Canadian Cyclist


September 3/07 8:20 am - Vuelta a Venezuela Stage 8

Posted by Editoress on 09/3/07

Vuelta Ciclista a Venezuela
Report provided by Symmetrics Fuelled By FarmPure

Another stage of the Tour of Venezuela is in the books, and once again, a long one--although not as long as expected; the race fell 20k of the projected distance. The race was another bunch sprint, with Symmetrics Fuelled By FarmPure's Jake Erker taking a solid 8th. The S-Team is definitely missing the cooler climes of Canada, along with nicer roads--today was once again hot, and full of potholes. Svein Tuft flatted with 5km to go and lost a minute. Meanwhile, Cam Evans was bit by a bee on his lip. Although the National Champ's lip was swollen, he has been treated by the race doctor and should be fine. There are few more tough days of the Tour and the S-Team is hoping to score in the final stages.

Stage 8: Ospino to Barinas Circuito, 180.1 km
1. Frederick Segura (Ven) Fundadeporte Carabobo3:10:57
2. Gil Cordoves (Cub) Alcaldia De Cabimas Bod
3. Edgardo Simon (Arg) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni - Selle Italia
4. Emiliano Donatello (Italia) Diquigiovanni
5. Anthony Brea (Ven) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni - Selle Italia
6. Arturo Corvalan (Chi) Fecez Eje. Gobernacion Barinas
7. Jesus Perez (Ven) Cinelli Endeka OPD
8. Jacob Erker (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
9. Miguel Chacon (Ven) Loteria Del Tachira-Banfoandes
10. Freddy Buergos (Cub) Cuba
73. Cameron Evans (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
98. Eric Wohlberg (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team, all s.t.
118. Jeff Sherstobitoff (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team0:33
119. Svein Tuft (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team1:06
1. Juan Dotti (Arg) Cinelli Endeka OPD23:36:55
2. Freddy Vargas (Ven) Loteria Del Tachira-Banfoandesat 0:11
3. Andris Hernandez (Ven) Gobernacion Bolivariano Carabobo0:28
4. Franklin Chacon (Ven) Gobernacion Bolivariano Carabobo0:29
5. Richard Ochoa (Ven) Gobernacion de Carabobo0:30
6. Jose Chacon (Ven) Loteria del Tachira0:34
7. Hernan Munoz (Col) Gobernacion del Zulia0:34
8. Cesar Salazar (Ven) Loteria del Tachira0:38
9. Tomas Gil (Ven) Gobernacion del Zulia0:39
10. Jose Serpa (Col) Diquiogiovanni Selle Italia0:43
11. Eric Wohlberg (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team0:44
19. Cameron Evans (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team1:12
35. Svein Tuft (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team2:16
55. Jacob Erker (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team3:26
92. Jeff Sherstobitoff (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team8:13
Team GC
1. Loteria Del Tachira-Banfoandes76:52:08
2. Gobernacion Bolivariano Caraboboat 0:04
3. Symmetrics Cycling Team1:43
4. Cinelli Endeka OPD1:46
5. Gobernacion Zulia Bod2:37


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.