Curling Vernon, BC
Blythe Hartley Diving Calgary, AB
Jayna Hefford Hockey Brampton, ON
Benoit Huot Swimming Longueuil, QC
Tomy Linteau Fencing Quebec, QC
Jacques Martin Athletics St-Denis de Brompton, QC
Seamus McGrath Cycling ˆ Mountain Bike Duncan, BC
Nathaniel Miller Water Polo Calgary, AB
Alexandra Orlando Rhythmic Gymnastics North York, ON
Danielle Peers Wheelchair Basketball Edmonton, AB
Philippe Poirier Karate Gatineau, QC
Chamaine Reid Badminton Calgary, AB
Jane Rumball Rowing London, ON
Rick Say Swimming Victoria, BC
Jason Tunks Athletics London, ON


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.