Canadian Cyclist


June 25/08 11:54 am - Club News: Blizzard, Owen Sound CC, Argyll Velodrome Association, Oak Bay Wheelers

Posted by Editoress on 06/25/08

Blizzard Bike Club Fort St. John, BC

June 22nd

Robin Baillie won his third Club Championship race in a row, Sunday, on the new Pineview-Montney loop. He edged out Colter Young in a close sprint to win the 90 km distance with a time of 2:43:51 hours. Three time past winner Pat Ferris held off Darren Guliov for third at 3:01:16.

The Andrews Boys were 1 ˆ 2 in the 45 km one lap race. Bob Andrews won with 1:29:01 and son Simon Andrews was second at 1:32:10. Rod Lewis was third at 1:34:54 and Sandy McDonald 4th at 1:38:56.

Race conditions were pleasant and dry and occasionally sunny, contrary to weather predictions.

There was a group of Blizzards also competing in the Fort Nelson Triathlon, Sunday. No results as off press time.

Past 5-time Club Championship winner Robert Martens was busy winning the Criterium in Banff, Alberta.

Coming up:
-Thursday Baldonnel time trial at 7 pm.
-Sunday Challenge Cup races #8 and #9 in Dawson Creek at 10:00 am. There will be a Bear Mountain time trial followed by a road race.

June 17th

Robin Baillie turned in a blistering fast time of 22:59 minutes, Thursday, at the Baldonnel time trial. Pat Ferris was second at 25:19, Bob Andrews 25:22 for 3rd and Rob Lavigne 25:25 for 4th. Jake Elliott was 5th at 26:42.

Darren Guliov had a personal best 26:49, Simon Andrews 27:07, Sandy McDonald 28:06, Barb Polehoykie 29:02, Rod Lewis 29:06 for 10th.

Other times were Sam Keats 29:08, Kathryn Fairweather 29:15, Adam Bilodeau 29:33, Owen Giebelhaus 31:11, Russ Wilson 32:13, Hilda Bilodeau 35:02, Bill Lindsay 36:29, Wendy Framst 39:35 and Dawn Gladysz 40:24.

Conditions were fast with almost perfect weather conditions.

Owen Sound CC - Sawmill Trails MTB Race

June 19th

Jason Rody, 20:40
Susan Avery, 31:27
Ken Avery, 22:03
Sean Calhoun, 21:25
Vic Michener, 26:22
Arunas Liskauskas, 27:19
Dennis Dalton, 22:51

Timers and Course Designers[/b] : Tom Hakala & John Huelshof
Riders : 8
Conditions : Cool, damp, Awesome trail ; Put smiles on our faces ; Thanks to Tom, and John

Argyll Velodrome Association Thursday Night Track League

June 19th's AVA Thursday Night Track League in Edmonton, Alberta

Cat C
1. Alyssa Edgerton, 64pts
2. Dan Rosichuk, 33
3. Samuel Beaudoin, 19
4. Marcy Dibbs, 18
5. Samantha Grover, 11
6. Alex Steneker, 0

Cat B
1. Mark Labrenz, 34pts
2. Dave Embury, 33
3. Randy Murchison, 28
4. Ed Sumbar, 21
5. Maciej Rocki, 13
6. Tracy Shearer, 5
7. Adam Todd, 5
8. J-M Tetrault, 2
9. Maryann Heacock, 2
10. John Chang, 1
11. Gail Wozny, 0
12. John Stephens, 0

Cat A
1. Jeff Bakel, 61pts
2. Dylan Menard, 41
3. Nick Jendzjowsky, 29
4. Tara Whitton, 21
5. Matt Wheatley, 14
6. Alex McCormick, 10
7. Paul Ermantrout, 8
8. Ed Heacock, 7
9. Doug Cameron, 7
10. Kyle Harris, 3
11. Chris Rubuliak, 3
12. Kevin Rokosh, 1
13. Brad Remenda, 1
14. Chris Dunbar, 0
15. Kevin Coghlan, 0

Detailed results (PDF)

Oak Bay Wheelers ITT June 19th

Nanaimo BC

The evening was near perfect - 16 C. and no wind. However, most stayed home because of rain in other parts of the region. Those who did show up all did well and women outnumbered the men 4 to 3.

The only youth rider did a personal best, beating his previous time by almost a minute.

Thanks to Dave Kenny and Ian Hay for marshalling the turns.
June 26th is a 15km event and there will be no race on July 3rd.

Women 20K
Rose Houle (Arrowsmith), 37:02
Sue Handel (Frontrunners), 37:31
Charlene Hay (HCF), 38:55
Janet Oxler (Frontrunners), 40:37

Men 20K
Norman Thibault (Frontrunners), 32:08
John Hannon (Arrowsmith), 39:16
Ross Palfrey (Nanaimo CC), 44:10

Youth 5K
Brodie Hay (HCF), 14:29

Series Standings

Shailie Sanbrooks (OBB), 58pts
Sue Handel (Frontrunners), 40
Rose Houle (Arrowsmith), 37
Michelle James (Tri BC), 37
Charlene Hay (HCF), 32
Janet Oxler (Frontrunners), 22
Wendy Simm (Kona), 12
Alex Berlingette (Tri BC), 9
Leigh Blaney (Tri BC), 8

Tony Winter (OBB), 53pts
Dan Frey (Frontrunners), 49
Ross Palfrey (Nanaimo CC), 47
Dave Steen (BC Masters), 44
Norman Thibault (Frontrunners), 39
Robin Dutton (Arrowsmith), 36
Menno Jonsma (Dr. Walker), 22
Mike James (HCF), 18
Ian Hay (HCF), 23
Bob Kerr (Ind.), 17
Ryan Smith (Arrowsmith), 14
Ian MacLeod (Ind.), 13
Stefan jacobson (Frontrunners), 12
John Hannon (Arrowsmith), 10
Elijah Buffalo (Hobbema), 10
Wayne Haju (Ind.), 9
Jon Bird (Ind.), 8
Al Shirley (Ind.), 7
Dave Kenny (OBB), 5
Nathan Chown (Handlebars), 5
Gregor Conti (Ind.), 4

Brodie Hay (HCF), 59pts
Curran Jonsma (HCF), 36
Derek Larson (HCF), 32
Jackson James (HCF), 32


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.