Canadian Cyclist


February 11/08 7:19 am - Atlantic Cycling Centre Winter-cross

Posted by Editoress on 02/11/08

Atlantic Cycling Centre Winter-cross
Courtesy Luc Arseneau

The weather and the amount of snow were certainly different factors than in previous years, but some things 'stayed the same' at the third annual Winter-cross Championships: rider enthusiasm, and the winner. On this sunny afternoon, the once icy course turned very soft when the temperature rose by more then 10 degrees - to plus 3 in less then 4 hours. Jeff Currie again proved no one could beat him in the snow.

This year, the challenge came from a young talented rider, Ryan Belliveau. He led for first three quarters of the race and was taken by Currie in only the last minutes of the event. "I realized everyone was panicking as the course deteriorated due to the warm weather. I did everything to stay calm, and told myself" it's a bike race", and I'm going to ride to conserve energy while everyone is trying to run as fast as possible" said Currie after crossing the finish line.

This strategy certainly paid off as he went from seventh place - to catch every rider one by one. "When I finally saw Belliveau on the finishing stretch with a lap to go, I knew I had saved enough energy to get him on that lap."

On the women's side, Michelle Chase took this year's title on her brand new single speed bike. "It was a gamble to ride that bike, but with all the running I had to do in the soft snow, gears were no longer a major factor" commented the winner not too long after crossing the finish line. She was followed by Mélanie Bordage and Caroline Pellerin.

The event attracted many curious spectators from the City of Dieppe Friendship Carnival. It was a perfect event to attract photographers and media, including Don Ricker Photography.

A special thanks goes to the St-Anselme Park staff (City of Dieppe) for the enormous help building the course. Also thank you to Mike's Bike Shop, Shimano and Giant who greatly contributed to the success of such event.

Here are the complete results:

1. Jeff Currie
2. Ryan Belliveau
3. Mike LeBlanc
4. Jean-Richard Cormier
5. Marc Andre Deslauriers
6. Charles Cormier
7. Stuart Wight
8. Patrice Boudreau
9. Andrew Arsenault
10. Guy Pellerin
11. Alain Goguen
12. Pablo Vergera
13. Rene Julien

1. Michelle Chase
2. Melanie Bordage
3. Caroline Belliveau
4. Sasha LeBlanc


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.