Canadian Cyclist


November 8/07 11:57 am - 2007 Ruta 1st Preview, 2008 Ruta Registration opens

Posted by Editoress on 11/8/07

Canadian Cyclist will be at the 2007 La Ruta for the third consecutive year to provide daily reports and photos, starting with the pre-race press conference tomorrow (November 9th), and as the riders arrive over the next few days for the start on November 14th.

There are 546 riders on this year's start list, and Canada will have a large contingent of 71, represented in all categories. In the open category, Max Plaxton, Andreas Hestler, Kris Sneddon, Cory Wallace and Jon Nutbrown - whose Day 1 ride in 2006 made him a "rider to watch" - are just some of the Canadians. On Day 2, Jon's numerous mechanicals took him out of contention, but he had turned some heads, and could do so again this year.

In the Women's category, Marg Fedyna is not back to defend her 2006 win, but former Xterra World Champ and 2007 2nd place Xterra finisher Melanie McQuaid has added her name to the list of potential contenders for the 2007 title in a field of 45 female starters.

Other riders of note are Tony Routley and Dennis Mizerski competing in the veterans category. Dennis was 3rd in 2006 and Tony Routley is a well seasoned veteran of the Canadian MTB scene, with medals at Masters Worlds and Canadian Nationals.

La Ruta Opens 2008 Registration

There are still a few days left before the start of this year's La Ruta de los Conquistadores, however, the organizers of Costa Rica's famed mountain bike event have just announced that registration for the 2008 edition is now open. Taking into account that the available field for this 2007's race was filled two months before the race, they recommend that it would be a good idea to check what the entry fee includes for the next year's La Ruta and sign in as early as possible.

"The 2008 La Ruta will be held from November 12th to 15th and the online registration is now open for non-local and local racers as well. We look forward to have as many early entrants as possible, since a lot of entrants didn't make it on time this year, and were forced to stay in a waiting list. Only a few of them got a late space, the rest had to resign and wait until the 16th edition. I'm sure the most of them will be first on the list to avoid missing the challenge again", Race Director Luis Víquez said.

Registration packages are almost the same and the organizers will maintain the 4 day format introduced for this year.

To check out entry fees and packages, go to and click on the 2008's Registration banner.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.