Canadian Cyclist


July 12/08 1:37 am - Tour de France: Stage 8

Posted by Editoress on 07/12/08

Tour de France

Team Colombia press release


A torrential downpour could not stop Briton Mark Cavendish from clinching a powerful bunch sprint win in the Tour de France on Saturday, with Team Columbia team-mate Gerald Ciolek in second.

For the 23-year-old Cavendish, his Toulouse stage win was his second victory in five days racing on the Tour, his ninth of the season and the 20th on the road in just 18 months as a professional.

"Just like a few days ago, I came from a long way back again at the finish, but I had the strength to take it all the way to the line which is what mattered." Cavendish said afterwards.

"I was three places behind Gerald at one point but then I was able to get past the three of me before Gerald made his final acceleration which got me ahead. And then I gave it 100 percent."

"The finish was perfect for us, taking first and second. It was all really beautiful."

Adding to Columbia's satisfaction, Cavendish and Ciolek's team-mates Kim Kirchen and Thomas Lovkvist are still leading overall and in the Best Young Rider's competition.

"The way we worked so hard together in the last few kilometres shows exactly why we are so successful as a team." Kirchen said.

Talking about his experience of what it feels like to wear the yellow jersey, he added "it's something every rider dreams of. I've had to wait ten years to do this, but I can assure you it's been worth the wait!"

Asked if he plans to go for the green jersey, Cavendish says that he still lacks the consistency to do so.
"My objective here is winning stages in the first week, but for the green jersey you need a lot of endurance and I'm still young."

As for going all the way to Paris, Cavendish was adamant that he is "going to try. I have no intention of stopping. It wouldn't be fair on my team-mates, my sponsor or the organisers. I'll give it 100 percent."

Stage 8: Figeac to Toulouse, 172:5km
1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team Columbia4:02:54
2 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Team Columbia
3 Jimmy Casper (Fra) Agritubel
4 Oscar Freire (Esp) Rabobank
5 Robert Forster (Ger) Gerolsteiner
6 Erik Zabel (Ger) Team Milram
7 Gert Steegmans (Bel) Quick Step
8 Sebastien Chavanel (Fra) Francaise des Jeux
9 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agricole
10 Robert Hunter (RSA) Barloworld
11 Romain Feillu (Fra) Agritubel
12 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Credit Agricole
13 Ruben Perez (Esp) Euskaltel - Euskadi
14 Inaki Isasi (Esp) Euskaltel - Euskadi
15 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Liquigas
16 Heinrich Haussler (Ger) Gerolsteiner
17 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Silence - Lotto
18 Leonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis - Le Credit par Telephone
19 Julian Dean (NZl) Team Garmin Chipotle
20 Oscar Pereiro Sio (Esp) Caisse d'Epargneall s.t.
148 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Garmin Chipotle1:01
1 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Team Columbia32:26:34
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) Silence - Lottoat 0:06
3 Stefan Schumacher (Ger) Gerolsteiner0:16
4 Christian VandeVelde (USA) Team Garmin Chipotle0:44
5 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank1:03
6 Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne1:12
7 David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin Chipotle1:14
8 Stijn Devolder (Bel) Quick Step1:21
9 Oscar Pereiro Sio (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne
10 Thomas Lovkvist (Swe) Team Columbiaboth s.t.
11 Samuel Sanchez (Esp) Euskaltel - Euskadi1:27
12 Carlos Sastre (Esp) Team CSC Saxo Bank1:34
13 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team CSC Saxo Bank1:56
14 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team CSC Saxo Bank1:58
15 Bernhard Kohl (Aut) Gerolsteiner2:03
16 Maxime Monfort (Bel) Cofidis - Le Credit par Telephone2:07
17 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre2:09
18 Mikel Astarloza (Esp) Euskaltel - Euskadi2:16
19 Tadej Valjavec (Slo) AG2R La Mondiale2:19
20 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas2:20
93 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Garmin Chipotle29:43
Points GC
1 Oscar Freire (Esp) Rabobank119 pts
2 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Team Columbia119
3 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agricole105
4 Erik Zabel (Ger) Team Milram92
5 Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne87
6 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team Columbia86
7 Robert Hunter (RSA) Barloworld82
8 Romain Feillu (Fra) Agritubel64
9 Cadel Evans (Aus) Silence - Lotto62
10 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Silence - Lotto60
Climber GC
1 David De La Fuente (Esp) Saunier Duval - Scott34 pts
2 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Cofidis - Le Credit par Telephone27
3 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Bouygues Telecom27
4 Luis-Leon Sanchez (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne24
5 Riccardo Ricco (Ita) Saunier Duval - Scott20
6 Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne18
7 Josep Jufre Pou (Esp) Saunier Duval - Scott18
8 Cadel Evans (Aus) Silence - Lotto16
9 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team CSC Saxo Bank14
10 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas14
Best Young Rider GC
1 Thomas Lovkvist (Swe) Team Columbia32:27:55
2 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team CSC Saxo Bankat 0:37
3 Maxime Monfort (Bel) Cofidis - Le Credit par Telephone0:46
4 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas0:59
5 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas1:40
6 Iouri Trofimov (Rus) Bouygues Telecom2:20
7 Riccardo Ricco (Ita) Saunier Duval - Scott2:31
8 Eduardo Gonzalo Ramirez (Esp) Agritubel6:03
9 Luis-Leon Sanchez (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne12:32
10 John-Lee Augustyn (RSA) Barloworld25:20
Team GC
1 Team CSC Saxo Bank97:22:08
2 Team Columbiaat 2:52
3 Caisse D'Epargne3:29
4 Liquigas3:50
5 Gerolsteiner4:41
6 Euskaltel - Euskadi4:52
7 Saunier Duval - Scott6:04
8 AG2R-La Mondiale6:25
9 Barloworld6:32
10 Rabobank7:32
11 Credit Agricole8:56
12 Lampre9:28
13 Bouygues Telecom10:13
14 Garmin Chipotle10:59
15 Silence - Lotto11:27
16 Quick Step12:03
17 Team Milram17:09
18 Francaise Des Jeux20:08
19 Agritubel29:42
20 Cofidis Credit Par Telephone29:43


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.