Canadian Cyclist


July 8/08 1:09 am - Tour of Austria: Barry 6th on Stage, 9th in GC

Posted by Editoress on 07/8/08

Tour of Austria

Report by Martin Roseneder

The first showdown of the GC favorites occurred at the second stage of the 60th International Tour of Austria from Toblach/Dobbiaco up to the Kitzbüheler Horn. CSC pro Anker Chris Sorensen won with a 12 second lead on ElkHaus' Thomas Rohregger and 27 seconds ahead of Ruslan Pidgornyy (LPR Brakes Ballan). Vladimir Gusev (Astana) scored fourth (+29 sec), Giampaolo Caruso (Ceramica) fifth (+1:29 min), Michael Barry (Team Columbia) sixth (+1:43 min) and Davide Rebellin from Gerolsteiner seventh (+ 1:43 min).

For a very long time two riders dominated the race: 40 kilometers after the start in Toblach/Dobbiaco Dimytro Grabovskyy (Quick Step) and Michael Barry (Columbia) jumped away from the peloton. Their lead had been up to 13:40 on the main bunch. At the final climb to the challenging Kitzbüheler Horn, with 19 turns, 7.5 kilometres in length and a maximum gain of 20% (known as one of the most demanding mountains of Europe), the two riders were caught after 140 km.

Rohregger took the lead up to the Kitzbüheler Horn

As soon as the climb began up to the Kitzbüheler Horn the field broke into many groups. Thomas Rohregger, who won the the stage up to the Kitzbühler Horn last year, launched the first attack and only Sorensen was able to follow him. "Right after the tollgate I attacked and noticed that Sorensen was very strong. It was a tactical decision and I wanted to dare the Dane, who doesn't know the mountain as well as I do. But unfortunately he was able to keep up." Rohregger analysed.

Sorensen celebrates second stage win as professional

Anke Chris Sorensen winner of sixth stage of the Dauphine Libere this year, celebrates his second victory as a professional: "I know the mountain only because of stories of my brother who was racing here. Yes, it was very difficult." Tomorrow, the Dane will wear the yellow jersey but he is not confident of being a favorite for the overall victory:" Thomas Rohregger for me is the favorite. But are some more difficult stages and I still need to improve my time trial. "Thomas Rohregger, who will wear the jersey of the best Austrian rider, says: "My favourite is Ruslan Pidgornyy. He is very good in time trial and improved in the mountains."

Statistics of the Großglockner

Tomorrow the riders have to pass the Grossglockner, the 'roof' of the tour. The 3rd stage is starting in Kitzbühel and the finish will be after 170 km in Prägraten. Last year won Christian Pfannberger the prestigeous "Glockner King" (Title for the 1st cyclist at the top of the Großglockner) in 47:23 minutes. The second best time had Tomas Konecny from Czech Republica with 47:46 minutes. Since the first tour in 1949 there had been 20 austrian winner of the Glockner classification. Christian Pfannberger won it last year, Bernhard Kohl won two years ago.

Stage 2: Toblach to Kitzbuheler Horn/Alpenhaus, 169.6 km
1. Chris Anke Sorensen (Den) Team CSC Saxo Bank4:19:00
2. Thomas Rohregger (Aut) Elk Haus - Simplonat 0:12
3. Ruslan Pidgornyy (Ukr) LPR Brakes-Ballan0:27
4. Vladimir Gusev (Rus) Astana0:29
5. Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia Bossini Docce1:29
6. Michael Barry (Can) Team Columbia1:43
7. Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner1:43
8. Kevin Seeldrayers (Bel) Quick Step2:07
9. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Astana2:21
10. Walter Pedraza (Col) Tinkoff Credit Systems2:44
1. Chris Anke Sorensen (Den) Team CSC Saxo Bank8:41:04
2. Thomas Rohregger (Aut) Elk Haus - Simplonat 0:16
3. Ruslan Pidgornyy (Ukr) LPR Brakes-Ballan0:33
4. Vladimir Gusev (Rus) Astana0:39
5. Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia Bossini Docce1:39
6. Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner1:49
7. Kevin Seeldrayers (Bel) Quick Step2:17
8. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Astana2:31
9. Michael Barry (Can) Team Columbia2:32
10. Jure Golcer (Slo) LPR Brakes-Ballan2:54


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.