Canadian Cyclist


September 16/08 8:38 am - Team Coastal Cross: Cyclocross BC Cup #1

Posted by Editoress on 09/16/08

Team Coastal Cross - 2008 Cyclo-cross BC Cup #1 September 13th, Delta BC
Courtesy Team Coastal Cycling

The BC cyclo-cross season has now officially started and 2008 Cyclo-cross BC Cup kicked off with the 4th Annual Team Coastal Cross held on Saturday Sept 13. Team Coastal Cycling was happy to host an enthusiastic 113 cross racers, for some knobby tire fun in the sun at the Delta Watershed.

In the first round of events, Craig Fabiche (Overtime Sports Coquitlam) won the Open Beginners race, Katherine Short (Sunshine Coast Cycling) dominated the Women's B field to take and Heather King (Activelife Multisport) placed 1st in Masters Women. The second wave of races included the largest group of riders with Sebastian Sleep (Sunshine Coast Cycling/Rocky Mtn) beating all 20 of his Mens B competitors, while Roy McBeth (Local Ride) fought his way back through a field of 30 (after a mechanical in the first lap) to win the Masters Mens race. The final racing of the day proved to be the most exciting after the A Men and Women were called up to the line. In the Womens A race, Jean Ann McKirdy (Local Ride) successfully repeated her win here last year over a strong field competitors and after an intense hour of effort, Tyler Trace (Trek Red Truck Racing) the 2007 BC Cup Mens A Series Champion won the first 2008 Cyclo-cross BC Cup race of the season.

The organizers want to thank all those that attended the event and especially thank all the volunteers that helped make it a safe and successful race. Also a big thanks goes to our sponsors South Shore Cycles, Trek, and the Municipality of Delta.

Check for photos coming very soon.

Men's A
1 Tyler Trace (Trek Red Truck)
2 Craig Ritchey (Ind)
3 Thomas Skinner (Rocky Mountain Different Bikes)
4 Kevin Noiles (Trek Red Truck)
5 Zach Garland (Kona/Adobe)
6 Kevin Calhoun (Rocky Mountain Different Bikes)
7 Chris Sayers (Kelowna Cycle)
8 Carsten Ivany (Local Ride)
9 Steven Devantier (Local Ride)
10 Kevin Thorpe (Trek Red Truck)
11 Basse Clement (Kona/Adobe)
12 Simon Tremblay (Giant/Summet Cycles)
13 Joe Wessel (Kelowna Cycle/Opus)
14 John Perkins (Glotman Simpson)
15 Ian Young (Handlebar CC)
16 Andrew Kyle (Escape Velocity)
17 Drew McKenzie (Island Racing Club)
DNF Brad Issel (Ind)

Women's A
1 Jean Ann McKirdy (Local Ride)
2 Kelly Jones (Sugoi)
3 Marie-Claude Gagnon (Glotman Simpson)
4 Melanie Vaughan (Steed Cycles)
5 Joel Guynup (Island Racing Club)
6 Christy Love (West Coast Racing)
7 Jaymie McGowan (Oakbay Bikes)
8 Courtney Albert (Trek Red Truck)
9 Cline Dennis

Men's B
1 Sebastian Sleep (Sunshine Coast Cycling/Rocky Mtn)
2 Nick Berry (Mighty Riders)
3 Graeme Martindale (Trek Red Truck)
4 Mike Berkenpas (Local Ride)
5 Niholas Cowan (Ind)
6 Gord Ross (Escape Velocity)
7 Wendall Challenger (Mighty Riders)
8 Ryan Newsome (Local Ride)
9 Jeff Hanninen (Team Peninsula Cycles/Rocky Mtn)
10 David Broemeling (Escape Velocity)
11 Pascal Teste (Atomic)
12 Erik Mulder (Steed Cycles)
13 Jason Brooks (Zimich Coaching)
14 Ted Martin (Escape Velocity)
15 Nobuo Shoji (Ind)
16 Owen Scott (Steed Cycles)
17 Dustan Sept (Ind)
18 JP Baron (Ind)
19 Steven Herbert (Escape Velocity)
20 Andrew Lea (Team Coastal)
21 Ryan Cousineau (Escape Velocity)

Women's B
1 Katherine Short (Sunshine Coast Cycling)
2 Anne-Marie LeFrancois (Trek Red Truck)
3 Danika Schroeter (Ind)
4 Aude Beauchay (Atomic)
5 Katerine Warrendorf (Wedgewood)
6 Jennifer Kohm (Glotman Simpson)
7 Theresa Putkey (Ind)
8 Larissa Kuzyk (Ind)

Open Beginner
1 Craig Fabiche (Overtime Sports Coquitlam)
2 Colin McArthur (Elite Wave)
3 Jon Taylor (
4 Mike Dhont (Different Bikes)
5 Matt Kennedy (Ind)
6 Kevin MacDonald (BSP)
7 Ian Mant (Ind)
8 Todd Allison (Team Whistler)
9 Tobin Copley (Escape Velocity)
10 Guy McInnis (Ind)
11 Scott Peters (Wedgewood)
12 Dustin Brons (Westpoint Cycling Club)
13 Stephane Delisle (Escape Velocity)
14 Andrew Houston (Ind)
15 Nathan Wallace (La Biciletta Proshop)
16 John Sommers (Ind)
17 Andrew Appleton (Ind)
18 Drew Richard (Ind)
19 Jeff Van Mulligen (Team Coastal)
20 Cam Finnigan (Escape Velocity)

Masters Men
1 Roy McBeth (Local Ride)
2 Sean Howie (Reps West Racing)
3 Brad Collins (BSP)
4 Patrick Love (Wedgewood)
5 Tyler Dumont (Norco/Floraglo)
6 Colin Campbell (Escape Velocity)
7 Brent Hambleton (Sugoi)
8 Brian Griffin (Experience Cycling)
9 Tyler Jordon (Kona/Adobe)
10 Bart Nakano (Team Alliance)
11 Bryon Enns (Steed Cycles)
12 Paul Craig (Local Ride)
13 Kalle Karu (Ind)
14 Jay Murray (Trek)
15 Rick Rodland (Alliance/Norco)
16 Jeff Crombie (Different Bikes)
17 Ian Parker (Ind)
18 Robbie Bitz (Local Ride)
19 Jay Loder (Ind)
20 Dave Cressman (Wedgewood)
21 Darrin Grund (Team Coastal)
22 Brian Goldstone (Kona/Adobe)
23 Bill Riley (Vancouver Velo Vets)
24 Alex Cogger (Ind)
DNF Richard Humphries (Maple Rdige Cycles)
DNF Graham Tutti (John Henry )
DNF Sean McKibben (Team Coastal)
DNF Dave Krfneburk (Ind)
DNF Bob Chew (Escape Velocity)
DNF John Starevic

Master Women
1 Heather King (Activelife Multisport)
2 Lesley Trivett (Wedgewood)
3 Barb Zimich (Zimich Coaching)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.