Canadian Cyclist


October 9/07 4:19 am - Vuelta a Chihuahua: Stage 2

Posted by Editoress on 10/9/07

Vuelta a Chihuahua Mexico
Report courtesy Symmetrics Fuelled By FarmPure

Carlos Hernández (Team Canels) won the second stage of the Vuelta a Chihuahua yesterday, beating American Steven Cozza (Slipstream) and Daniel Moreno (Relax-GAM). American Danny Pate (Slipstream) now leads the Tour.

The day's event was marked by three breakaway riders Hernández (Team Canels), Steven Cozza (Team Slipstream), and Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Relax-GAM) who broke away in the early stags of the race. The trio built a huge gap of over eight minutes at one point. Ricardo Samuel Tapia (Arenas Tlaxcala) also joined the trio at the 60km mark.

"They just sort of took off," Symmetrics Fuelled By FarmPure's Geoff Kabush said after the race. "Right at the KOM, they disappeared and the pack didn't really respond."

As the stage progressed, Saunier Duval-Prodir, Tecos-Trek and Liberty Seguros starting pulling back the break. By the final kilometres, the Relax-GAM squad upped the pace. Tapia got dropped from the break, leaving only three riders to stay ahead of the charging peloton. By the end, the three riders stayed away-just barely. In the group, the S-Team was content to let the other teams do the bulk of the work, knowing that the days ahead will bring plenty of change.

"I stayed near the front and watched the other G.C. riders," Christian Meier said, 12th overall. "I knew that the break would stay away once they got the big gap, but there's still the chance for splits on a stage like this. I think the days ahead will be super-tough, and I think we can pull off some good results."

Stage 2 (October 8th): Chihuahua to Camargo, 147.8 km

1. Carlos Hernández (Mex) Team Canels, 3:17:03
2. Steven Cozza (USA) Team Slipstream
3. Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Esp) Relax-Gam
4. Gianluca Geremia (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia
5. Danny Pate (USA) Team Slipstream p/b Chipotle, all s.t.


1. Danny Pate (USA) Team Slipstream p/b Chipotle, 5.01.13
2. Filipe Cardoso (Por) Liberty Seguros
3. Francisco Mancebo (Esp) Relax-Gam
4. Antonio D'aniello (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia
5. Mejias Javier (Esp) Saunier Duval-Prodir
6. Cuitlahuac Ayala (Mex) Arenas Tlacala
7. Maxime Bouet (Fra) Agritubel
8. José Adrian Bonilla (CRc) Fuerteventura-Canarias
9. Jose Gerardo Soto (Mex) Arenas Tlacala
10. Tomasz Marczynski (Pol) Ceramica Flaminia

12. Christian Meier (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
24. Cameron Evans (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
51. Andrew Pinfold (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
65. Geoff Kabush (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
68. Martin Gilbert (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast
78. Will Routley (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
89. Ryan Roth (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast
92. Kevin Lacombe (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast

All are listed as same time on the official website


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.