Canadian Cyclist


June 24/08 5:14 am - Tour of Pennsylvania: Stage 1a

Posted by Editoress on 06/24/08

Tour of Pennsylvania

Steven Van Vooren (Johan Brunyeel Cycling Academy) conquered the inaugural American Eagle Outfitters® Tour of Pennsylvania presented by Highmark Healthy High 5® opening time trial held in Philadelphia with a searing time of 4:18 ahead of Keven LaCombe (Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast) and Christoff Van Heerden (KON-Konica Minolta Continental).

Some 120 cyclists, ages 18 to 25, from eight nations including USA, Argentina, Canada, Belgium, Australia, Ireland, Netherlands and South Africa were showcased one by one as they rolled off of the prologue starting ramp outside Memorial Hall in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia.

The three-kilometer jaunt took the riders along the Memorial Hall’s concourse before looping back around to Martin Luther King Dr toward the finish line. “It was a tail wind going out in to the descent and then there were some fast turns,” said prologue winner Steven Van Vooren regarding the predominantly flat route that offered competitors an almost natural momentum.

“A headwind down along the river was where I felt like I was going strong, pushing a big gear,” continued Van Vooren. “I conserved a little bit of energy for that last climb toward the finish and I hoped that that was enough for the win.”

The Belgian descendant put forth a commanding performance and will lead the peloton in the American Eagle Outfitter’s yellow leader’s jersey in stage 1B’s 48 kilometre criterium, on the historical path paved by General John Forbes and the young George Washington’s historical Forbes Expedition, 250 years earlier.

The cyclists have embarked on a 420-mile journey designed to parallel the route of the Forbes Trail (HWY 30), the first road paved through to the western boarder of Pennsylvania, which has begun in Philadelphia and will conclude in Pittsburgh on Sunday June 29.

“I don’t really know too many of the riders here,” said Van Vooren who spends most of his competitive season competing in European events. “But I will need to pay attention to the riders over the next stages.”

The inaugural event is recognized for it’s tackling the need for a competitive middle ground by providing a platform for young riders to develop before entering into the professional ranks.

Van Vooren noted the importance of having more events like the American Eagle Outfitter’s Tour of Pennsylvania, presented by Highmark Healthy High 5® where he has the opportunity to test his legs against a selective group of riders who are of his age category and ability.

“It’s really important for sponsors and for myself personally,” said Van Vooren pleased to have preformed well in the UCI event in front of his Philadelphia based bicycle sponsor Fuji.

“This is a big race, a UCI 2.2 ranking and great for gaining UCI points. The field is strong and the stages are difficult so I think doing well here means a lot to bigger teams who are looking for younger riders.”

Stage 1a: Philadelphia Time Trial (Memorial Hall), 3.51km
1. Steven Van Vooren (Johan Bruyneel Cycling Academy)04:18.3
2. Keven Lacombe (Kelly Benefit/Medifast)at 0:03
3. Christoff Van Heerden (Konica Minolta)0:04
4. David Veilleux (Kelly Benefit/Medifast)0:05
5. Dylan Newell (Praties Cycling Team)0:07
6. Ryan Baumann (Sakonnet Technology)0:08
7. Andrew Baker (TIME Pro Cycling)0:09
8. Michael Stoop (TIME Pro Cycling)0:09
9. Stefano Barberi (ZTeaM)0:10
10. Daniel Holloway (VMG/Felt)0:12
11. Pieter Seyffert (Konica Minolta)0:12
12. Nathaniel English (ZTeaM)0:13
13. Adrian Gerrits (VRC: NOW-MS Society)0:13
14. Caleb Fairly (VMG/Felt)0:13
15. Nick Frey (TIME Pro Cycling)0:13
16. Herman Fouche (Konica Minolta)0:14
17. Gustavo Borcard (Esco-Telefonicos Argentina)0:14
18. Sven Forberger (Team Stadler)0:14
19. Gaston Aguero (Esco-Telefonicos Argentina)0:14
20. Peter Stetina (VMG/Felt)0:14
21. Aaron Pool (Johan Bruyneel Cycling Academy)0:14
22. Michael Chauner (PA Lightning)0:14
23. Mark Pozniak (Team RACE Pro)0:15
24. Kiel Reijnen (Waste Management/Racelab)0:15
25. Walker Savidge (VMG/Felt)0:15
26. Alex Boyd (Waste Management/Racelab)0:15
27. Josh Lipka (Fiordifrutta Cycling Team)0:16
28. Travis Allen (Konica Minolta)0:16
29. Tyler Dibble (CA Giant Berry/Specialized)0:16
30. James Driscoll (Fiordifrutta Cycling Team)0:17
31. Nick Keough (Sakonnet Technology)0:17
32. Peter Salon (VMG/Felt)0:17
33. Chance Noble (CA Giant Berry/Specialized)0:18
34. Stevie Cullinan (Waste Management/Racelab)0:18
35. Travis Burandt (Sakonnet Technology)0:18
36. Eric Schildge (Fiordifrutta Cycling Team)0:18
37. Demis Aleman (Esco-Telefonicos Argentina)0:18
38. David Guttenplan (TIME Pro Cycling)0:18
39. Bjorn Selander (Waste Management/Racelab)0:18
40. Daniel Furmston (Praties Cycling Team)0:19
41. Reid Pletcher (CA Giant Berry/Specialized)0:19
42. Alex Welch (VRC: NOW-MS Society)0:20
43. Peter Rennie (VRC: NOW-MS Society)0:20
44. Benjamin King (Kelly Benefit/Medifast)0:20
45. Ben Showman (PA Lightning)0:20
46. Ben Grieve-Johnson (Praties Cycling Team)0:20
47. Chad Beyer (ZTeaM)0:20
48. Sheldon Deeny (Sakonnet Technology)0:20
49. Shawn Rosenthal (ZTeaM)0:20
50. Cheyne Hoag (Sakonnet Technology)0:20
51. Joshua Wilson (Praties Cycling Team)0:21
52. Jackie Simes (TIME Pro Cycling)0:21
53. Sander Aardenburg (Global Cycling)0:21
54. Adam Thuss (Team RACE Pro)0:21
55. Keir Plaice (Team RACE Pro)0:21
56. Mathias Kupke (Team Stadler)0:22
57. Geert Dijkshoorn (Global Cycling)0:22
58. Phil Gaimon (Fiordifrutta Cycling Team)0:22
59. Erik Barlevav (TIME Pro Cycling)0:22
60. Hayden Brooks (Fiordifrutta Cycling Team)0:22
61. Justin Laue (ZTeaM)0:22
62. Alex Howes (VMG/Felt)0:23
63. Jelmer Asjes (Global Cycling)0:23
64. Clay Murfet (Kelly Benefit/Medifast)0:23
65. David Nelson (Johan Bruyneel Cycling Academy)0:23
66. Jacob Keough (Kelly Benefit/Medifast)0:24
67. Sean Mazich (Waste Management/Racelab)0:24
68. Mark Batty (Team RACE Pro)0:24
69. James Camut (Johan Bruyneel Cycling Academy)0:24
70. Marcos Santucho (Esco-Telefonicos Argentina)0:24
71. Adam Farabaugh (Penn St Cancer/GPOA/Cannondale)0:25
72. Turner Johnson (Penn St Cancer/GPOA/Cannondale)0:25
73. Timothy Walker (Praties Cycling Team)0:25
74. Nick Martinez (VRC: NOW-MS Society)0:25
75. Dennis Luyt (Global Cycling)0:25
76. John Parish (Waste Management/Racelab)0:26
77. Christopher Kuhl (Penn St Cancer/GPOA/Cannondale)0:26
78. Vincent Roberge (Johan Bruyneel Cycling Academy)0:26
79. Mohamed Aounseghir (Konica Minolta)0:26
80. Andrew Hunt (Team RACE Pro)0:26
81. Max Jenkins (CA Giant Berry/Specialized)0:26
82. Leandro Bottaso (Esco-Telefonicos Argentina)0:27
83. Joel Dion-Poitras (Team RACE Pro)0:27
84. Mathijs Timmer (Global Cycling)0:27
85. Eric Riggs (ZTeaM)0:27
86. Jori Pol (Global Cycling)0:29
87. Adam Branfman (Sakonnet Technology)0:30
88. Brett Jacoby (Penn St Cancer/GPOA/Cannondale)0:31
89. Christopher Ruhl (PA Lightning)0:31
90. Chris Steffanoni (VRC: NOW-MS Society)0:31
91. Charles Marzot (Fiordifrutta Cycling Team)0:32
92. Eric Losak (VRC: NOW-MS Society)0:32
93. Elliot Gaunt (Penn St Cancer/GPOA/Cannondale)0:33
94. Taylor Brown (PA Lightning)0:33
95. Toni Franke (Team Stadler)0:34
96. Peter Horn (Johan Bruyneel Cycling Academy)0:34
97. Nicholas Agate (CA Giant Berry/Specialized)0:38
98. Mark Hinnen (Kelly Benefit/Medifast)0:38
99. Jeff Salvitti (PA Lightning)0:40
100. Justin Brown (Penn St Cancer/GPOA/Cannondale)0:40
101. Eric Chrabot (PA Lightning)0:42
102. Julian Martinez (CA Giant Berry/Specialized)0:43


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.