Canadian Cyclist


October 8/07 11:54 am - Jim Horner Cyclo-cross Grand Prix: brief results, report and podium photos

Posted by Editoress on 10/8/07

Jim Horner Cyclo-cross Grand Prix October 6th, Edmonton AB
Courtesy Don Fox, Juventus Cycling Club

It was a sunny +18 C degree day in Edmonton Alberta for the second annual Jim Horner Cyclo-cross Grand Prix and first for an International UCI C2 event. The course was dry and very fast.

In the Elite Women race Wendy Simms lead from the start with Pepper Harlton in close pursuit for the first couple laps. Kelly Jones and Mical Dyck were about 30 seconds back. At the finish Mical Dyck had bridged up to Pepper Harlton and put a minute on Pepper. Wendy Simms could not be caught.

The Elite Men put on a great display of cyclo-cross racing. Ryan Hopping lead for the first lap with a group of 4 rider, Tim Heemsker, Mike Bidniak, Shaun Adamson and Shawn Bunnin 10 seconds back. Tim Hemmskerk bridged to Ryan Hopping and then broke away stringing out the group leaving a sprint finish for 4th and 5th between Shawn Bunnin and Shaun Adamson

Elite Men

1. Tim Heemskerk (Ned) United Cycle
2. Ryan Hopping (Can) United Cycle
3. Mike Bidniak (Can) Trek / Red Truck Beer
4. Shawn Bunnin (Can) Bicisport
5. Shaun Adamson (Can) Juventus Cycling Club
6. Kevin Noiles (Can) Independent
7. Stephen Ferris (Can) ERTC / Red Bike
8. Cyrus Kangarloo (Can) Team H & R Block
9. Aaron Schooler (Can) ERTC / Red Bike
10. Andrew Thomas (Can) Team Saskatchewan ERTC / Red Bike

Elite Women

1. Wendy Simms (Can) Kona ˆ Your key Mortgage
2. Mical Dyck (Can) Terrascape Racing
3. Pepper Harlton (Can) Juventus Cycling Club
4. Kelly Jones (Can) Sugoi/Cannondale/Bontrager
5. Rhonda Stickle (Can) ERCT
6. Susan Clarke (Can) BCW Cycling Club
7. Krystyn Ong (Can) Juventus Cycling Club
8. Kendra Middleton CAN Juventus Cycling Club
9. Shantel Koenig (Can) Independent
10. Jolea Bilodeau (Can) Blizzard Bike Club

Complete results and more photo coverage to follow.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.