Canadian Cyclist


July 19/97 21:26 pm - Canada Cup #5, Road Nationals, Rockies Tour, Junior Worlds Team

Posted by Editor on 07/19/97

Canada Cup #5 Downhill, Whistler, B.C. We just had a preliminary report from the Specialized Canada Cup in Whistler. Today was the downhill, the first west coast race on the circuit. Andrew Shandro (Troy Lee/Manitou) was the favourite for the men, but he had a rather bizarre little crash about 200 metres from the finish line that lost him a few seconds and allowed Ontario rider Eric Cseff (KHS) to sneak in for the win. Duane Nickull (Norco) rounded out the top three. No bobbles for women‚s favourite Elladee Brown (Rocky Mountain), although she was pushed right to the wire by Daamian Skelton (Norco), who finished a mere 3 one-hundreths of a second behind! Third was Chantal Boulianne (Rocky Mountain). Upgraded Cadet rider Craig Shore (Kona) handed Junior canada Cup leader Dustin Adams (Norco) his first defeat of the series, winning convincingly by overa second. Riders were very favourable of the course, calling it a good mix of technical and speed. Conditions were very hot, touching 30 degrees Celcius - something the cross-country riders will be very conscious of in their race tomorrow. We will publish more results as they become available. Senior Elite Men 1 Eric Cseff (KHS) 4:01.32 2 Andrew Shandro (Troy Lee/Manitou) 4:04.19 3 Duane Nickull (Norco) 4:07.42 Senior Elite Women 1 Elladee Brown (Rocky Mountain) 4:28.70 2 Daamian Skelton (Norco) 4:28.73 3 Chantal Boulianne (Rocky Mountain) 4:47.35 Junior Expert Men 1 Craig Shore (Kona) 4:15.07 2 Dustin Adams (Norco) 4:16.38 3 David Jones (Oak Bay Cycle) 4:17.87 Tour of the Rockies, Colorado Stage 3, Thunderhead Circuit Men - 38.4 km 1 Jerome Chiotti FRA GT 2:03:05 2 Rishi Grewal USA Klein at 1:03 3 Pavel Tcherkassov RUS Diamondback-Tissot 1:25 8 Roland Green CAN Kona 2:53 GC 1 Chiotti 5:07:39 2 Tcherkassov at 4:17 3 Grewal 5:21 6 Roland Green CAN 11:44 Women - 24.5 km 1 Alison Dunlap USA GT 1:31:47 2 Ruthie Matthes USA Powerbar at 0:43 3 Beth Coats USA Shimano 1:56 5 Lesley Tomlinson CAN Kona 4:47 8 Chrissy Redden CAN Ritchey 5:39 GC 1 Matthes 4:22:11 2 Tammy Jacques USA Schwinn-Toyota at 0:21 3 Dunlap 0:36 4 Tomlinson CAN 7:20 6 Redden 18:09 Crits at the Nationals Today criteriums were held in Rouyn-Noranda, the site of the 1997 Canadian National Road Championships. Please note that these are NOT championship events. Tomorrow the Senior men and women will compete in their road races. We will provide results and a report in the early evening. Senior and Espoir Men - 60 km (30 laps) 1 Czeslaw Lukaszewicz QC 1:20:02 2 Mark Hibbard ON 3 Fabien Bergeron QC 4 Mark Ernsting BC 5 Yannick Cojan QC all s.t. Senior and Junior Women - 50 km (25 laps) 1 Anne Samplonius ON 1:17:22 2 Leigh Hobson ON s.t. 3 Sue Palmer ON at 0:07 4 Stephanie Hannos BC 5 Julia Farrell ON all s.t. Junior Men - 50 km (25 laps) 1 Heath Blackgrove New Zealand 1:10;19 2 Martin Daviault QC at 0:18 3 Karl Moore New Zealand 0:31 4 Charles Dionne QC 5 David Gluzman AB all s.t. Veteran Men - 50 km (25 laps) 1 Greg Canavach ON 1:13:06 2 Craig Burge ON at 0:03 Paul Migner QC 0:19 4 Ron Stichelbout QC 5 Marian Pyszczek MB all s.t. Junior Worlds Team Chosen The Junior team has been chosen for the World Championships in Spain. Road race winner Trevor Wertele (BC), David Gluzman (AB) and Jocelyn Duquette (QC) will be the funded athletes, while Denis Boucher (NB) and Charles Dionne (QC) will be unfunded. For the Junior women, it will be Genevieve Jeanson (QC) and Erin Carter (MB) representing Canada. The Junior men‚s team for Tour de l‚Abitibi will be Gluzman, Duquette, Dionne, Boucher, Christian Viens and Michel Prud‚homme.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.