Canadian Cyclist


April 27/08 10:07 am - Offenburg World Cup: Women's XC photos, report and results

Posted by Editoress on 04/27/08

World Cup #2 - Offenburg

Coverage brought to you with the assistance of Velirium


Marie-Helene Premont (Rocky Mountain) was one step closer to the top step of the podium today at the World Cup in Offenburg, Germany with her second place finish to world champion Irina Kalentieva (Topeak Ergon). Kalentieva also took over the lead in the World Cup after last week's winner Chengyuan Ren (China) finished third. Canada put a second rider in the top-10 with Catharine Pendrel's (Luna) strong 8th place.

The weather stayed nice this year in Offenburg, making for a very dry and fast track. The women faced six laps of the 5.1 kilometre circuit, after two short start loop laps.

Unlike last week, where one rider - Marga Fullana (Massi) - established an early lead, this year it was four riders who broke away - Kalentieva, Premont, Fullana and Lui Ying (China). Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Multivan Merida) couldn't quite get onto the train, while Ren had a poor start, getting swarmed in the start loops and falling back into the high 20s. Dahle would ride only a couple of laps before dropping out - a victim of illness which has hit the Multivan Merida squad.

The front four steadily opened a gap on a chase group containing Pendrel, her team mate Georgia Gould, Lene Byberg (Specialized) and initially Nathalie Schneitter (Colnago Cap Arreghini). Pendrel, Gould and Byberg shuffled positions over the first few laps, while other favourites such as Ren and Sabine Spitz (Ghost) gradually worked their way up.

On lap four Kalentieva decided it was time to open things up, and only Premont was able to respond. Fullana and Liu gradually fell off the pace, while Ren was having a phenomenal ride, rocketing up past other riders to move into third late in the fifth lap, 30 seconds behind Premont and a minute behind Kalentieva. Could the Chinese rider pull the same amazing feat as the week before and take the lead in the final lap?

Unfortunately for Ren, no, after a bad crash onto her face slowed her down, as she came across the line with blood streaming from her upper lip and nose. Fullana hung on for fourth, followed by Lui.

"It was another good ride for me," commented Premont afterwards. "I am still improving and getting stronger, so hopefully I will get the win that I did not get last year. This is my goal for this season."

Premont also found the dry conditions less to her liking. "I prefer it when it is wetter and the ground is a little more slippery. Yesterday was better for me. Today it was very dry and the ground was very hard."

Catharine Pendrel made a strategic decision in the race after blowing up in the last lap a week earlier and dropping from seventh to 13th. "I had a strong start, to make sure that I got a good position and avoided the traffic, and then I rode with Georgia, Sabine and Lene. I was feeling good, but when Lene and Sabine went I realized that I had to ride my own race to make sure that I could have a better finish."

1. Irina Kalentieva (Rus) Topeak Ergon Racing Team2:00:19
2. Marie-Helene Premont (Can) Rocky Mountainat 0:33
3. Chengyuan Ren* (Chn) Chinese National Team1:21
4. Margarita Fullana (Esp) Massi1:39
5. Ying Liu (Chn) Chinese National Team1:59
6. Sabine Spitz (Ger) Central Team Ghost Internationalst Pro Team2:28
7. Lene Byberg (Nor) Specialized Factory Racing2:33
8. Catherine Pendrel (Can) Luna Womens MTB Teama Womens MTB Team3:49
9. Elisabeth Osl (Aut) Team Ghost International 4:16
10. Nathalie Schneitter* (Sui) Colnago Cap Arreghini 4:37
11. Tereza Hurikova* (Cze) Ceska Sporitelna MTB 4:58
12. Maja Wloszczowska (Pol) Halls Professional MTB Team 5:06
13. Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Womens MTB Team 5:25
14. Blaza Klemencic (Slo) Giant Italia Team 5:47
15. Cecile Rode Ravanel (Fra) Team Lapierre International 6:07
16. Mary McConneloug (USA) Kenda Seven6:26
17. Petra Henzi (Sui) Fischer-BMC 6:39
18. Kiara Bisaro (Can) Opus6:58
19. Maroussia Rusca (Sui)7:16
20. Jingjing Wang (Chn) Chinese National Team7:38
21. Laura Turpijn (Ned)8:03
22. Wendy Simms (Can) Kona 8:23
23. Katrin Leumann (Sui)8:47
24. Esther Suss (Sui)9:08
25. Marielle Saner-Guinchard (Sui) Bikepark.Ch BMC 9:25
26. Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Womens MTB Team 9:37
27. Adelheid Morath (Ger)9:53
28. Sandra Walter (Can) X.O.Felt10:11
29. Mical Dyck (Can) Terrascape Trek11:00
30. Nina Homovec (Slo)11:00
31. Susan Haywood (USA) Trek-VW 11:38
32. Maria Osl (Aut) Sunshine Racers Asv Nals 11:48
33. Anna Villar Argente (Esp) Massi 11:54
34. Tanja Zakelj* (Slo)11:59
35. Severine Hansen (Fra) BH-SR. Suntour 12:11
36. Eva Lechner (Ita) Colnago Cap Arreghini 12:26
37. Emily Batty* (Can) Toronto Trek Store12:33
38. Dellys Starr (Aus)12:41
39. Laurence Leboucher (Fra)12:45
40. Vera Andreeva* (Rus)12:57
41. Alison Sydor (Can) Rocky Mountain 12:57
42. Anna Szafraniec (Pol) Halls Professional MTB Team 13:08
43. Nataliya Krompets* (Ukr)13:12
44. Magdalena Sadlecka (Pol) Halls Professional MTB Team 13:33
45. Laura Metzler* (Fra) BH-SR. Suntour 14:11
46. Willow Koerber (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher 14:38
47. Aleksandra Dawidowicz* (Pol) Halls Professional MTB Team 14:51
48. Julie Bresset* (Fra) Breiz Mountain 15:05
49. Francisca Campos Salas (Chi) Massi 15:28
50. Amanda Sin (Can) 3 Rock Racing15:38
51. Sabrina Enaux (Fra) Team Lapierre International 16:12
52. Ivonne Kraft (Ger)16:32
53. Kaytee Boyd (NZl)16:40
54. Helene Marcouyre (Fra) BH-SR. Suntour 16:59
55. Julie Krasniak* (Fra) Team Lapierre International 17:15
56. Maaike Polspoel* (Bel)17:27
57. Githa Michiels (Bel)17:51
58. Caroline Mani* (Fra)18:14
59. Hanna Klein* (Ger)18:27
60. Katrin Schwing (Ger) Dolphin-Trek Mountainbike Racing Team 19:08
61. Emma Colson (Aus)-1Lap
62. Janka Stevkova (Svk)-1Lap
63. Rowena Fry (Aus)-1Lap
64. Jenny Copnall (GBr) Subaru-Gary Fisher -1Lap
65. Cristina Mascarreras Sabria (Esp) Conor - Camping La Siesta -1Lap
66. Claudia Seidel (Ger)-1Lap
67. Zoe King (Aus)-1Lap
68. Fabienne Niederberger (Sui)-1Lap
69. Barbara Oberdorfer (Ita)-1Lap
70. Maaris Meier (Est)-1Lap
71. Sandra Santanyes Murillo (Esp) Cemelorca-Seguros10.Com -1Lap
72. Laure Boulay* (Fra) Team Cibf Keops -1Lap
73. Sandra Dolcerocca (Den)-1Lap
74. Susan Butler (USA)-1Lap
75. Kate Potter (Aus)-1Lap
76. Tory Thomas (Aus)-1Lap
77. Ksenia Chernykh (Rus)-1Lap
78. Kristien Nelen (Bel)-1Lap
79. Coralie Redelsperger (Fra)-1Lap
80. Alexandra Engen* (Swe)-1Lap
81. Jennifer Fischer* (Fra) Team Cibf Keops -1Lap
82. Tatjana Dold (Ger)-1Lap
83. Katharina Haase* (Ger)-2Laps
84. Myriam Saugy (Sui)-2Laps
85. Heather Irmiger (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher -2Laps
86. Kathrin Stirnemann* (Sui)-2Laps
87. Silke Schmidt* (Ger)-2Laps
88. Daniela Bunzli Rojas (Chi)-2Laps
89. Yolanda Speedy (Rsa)-2Laps
90. Monique Zeldenrust (Ned)-2Laps
91. Fabienne Heinzmann (Sui) Dolphin-Trek Mountainbike Racing Team -2Laps
92. Oxana Rybakova (Rus)-2Laps
93. Hanna Israel* (Fra)-2Laps
94. Marie Kunst (Den)-2Laps
95. Evgenia Belozerova* (Rus)-2Laps
96. Katherine O'shea (Aus)-2Laps
97. Nina Kunz (Ger)-3Laps
98. Karen Brouwer* (Ned)-3Laps
99. Iryna Slobodyan* (Ukr)-3Laps
100. Nicole Lechl* (Ger) Team XLC Haibike -3Laps
101. Janine Droz* (Sui)-3Laps
102. Therese Rhodes* (Aus)-3Laps
103. Berengere Boes* (Fra) Breiz Mountain -3Laps
104. Sofia Shashova* (Rus) Format-Udmurtia -4Laps
105. Elisabeth Mottet* (Bel) Windose Houffalize -5Laps



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.