Canadian Cyclist


September 8/08 10:46 am - Tour of Missouri: Stage 1 full results and Interview with Dom Rollin

Posted by Editoress on 09/8/08

Tour of Missouri

Report by Amy Smolens

Toyota-United's Dominique Rollin is known as a fast sprinter and a hard man, but during tomorrow's Stage 2 of the Tour of Missouri he will be wearing the Michelob Ultra King of the Mountain Leader's jersey. He won the early KOM, a perfect power climb for him, ten miles outside of St. Joseph, Missouri. He got a lock on the jersey by winning the day's other KOM on the first circuit in downtown Kansas City.

I spoke to Dominique briefly after he had swigged from his bottle of Michelob Ultra on the podium.

Amy Smolens: How was that beer?

Dominique Rollin: Aaahhh.... (chuckles) It's an American beer!

AS: So how do you end up with the KOM jersey?

DR: I just wanted to open up the legs, see where things are. I ended up in a good place at a good moment so I might as well go and have some fun.

AS: Do you plan on working to hang onto the jersey?

DR: Ah, we'll see how things go, it's not our first priority but if we can keep it then it would be great. We're still looking for a stage win - it didn't happen today, someone took (Toyota-United sprinter) Ivan (Dominguez) out in the finish so I ended up leading out (stage winner Mark) Cavendish - that's quite disappointing because he doesn't need a leadout (laughs.)

AS: You really made a name for yourself last year here in this race with 3rd overall - are you expecting big things again here this year?
DR: Sure, looking for something good to say goodbye to the crowds. It's the last race for Toyota-United so it would be good to leave in the same way that Discovery did last year (George Hincapie won the GC) so we'll sure be showing the jersey for the last time and just have a great time here at the Tour of Missouri.

Stage 1: St. Joseph to Kansas City, 144.8 km
1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team Columbia3.15:14
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin/Chipotle p/b H3O
3 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Liquigas
4 Eric Baumann (Ger) Team Sparkasse
5 Michael van Stayen (Bel) Rabobank
6 Alex Candelario (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast
7 John Murphy (USA) Health Net p/b Maxxis
8 Andrew Pinfold (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
9 Jetse Bol (Ned) Rabobank
10 Danilo Wyss (Sui) BMC Racing Team
11 Richard England (Aus) Bissell Pro Cycling
12 Kirk O'Bee (USA) Health Net p/b Maxxis
13 Boy van Poppel (Ned) Rabobank
14 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
15 Luis Hernandez (Mex) Tecos de la Universidad Autonoma de Guadalaiara
16 Daniel Holloway (USA) Garmin/Chipotle p/b H3O
17 Alejandro Borrajo (Arg) Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
18 Mike Sayers (USA) BMC Racing Team
19 Antonio Cruz (USA) BMC Racing Team
20 Danny Pate (USA) Garmin/Chipotle p/b H3O
21 Ryan Anderson (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
22 George Hincapie (USA) Team Columbia
23 Carlos Oyarzun (Chi) Tecos de la Universidad Autonoma de Guadalaiara
24 Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team
25 Luis Amaran Romero (Cub) Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
26 Edward King (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling
27 Davide Frattini (Ita) Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
28 Dirk Muller (Ger) Team Sparkasse
29 Jeffry Louder (USA) BMC Racing Team
30 Michael Barry (Can) Team Columbia
31 Dominique Rollin (Can) Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team
32 Nicholas Sanderson (Aus) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
33 Steven Cozza (USA) Garmin/Chipotle p/b H3O
34 Jonathan Mumford (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast
35 Darren Lapthorne (Aus) Team Sparkasse
36 Benjamin Day (Aus) Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team
37 Christian Vandevelde (USA) Garmin/Chipotle p/b H3O
38 Jonathan Garcia (USA) BMC Racing Team
39 Jeremiah Wiscovitch (USA) Rock Racing
40 Matej Mugerli (Slo) Liquigas
41 Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Columbia
42 Blake Caldwell (USA) Garmin/Chipotle p/b H3O
43 Kai Reus (Ned) Rabobank
44 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank
45 Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Team Sparkasse
46 Garrett Peltonen (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling
47 Martin Kohler (Sui) BMC Racing Team
48 Sebastian Frey (Ger) Team Sparkasse
49 Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Team Sparkasse
50 Svein Tuft (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
51 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Team Columbia
52 Marcel Beima (Ned) Rabobank
53 Roman Kilun (USA) Health Net p/b Maxxis
54 Andrew Bajadali (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast
55 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas
56 Darren Lill (RSA) BMC Racing Team
57 Gustavo Artacho (Arg) Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
58 Nick Reistad (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
59 Scott Zwizanski (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling
60 David Veilleux (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast
61 John Devine (USA) Team Columbia
62 Omer Kem (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling
63 Tom Zirbel (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling
64 Dan Bowman (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast
65 Tom Danielson (USA) Garmin/Chipotle p/b H3O
66 Justin Spinelli (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast
67 Andrew Randell (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
68 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas
69 Michael Creed (USA) Rock Racing
70 Juan Pablo Aranda (Mex) Tecos de la Universidad Autonoma de Guadalaiara
71 Lars Wackernagel (Ger) Team Sparkasse
72 Luca Damiani (Ita) Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
73 Richard Faltus (Cze) Team Sparkasse
74 Cam Evans (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
75 Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling
76 Chris Wherry (USA) Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team
77 Andy Guptill (USA) Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
78 Kayle Leogrande (USA) Rock Racing
79 Thomas Berkhout (Ned) Rabobank
80 Omar Diaz (Mex) Tecos de la Universidad Autonoma de Guadalaiara
81 Craig Lewis (USA) Team Columbia
82 Bernardo Tepoz (Mex) Tecos de la Universidad Autonoma de Guadalaiara
83 Thomas Rabou (Ned) Rabobank
84 Lui Colunga (Mex) Tecos de la Universidad Autonoma de Guadalaiara
85 Will Routley (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
86 Christopher Baldwin (USA) Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team
87 Anthony Colby (USA) Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
88 Hilton Clarke (Aus) Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team
89 Rory Sutherland (Aus) Health Net p/b Maxxis
90 Gianni Da Ros (Ita) Liquigasall s.t.
91 Bernard Van Ulden (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team0:20
92 Jeremy Powers (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
93 Bryce Mead (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
94 Matthew Rice (Aus) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
95 David Zabriskie (USA) Garmin/Chipotle p/b H3O
96 Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Liquigas
97 Caleb Manion (Aus) Toyota-United Pro Cycling Teamall s.t.
98 Ivan Dominguez (Cub) Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team0:24
99 Henk Vogels (Aus) Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team
100 Cesar Grajales (Col) Rock Racingboth s.t.
101 Jonathan Sundt (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast1:51
102 Tim Johnson (USA) Health Net p/b Maxxis2:08
103 Karl Menzies (Aus) Health Net p/b Maxxis
104 Kiel Reijnen (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
105 Brad Huff (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Teamall s.t.
106 Frank Pipp (USA) Health Net p/b Maxxis3:00
107 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Team Columbia5:18
108 Kyle Gritters (USA) Health Net p/b Maxxis
109 Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Arg) Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Lightboth s.t.
110 Sterling Magnell (USA) Rock Racing7:34
111 Sergio Hernandez (USA) Rock Racings.t.
112 Elliott Cervantes (Mex) Tecos de la Universidad Autonoma de Guadalaiara12:15
113 Jeremy Vennell (NZl) Bissell Pro Cyclings.t.
114 Justin Williams (USA) Rock Racing16:44
115 Keven Lacombe (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast16:46


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.