Canadian Cyclist


May 28/07 6:52 am - BMX

Posted by Editoress on 05/28/07

BMX - Victoria International
Courtesy Sportcom & CCA

Samantha Cools sizzles on BMX circuit

Samantha Cools of Calgary won the silver medal on Sunday at the Victoria International BMX cycling competition in Victoria. With the performance, Cools gained more valuable International Cycling Union ranking points. Just last week, she won an international event in Prunedale, California.

Christine Miller of Airdrie, Alta., was fifth in the same women's elite race. On the men's side, Patrick Lebel was fifth while Nick Goertzen of Alberta and Scott Erwood of B.C., were seventh and eighth respectively.

In junior competition, Jimmy Brown won the silver medal.

"This competition was a good test for our national program," said Canadian national BMX team head coach Tanya Dubnicoff. "We're on track to have our best world championships ever." The worlds are scheduled for Victoria at the end of July.

BMX racing makes its official debut on the Olympic program at the 2008 Games in Beijing.

Elite Female
1. Kimberly Hayashi (USA) Redline / Nike
2. Samantha Cools (Can) Supercross
3. Rachel Smith (USA) Kenda/Bawls
4. Cassie Bushnell (USA) FMF BMX
5. Christine Miller (Can) Crupi
6. Rosemary Adams (Can) Staats Canada
7. Danielle Brisson (Can) Stats Canada
8. Chelsea Trites (Can)
9. Shanda Hill (Can)

Elite Male
1. Khalen Young (Aus)
2. Robert De Wilde (Ned) Redline / Maxxis / TLD
3. Steven Cisar (USA)
4. Jarrett Kolich (USA) Avent-Bombshell-Maxxis
5. Patrick Lebel (Can) Fly Racing
6. Vance Wiesendanger (USA)
7. Nick Goertzen (Can) Fly / 661 / Nitrolube / no
8. Scott Erwood (Can) Stardard Bykes, Fly Racing,Proworks
9. Aaron Lepp (Can) Camp cools / Redline
10. Kyle Michell (Can)

11. Donny Robinson (USA) Formula/HP
12. Kevin Hill (Can) ONE Bicycles
13. Karl Clark (USA) Super
14. Derek Sipkoi (USA)
15. Ward Pateman (Can) BMXHEX-STAATS-FLY
16. Mischa Partridge (Can)
17. Adam Muys (Can) Standard /Fox racing
18. Damian Lachance (Can)

Junior Male
1. Joey Bradford (USA) GT
2. Jim Brown (Can) Supercross Factory
3. Michael Irwin (Can) No Hype
4. Scott Bernacki (Can)
5. Karsten Millman (Can) WREX
6. Jean-Sebastien Dufesne (Can) Redline
7. Brian Martel (Can)

8. Maurice Horton (USA) Avery / Bombshell / Maxxis
9. Shane Clark (Can) SHAD Inc.
10. Jordan Hulme (Can)
11. Joey Trudeau (Can) Haro / Answer
12. Tyler Simpson (Can) Team Ontario/Supercross/Answer

Junior Female
1. Amanda Geving (USA) Troy Lee Designs
2. Kaila Sweeney (Can) Supercross BMX
3. Layne Nyhaug (Can) Proworks/FLY
4. Michilla Negenman (Can) B & P Cycle / Red Line/ Pretty Tough
5. Lindsay Harrington (Can) Bert & Mac's
6. Stephanie Katelnikoff (Can) Shooting Edge


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.