Canadian Cyclist


October 2/07 11:49 am - Escape Velocity GP of Cyclocross

Posted by Editor on 10/2/07

Escape Velocity GP of Cyclocross - Coquitlam, BC
Courtesy Escape Velocity

Approximately 100 racers took part in the second annual Escape Velocity Grand Prix of Cyclocross today (September 30th) in the heart of Coquitlam. The kids and C race took part under cloudy skies. A brief and intimidating shower greeted the A women and B men, but disappeared as quickly as it started, leaving just enough moisture to make the grassy technical course slightly more technical.

In the Men's C race, it was Mighty Rider's Joel Lemaire dominating with Kalle Karu second and Alex Cogger of Brake Bikes third. Perhaps even more impressive was the riding of 70's retro rider John Starcevic clearing the doubles on the BMX track!!

In the Women's C race, Lesley "Trivianni" Trivett opened up an early lead only to flat on the first lap. Although Trivianni had an incredibly quick wheel change, the mechanical allowed Céline Dennis to take over the lead, which she held strong to take the win. Stania Juriga of Chicks Cycling rounded out the top three.

In the highly contested Men's B race, Clayton Sansbury of Masi / Adobe again showed his domination of the field. Youngster up-and-comer Sebastien Sleep fought off Escape Velocity's own hard charging Duncan Steele for second. After the race Mr. Steele was quoted as saying "I would have won for sure if the stairs weren't so hard".

In the women's A race it was local legend Alison Sydor (Rocky Mountain/Haywood) finishing first with Oak Bay Bikes Dawn Berg second and Jean Ann McKirdy (Local Ride) third.

In the Men's A race Danish National Champion Joachim Parbo (CCV Protek), enroute from UCI races down south, dropped by to test his mettle against the local talent. Also at the start line was Max Plaxton (Rocky Mountain/Haywood), back from a season on the international mountain bike circuit. A group of four formed early in the race, consisting of Parbo, Plaxton, Kevin Noiles (Norco) and Tyler Trace (Lazy Boy). Parbo and Plaxton quickly distanced themselves from Noiles and Trace. The battle for first came down between the power of Parbo on the straights and sand and the technical skills of Plaxton on the single track and BMX course.

Parbo would gap Plaxton through the sand, Plaxton would catch back through the single track and the BMX track. This battle would continue for many laps until the last lap where Plaxton gapped Parbo on the BMX track and barely held on at the line to take the win in the sprint finish. The race for third and fourth was also highly contested between Noiles and Trace, with Noiles dropping Trace early, and then Trace catching and dropping Noiles. In the end however, it was the technically savvy Noiles rounding off the podium and Trace coming fourth.

Escape Velocity would like to thank The City of Coquitlam for their kind support and Powerbar, Louis Garneau, Wenting's Cycle and La Bicicletta for their generosity.

Please stay tuned for our next race "Crossquitlam" on November 3, 2007.

A few pics found here:

Also, for fun, here's what happens when you get a DH rider (Danika Schroeter's boyfriend) riding a BMX section at a Cross race:

Men A
1Max PlaxtonRocky Mountain
2Joachim ParboCCV Protek
3Kevin NoilesNorco
4Tyler TraceLa-Z-Boy
5Craig RicheyAvia-West
6Drew MacKenzieStraight Up Cycles/Argon 18
7Jonathan GormickMasi
8Thomas SkinnerGiant
-1 lap
9John-Christopher ReidMasi
10Christopher HillierBH Cycles/Integrale
11Jason FluckigerCoastal
12Dan SchmitGlotman Simpson
13Wendell ChallengerMighty Riders
14Rick RodlandFloraGLO
15Pascal WehrTrenga-DE
16Will PrattBike Barn
17Brett Hambleton
DNFJoe WesselKC Cobra
DNFCarsten IvanyNatural Earth
DNFJason ThompsonEscape Velocity
Women A
1Alison SydorRocky Mountain/Haywood
2Dawn BergOak Bay Bikes
3Jean Ann McKirdyRocky Mountain
4Patricia SinclairKona
5Melanie VaughanSteed
6Christy LoveScott/Ambleside
7Sandra WalterX.O-FELT
8Joelle GuynupStraight-Up Cycles
9Marie-Claude GagnonIntegrale
10Jaymie McGowenVictoria Wheelers/OBB
Men B
1Clayton SansburyMasi
2Sebastian SleepSunshine Coast
3Duncan SteeleEscape Velocity
4Chris SayersKelowna Cycle
5Jason LeberSteed
6Colin CampbellEscape Velocity
7Brian GriffinExperience Cycles
8Nick BerryMighty
9Ray McBethLocal Ride
10Ben JacksonEscape Velocity
11Brad CollinsBSP
12Robbie BitzLocal Ride
13Sean Howie
14Jeff Anninten
15Bart NakanoFloraGLO Norco
16Dale EwanchookFloraGLO Norco
17Kevin ThorpedEVo
18Dave CressmanWedgewood
19Pat BecksteadAmbleside/Scott
20Brent Hambleton
21Quinn AndersonMighty Riders
22Mike BerkinpadLocal Ride
23Graham GarrisonWedgewood/Natural Earth
24Chiron KantakisEscape Velocity
25Mark DormerEscape Velocity
26Joe WesselKC Cobra
27Jeff SpenceWedgewood
28Matt LawSource
29Murray Solem
30Owen ScottSteed
31Barry LysterLocal Ride
32David BroemelingEscape Velocity
33Russ SteadEscape Velocity
34Axel BergmanEscape Velocity
35Anselmo RossielloCoastal
36Jay LoderMighty Riders
37Cameron ThorpedEVo
38Ryan "Sharky" CousineauEscape Velocity
39Brian "Afro" PostlethwaiteEscape Velocity
40Johnson JungEscape Velocity
41J P BaronFrontrunners
42Trevor WilkinsonEscape Velocity
43Paul CraigNatural Earth Racing
44Ronald Edward
45Joe Purves-Smith
Women B
1Céline Dennis
2Lesley TrivettWedgewood
3Stania JurigaChicks Cycling
4E W Heidi HughesChicks Cycling
5Linda ChowWedgewood
6Sue WestonNatural Earth
-1 lap
7Jeanine BallLocal Ride
8Judy GarrenMuddbunnies
DNFMarie DevantierLocal Ride
DNFKatherine WarrendorfWedgewood
Men C
1Joel LemaireMighty Riders
2Kalle Karu
3Alex CoggerBrake Bikes
4William RileyIntegrale
5Shane ReaumeLocal Ride
6John Starcevic
7Alan Brausdon
8Jon Taylor
9Craig FabischeOvertime Sports
10Brian WongCVC
11Andrew KerrLocal Ride
12Adam MuysRidge Meadows
13Barry Brennan
14Colin ReddinSteed
15Geoff Wherrett
16Neil Howrihane
17Harrison Duxbury SleepSunshine Coast
-1 lap
18Paul Baker
19Dimitri Pavlakos


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.