Canadian Cyclist


November 10/08 8:54 am - Svein Tuft pulls out of La Ruta

Posted by Editoress on 11/10/08

Svein Tuft pulls out La Ruta
Courtesy La Ruta

Roberto Heras says he will do his best to win this year's race

Canadian road cyclist Svein Tuft has cancelled his participation in this year's La Ruta de los Conquistadores. His coach at the Garmin-Chipotle Team wanted him to join the training base camp for next year's road season.

The Garmin-Chipotle Team meeting will start just a few days after La Ruta, in Colorado, USA, so the team was worried about the schedule and the risk of an injury at the Costa Rican mountain bike event.

Although Tuft was very enthusiastic about participating in the challenge of La Ruta, his manager and team owner asked them to pull out the event. "I have a very big season ahead of me and that is what I need to focus on", said Tuft on an email he sent a couple of days ago to the organizers. "I really appreciate you inviting me and I would love to do the race some day under different circumstances", he added.

Nevertheless, the difficulty of the competition in La Ruta is still guaranteed. Spanish Roberto Heras, three time La Vuelta winner, has arrived in Jacó Beach where La Ruta will kick-off in two days.

The former road climber is pointing to the podium at this year's Conquistadores, though he has been told about the demanding conditions of the course and the level of the local competitors. "Let's see what will happen. I've heard this is a tough race and that the local guys take it pretty seriously", stated Heras, who went out for a pre-ride this morning together with another Spanish participants and La Ruta PR Director Luis Rueda. "I'm feeling pretty good and will do my best to be at the top for the next four days", he commented to local newspaper's journalists.

Another pro racer registered for the race, French rider Thomas Dietsch will arrive in San José tonight.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.