Canadian Cyclist


July 23/08 10:31 am - Saskatchewan Cup XC #4

Posted by Editoress on 07/23/08

Sask Cup MTB Race #4 - Blackstrap Biter July 20th

Riders take a Bite out of Blackstrap

On July 20th, riders descended upon Blackstrap Provincial Park to show the ski hill what they were made of. This cross-country mountain bike course offered fast double-track, gnarled, tight single track, and, as described by one racer, "every screaming-fast blind corner that the race organizer could find". This race was held in conjunction with the CanAm Police/Fire Games so the pressure was on to put on a well-organized, fun event.

The day started out with the Mini-Biter Kids Mountain Bike race where young folks (and some of the older ones helping) rode the open, grassy course. Hotdogs and lemonade topped off the race and even the smallest competitor (age 5) looked like he had worked hard and had been well fed!

The main event started at 11:00 AM, as the day was beginning to heat up. With prizes for the fastest climber in each wave up for grabs, the competitors started off at a very fast pace. Unbeknownst to the racers, prizes were also being awarded to those more patient riders for the slowest climber in each wave.

Elite racer Jeremy Erdman completed the course in just over 2 hours and Evan Weninger (in the under 13 Male class) finished in just over 27 minutes. With categories for every speed and experience level, this race was perfect for those who were new to racing and those who have seen their fair share of dirt.

The 26 degree heat was managed well by our club Water Men, who were more than happy to douse riders, on their backs and heads, with cups of water as each rider passed through the feed-zone. One rider was quoted as saying, "this is the coolest I've been since I bought my first Walkman in 1985".

The day also saw a few mechanicals with Chris Yeo changing THREE flat tires (with a quick, commissaire-approved trip to the parking lot) and Nathan Sedgewick successfully defending 2nd place in his category despite fixing a broken chain on lap 1 and a flat tire on lap 4. Nathan was seen running through the course, wheel in hand, yelling "I've got a spare one in the wheel pit! What a day!".

The awards banquet was complimented by the Old Fashioned BBQ which included freshly-made smokies & salads from Summit Meats in Sutherland, lemonade and homemade cookies (made by our club members). Awards were given to Top and Bottom Climber of each wave, and a special award for Best Dressed Racer went to Ryan Derksen and Curt Bimson who showed up in jerseys that looked like tuxedos. Medals were handed out to the CanAm Police/Fire competitors and Draw Prizes topped off the ceremonies.

A special thank you to all of the bike shops in Saskatoon who donated prizes (2nd Nature, Bike Doctor, Bike Universe, Bruce's Cycle, City Park Cycle, Outtabounds, Spoke n Sport) and to Culligan Water in Sutherland, MD Ambulance, GU Gel, Safeway at Market Mall, Sask Cycling and Sask Sport.

For more information on racing in Saskatchewan, visit: Local mountain bike clubs NBR ( ) and BCW ( ) co-organized this event. Check out their websites for more local riding.

Senior Elite Men
1. Jeremy Erdmann (ORS)2:03:30
2. Neil Clarke (NBR)2:07:21
3. Jeremy Trask (ORS)2:08:59
dnf . Kris Abrahamson (ORS)
Senior Elite Women
1. Susan Clarke (NBR)2:03:53
Senior Expert Men
1. Ryan Derksen (NBR)1:49:22
2. Nathan Sedgewick (BCW)2:06:03
3. Brennon Martin (RnR)2:13:24
Junior Expert Men
1. Karl Harasyn (RnR)1:56:24
2. Benjamin Gotts (NBR)2:16:57
dnf . Adrian Orinyk (RnR)
Master Expert Men 30+
1. Mel Sysing (NBR)1:51:53
2. Jon Bath (NWMBC)1:56:39
3. Scott Taylor (NBR)2:01:42
dns . Garth Patterson (CYC)dns
Master Exp Men 40+
1. Albert Malan (NBR)1:21:08
2. Terry Zack (EQC)1:21:49
3. Wayne Jackson (ORS)1:28:00
4. Pedro Peralta (ORS)1:28:14
5. Tom Wolf (NBR)1:31:21
6. Darren Dyck (MJP)1:35:08
7. Cornel Kluge (Cycledelia)1:35:15
8. George Kokonas (RCC)2:08:21
U17 Expert Male
1. Matt Johnson (EQC)1:17:47
2. Jayden Aldrich (ORS)1:19:38
3. Ragnar Robinson (RnR)1:20:58
4. Axel Morin (BCW)1:27:02
5. Luke Patterson (Cycledelia)1:35:03
Master Spt Men 30-39
1. Curt Bimson (NBR)1:44:22
2. Tony Bairos (One Day)1:54:05
3. David Meban (ORS)1:56:49
4. Chris Yeo (NBR)1:58:08
5. Mike Amos (One Day)2:02:14
dnf . Stephan Bourassa (BCW)
Men Master Sport 40-49
1. Michael Bacon (NBR)1:02:52
dnf . Mike Power (BCW)
Men Master Sport 50+
1. Kim Wall (ORS)1:07:04
Junior Exp Women
1. Julia Garnet (BCW)1:38:21
Mast Expert Wom
1. Joanne Weninger (BCW)1:19:11
2. Hilary Johnstone (RnR)1:26:33
3. Kathryn Theede (NBR)1:34:15
Under 17 Expert Women
1. Hannah Cooley (NBR)1:21:22
Under 15 Male
1. Dylan Smith (ORS)0:58:04
2. Nelson Martell (NBR)1:05:16
3. Lucas Morin (BCW)1:10:17
Under 17 Sport Male
1. Kris Wall (ORS)0:32:25
Citizen Women 1 lap
1. Maureen Bourassa (One Day)0:46:01
Under 13 Male
1. Evan Weninger (BCW)0:27:40
2. Eric Patterson (NBR)0:30:00
3. Jeremy Wirges (ORS)0:46:17


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.