Canadian Cyclist


February 11/08 5:43 am - 2008 Island Cup Race Series

Posted by Editor on 02/11/08

2008 Island Cup Race Series - New and Improved!

While snow may cover the Vancouver Island trails, and many a bike hangs quietly in a garage, our local race organizers have been busy preparing for the 2008 race season.

At over 10 years old, the Island Cup Mountain Bike Race Series extends a tradition of mountain bike racing that began 20 years ago with classic races such as Malahat Mudfest, Burnt Bridge, Hornby Island Bike Fest and many more.

Race organizers have chosen the Grass Roots Mountain Bike Association for their insurance provider, which means racers will buy their license for Island Cup Races from GRMBA affiliated club, which can be done on race day. As GRMBA is also organizer of such classic races as the Test of Metal, and insurer for the SORCA Toonie races, we hope to see riders make the trip over to the island to partake in the Island Cup Series.

The 2008 schedule sits at almost 20 races, which includes 5 downhills, 5 cross countries, 5 marathon cross countries and 3 Super D's. Classic race courses such as Hammerfest and Cumberland's Dodge City Downhill return, while new courses such as Sproat Lake trails and the 3rd year for the 50km Campbell River race which promotes over 50km of epic singletrack.

The first race will be a Super D in Nanaimo on March 8th, and concludes in late September with the "Ramble" in Parksville.

A new website has been created to keep everyone informed and in contact during the race season. Forums, Photo Galleries, Maps, Race Results and more can be found on the site.

This Year's Island Cup is brought to you by:

Arrowsmith Bikes Nanaimo & Parksville
Arrowsmith Mountain Bike Club
Dodge City Cycles
Experience Cycling Duncan
Riders Cycles
Riding Fool Hostel
Ozzie's Cycles
United Riders of Cumberland
Comox Valley Mountain
Grass Roots Mountain Bike Association


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.