Canadian Cyclist


July 14/07 12:35 pm - Tour de Whiterock: Stage 1 report, photos & full results

Posted by Editoress on 07/14/07

Tour de White Rock

Stage 1 (July 13th) : Hill Climb

Photos by Greg Descantes.

The Durango Kid rode into town Friday night and knocked off the top gun in the Tour de White Rock Hill Climb, the opening event of BC Superweek.

Matt Shriver of Durango, Colorado upset the defending champion Cam Evans in the raceoff between the 5 fastest qualifiers from 66 pros who raced up the steep, 700 meter course in downtown White Rock. "My legs and arms are mush but other than that I feel great," joked Shriver after beating Evans to the finish line in a 2 man breakaway in the final hundred meters. "I thought he took off a little early and didn't except to be able to catch him. I stayed on his wheel and was surprised when he sat up (about 50 meters from the finish line) I guess he ran out of gas after winning the Canadian Nationals 2 days ago and then flying back yesterday from Quebec. I'm just happy to win. I love the head to head racing, we don't see that much in hill climbs. It's more exciting and fun for the racers and the fans. They really get into it."

The victory broke a Symmetrics monopoly in the Tour de White Rock. The powerful Symmetrics squad swept all 3 men's event last year. In the Hill Climb they had to be satisfied with a 2nd by Tsawwassen'sEvans and a 3rd place finish by Andrew Pinfold of Victoria.

In the women's race, Friday the 13th turned out to be a lucky day for Abbotsford's Allison Testroete. She got a break when the fastest qualifier in the 34 woman field, Quebec City's Anne-Marie Lefrancois got a flat tire and couldn't race in the final. Testroete, who posted the 3rd best qualifying time up the steep, 700 meter hill, won the 4 woman final quite easily. She coasted across the finish line 20 meters ahead of Leah Goldstein who was 2nd for the 2nd year in a row. Californian Shelley Olds took 3rd.

The 28th annual Coast Capital Savings Tour de White Rock continues Saturday with the men's and women's criteriums beginning at 4.30 pm and concludes with the Road Race on Marine Drive at 8 am Sunday.


1. Alison Testroete (Team
2. Leah Goldstein (Symmetrics Cycling)
3. Shelley Olds (PROMAN/Paradigm)
4. Malindills Maclean (JAZZ Apple Cycling Team)
5. Heather Kay (ERTC/redbike)
6. Leah Guloien (Team Giant)
7. Courtney Albert (TREK - Red Truck Ale)
8. Erinne Willock (
9. Gina Grain (
10. Sarah Murdoch (JAZZ Apple Cycling Team)
11. Gillian Kornell (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
12. Jaymie McGowan (Oak Bay Bikes)
13. Rushlee Buchanan (JAZZ Apple Cycling Team)
14. Laura Brown (Giant Bicycles Canada)
15. Susy Pryde (JAZZ Apple Cycling Team)
16. Stephanie Roorda (Giant Bicycles Canada)
17. Megan Rathwell (Independent)
18. Lisa Tasa (TREK - Red Truck Ale)
19. Marie-Claude Gagnon (Team Integrale)
20. Jennifer Schultz (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
21. Natasha Kuzmak (Synergy Racing Cycle Club)
22. Carrie Eller (Avanti Racing/Ti Cycles)
23. Jenny Trew (Giant Bicycles Canada)
24. Ryan Hostetter (Velo Bella-Kona)
25. Kristine Brynjolfson (Team Coastal)
26. Alena Radomsky (Giant Bicycles Canada)
27. Lee Darling (Team Integrale)
28. Leslie Vice (Chicks Cycling Club)
29. Anne-Marie Lefrancois (Team Integrale)
30. Heather Gerth (Chicks Cycling Club)
31. Michele Conrad (Avanti/TiCycles)
32. Anna Webb (A E Sport Devolpment)
33. Monica Nelson (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
34. Carmen Diges (Independent)
dns. Sarah Stewart (Symmetrics Cycling)
dns. Marni Hambleton (Symmetrics Cycling)

Pr 1/2 Men

1. Matt Shriver (Jittery Joe's Pro Cycling Team)
2. Cameron Evans (Symmetrics Cycling)
3. Andrew Pinfold (Symmetrics Cycling)
4. Will Routley (Symmetrics Cycling)
5. Daniel MacDonald (Masi-Adobe)
6. Cory Forrest (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
7. Tim Sherstobitoff (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
8. Brandon Crichton (Symmetrics Cycling)
9. David Veilleux (Jittery Joe's Pro Cycling Team)
10. Brad Kerr (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
11. David Richter (Ital Pasta / Transport Belmire)
12. Ryan Anderson (TREK - Red Truck Ale)
13. Jackson Buehler (TREK - Red Truck Ale)
14. Chris McNeil (Team H&R Block)
15. Zach Bell (Symmetrics Cycling)
16. Austin King (Jittery Joe's Pro Cycling Team)
17. Owen Harrison (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
18. Cyrus Kangarloo (Team H&R Block)
19. Mike Elliston (CVC - Central Vancouver Cycling)
20. Marcel Aarden (independent)
21. Jonathan Gormick (Masi-Adobe)
22. Dan Skinner (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
23. Jason Thompson (Escape Velocity 01)
24. Philippe Abbott (Ital Pasta / Transport Belmire)
25. Jeff Sherstobitoff (Symmetrics Cycling)
26. Nathan MacDonald (TREK - Red Truck Ale)
27. Tim Abercrombie (Escape Velocity 01)
28. Evan Elken (Jittery Joe's Pro Cycling Team)
29. Zachery Garland (Masi-Adobe)
30. Carlos Capela (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
31. Rob Britton (La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries)
32. Jonathan Page (Escape Velocity 01)
33. Jamie Sparling (La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries)
34. Christian Meier (Symmetrics Cycling)
35. Shaun Adamson (Juventus/RVC/Kona)
36. Kristian House (Navigators Insurance)
37. Dave Vukets (TREK - Red Truck Ale)
38. Damien Waugh (Escape Velocity 01)
39. Bradley Fairall (SuperSport 35 ACNC)
40. Rob Evans (BPG/Montano Velo)
41. James Larmer (Sudbury Cycling Club)
42. William Goodfellow (Volkswagen - Trek)
43. Chris Reid (Masi-Adobe)
44. Jeff Castenmiller (TREK - Red Truck Ale)
45. Zane Westerbeek (Team H&R Block)
46. Chris Reynolds (CVC - Central Vancouver Cycling)
47. Kyle Wamsley (Navigators Insurance)
48. Peter Sanowar (Ital Pasta / Transport Belmire)
49. Trevor Haaheim (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
50. Simon Craig (Spoke N Motion)
51. Ryan Olson (Team BH/Integrale)
52. Sean Williams (Total Restoration Cycling Team)
53. Jeffery Hopkins (Jittery Joe's Pro Cycling Team)
54. Jay Hawranik (Team Integrale)
55. Matthew Martyniuk (Boh's Cycle/Moose Jaw Pavers)
56. Andrew Randell (Symmetrics Cycling)
57. Kevin Noiles (TREK - Red Truck Ale)
58. Thorben Wieditz (Ital Pasta / Transport Belmire)
59. Kenneth Johnson (Harley-Davidson/Baselines Pub)
60. Teron Singh (Ciclowerks)
61. Marco Sabatino (La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries)
62. Hilton Clarke (Navigators Insurance)
63. Oleg Grishkin (Navigators Insurance)
64. Stefan Rothe (MERCY Cycling Team)
dns. Ciaran Power (Navigators Insurance)
dns. David O'Loughlin (Navigators Insurance)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.