Canadian Cyclist


June 24/08 2:05 am - Suffer Springs Summer Solstice

Posted by Editoress on 06/24/08

Suffer Springs Summer Solstice Kananaskis Country, Sunday, June 22nd.
by Roddi Lega, Alberta Bicycle Association

Photos by Roddi Lega

The Suffer Springs Summer Solstice XC race took place at Station Flats, near Bragg Creek on Sunday, June 22nd. This fine event is Alberta's oldest mountain bike race. Some say it's been going on for over 20 years, but since the internet is only wee little teenager, we don't even know its true age. Legend has it that it's so old, in order to get the age Paul Bunyan would have to chop it down, and count its growth rings.

The rain let up for a few hours to let everyone enjoy the day. In the women's Elite race, Mical Dyck took home the glorious win over the "leader" plate wearing Pepper Harlton. Mical was overheard saying, "this race course is even more fun than portly boy Roddi Lega. I had an brilliant time!".

The men's Elite race was rather diverse, and the lead changed several times. Boss Hogg (person in charge) after the first lap of fun was Dallas Morris. Alas, he ended his race on lap 2 with a broken mountain bicycle. This allowed the lengthy and elegant hair of Jon Nutbrown to pilot going into lap 3. However, Nutbrown's hair got knotted in his gearing and this conked out his rear derailleur which forced him to gallop for much of the final lap. In the final corner Jeff Nielson and Peter Lawrence were collectively going for glory, Nielson laid down the horsepower and was awarded with a brilliant win on an excellent Alberta day.

Elite Men
3+start loopJeff Nielson2:23:37
3+start loopPeter Lawrence2:23:47
3+start loopJon Nutbrown2:27:52
3+start loopMike Blennerhassett2:34:22
3+start loopAndre Sutton2:41:54
3+start loopSteven Elm2:49:00
dnfCraig Stappler
dnfDallas Morris
dnfSteve Martins
Elite Women
2+start loopMical Dyck1:44:34
2+start loopPepper Harlton1:53:28
2+start loopLoni Klettl1:54:50
2+start loopKate Aardal1:56:34
2+start loopMargie Smith2:04:17
Expert Men
2+start loopDevin Erfle1:35:59
2+start loopEckehart Marenholtz1:38:29
2+start loopJustin Middleton1:40:28
2+start loopSteven Johnson1:41:19
2+start loopMatthew Dahl1:41:30
2+start loopTom Amberiadis1:43:37
2+start loopMark Rumsey1:44:24
2+start loopGeoff Clark1:45:05
2+start loopKurt de Freitas1:47:36
2+start loopPeter Knight1:51:43
2+start loopBrad Tymchuk1:55:38
dnfErik Bakke
dnfDwayne Ellis
Expert Women
2+start loopNicole Muzechka1:59:01
2+start loopSamantha Grover2:01:14
2+start loopShantel Koenig2:06:43
2+start loopJodi Siever2:07:07
2+start loopLauren Lankester2:07:19
2+start loopKelly Hall2:20:23
2+start loopCindy Koo2:22:24
Sport Men
2Simon Williams1:40:28
2Luke Marshall1:42:08
2Pat Dodge1:42:13
2Pierre Boivin1:44:33
2Andrew Waddington1:44:54
2Aaron Sands1:44:59
2Brett Zagozewski1:45:18
2Paul Martin1:45:31
2Ed Garvin1:48:51
2David Gauvreau1:49:56
2Mike Steneker1:50:41
2Kevin McMahon1:52:13
2Kevin Finlay1:54:39
2Thomas Auer1:54:44
2Connor Witzke1:54:48
2Bailey McNight1:55:03
2Clayton Stafford1:55:13
2Bruce Johnson1:55:18
2Michael Lankester1:57:15
2Derek Neabel1:57:35
2David Dyck1:59:27
2John McNight2:04:35
2Evan Wishloff2:07:50
2Henry Yau2:11:10
2Patrick Graham2:17:24
2Lawrence Keller2:20:54
2Michael Kohlenberg2:24:16
2Stan Rachar2:34:25
dnfMac Garvin
Sport Women
1Amy Barnett1:03:16
1Tami Thicke1:04:56
1Michelle Eshpeter1:06:52
1Tori Fahey1:07:45
1Alyssa Barker1:11:22
Novice Men
1Thomas Yip0:49:35
1Ryan O'Hara0:51:03
1Sam Amberiadis0:51:22
1Dustin Dollar0:53:48
1David Todd0:54:58
1Darcy Kuss0:55:46
1Lorie Holte0:56:27
1Mark Franklin0:56:53
1Ashley Scott1:01:28
1Zara Wishloff1:06:20
1Peter Verburg1:10:15
1Stewart Hutchings1:11:15
1Allan Spahr1:15:10
1Michael Madill1:18:24
Novice Women
1Kelly Matheson0:54:45
1Deanne Katnick0:59:38
1Megan Culham1:01:56
1Theresa Waddington1:07:50
1Amber Finlay1:11:45
1Anne Bridgman1:21:54
Sport Youth Men
1Kevin Stafford0:47:39
1Sean Qi0:48:50
1Leo Fleck0:49:01
1Andrew Spahr0:51:42
1Alexander Steneker0:55:39
1Ben Marquaret0:58:06
Sport Youth Women
1Allison Beveridge0:53:42
1Emily De Freitas0:57:03
1Zoe Dahl0:59:00
1Andrea St. Germain1:01:19
1Sarah Witzke1:10:44
Novice Youth Men
1Sam Ratzke0:57:00
1Graham Todd1:08:16
1Noah Epp0:58:00


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.