Canadian Cyclist


November 23/08 5:26 am - North American Trophy #7

Posted by Editoress on 11/23/08

N. American Trophy #7 - Whitmore's Landscaping Super Cross Cup Day 1 Southampton, New York
Report courtesy Ken Getchell, SpectaSport

What a difference a year makes. Last year, the Whitmore's Landscaping Super Cross Cup saw some of the world's best UCI cyclocross racers competing in 85 degree weather. A year and a few weeks later, competitors were greeted to the first of two UCI C1 races by sub-freezing weather and high winds. The near epic conditions couldn't slow down the racers, especially Ryan Trebon and Georgia Gould, who took dominant victories.

The race weekend in the Hamptons serves as the penultimate stop for the MAC Powered by SRAM series, as well as the finals for the NACT. And the first drama occurred in a hotel room away from the track itself. Tim Johnson (, the only male rider other than Ryan Trebon (Kona/FSA) still in the running for the North American Cyclocross Trophy, tried to warm up on a trainer. But his swollen knee, injured the week before in New Jersey, did not have enough flexibility to pedal. But Trebon looked so strong, it may not have mattered. Saying that it was easier to ride by himself in such gusty, swirling winds, Trebon took off from the field and never looked back. Eventually he built his lead to nearly a minute, before slowing down to celebrate on the final 500 meters. Behind him, Jeremy Powers (Cannondale/ and Todd Wells (Team GT) were the survivors of a race-long attack-fest that at one time also included Troy Wells (TIAA-Cref / Clif Bar), Andy Jacques-Maynes (Specialized/KBC/California Giant) and Jesse Anthony (Team Jamis). Wells nearly passed Powers on the final corner when Powers went wide during the sprint, but Powers was able to accelerate and fend off Wells for the second spot.

The women saw a more entertaining race than the men, at least in the first half. A good deal of that entertainment was provided by Lyne Bessette (, who was reportedly lured out of retirement for this race with the promise of cooking lessons in the kitchen of promoter Myles Romanow's Wild Thyme restaurant. Sue Butler (, Natasha Elliott (EMD Serono/Stevens) and defending MAC Powered by SRAM champions Mo Bruno-Roy (MM Racing/Seven Cycles) were the early animators while Georgia Gould (Luna Chix) leapfrogged toward the front following a slow start. "I wasn't aggressive enough on the start," she would later say. Also lurking in the top third was Bessette, NACT points leader Amy Dombroski (Velo Bella - Kona), Dombroski's teammate and MAC stalwart Dee Dee Winfield and the current MAC Powered by SRAM points leader Laura Van Gilder. After reaching the front group, Gould attacked on the paved finish section and was able to separate herself from the group for the rest of the race. Bruno-Roy crashed, knocking her seat and handlebars sideways and allowing Bessette to move up to fourth.

Bessette continued her charge, and exceeded her goal of a top-ten finish with a strong second place. Afterward, she was smiling like a first-year racer. Freed of the pressure associated with racing as a professional, Bessette reveled in the joy of cyclocross and racing her bike purely for the enjoyment of it.

Meanwhile, Ryan Trebon reveled in the knowledge that he had clinched the prestigious NACT championship, and the trophy and bonus money that went with it. Georgia Gould looked a bit more cautious, as the women's NACT championship comes down to a nail-biting conclusion at the second day of the Whitmore's Landscaping Super Cross Cup on Sunday.

Elite Women
1 Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Chix0:37:17
2 Lyne Bessette (Can) Cyclocrossworld.com0:37:39
3 Natasha Elliot (Can) EMD Serono/Stevens0:37:45
4 Susan Butler (USA) MonavieCannondale.com0:37:52
5 Laura Van Gilder (USA) C3 Sollay0:38:00
6 Deidre Winfield (USA) Velo Bella - Kona0:38:33
7 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles0:38:53
8 Amy Dombroski (USA) Velo Bella - Kona0:39:26
9 Barbara Howe (USA) www.Barbrides.com0:39:50
10 Kathy Sherwin (USA) Velo Bella - Kona0:40:14
11 Sally Annis (USA) NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dental0:40:27
12 Rebecca Wellons (USA) Ridley Factory Team0:41:04
13 Sarah Kerlin (USA) HRS/ Rock Lobster0:41:26
14 Cris Rothfuss (USA) NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dental0:42:00
15 Anna Milkowski (USA) Velo Bella-Kona0:42:20
16 Kristin Gavin (USA) Human Zoom/Pabst Blue Ribbon0:42:25
17 Linnea Koons (USA) International Bicycle/Global0:43:01
18 Carolyn Popovic (USA) Team Cicle0:43:01
19 Heidi Von Teitenberg (USA) C3-Sollay.com0:43:01
20 Jennifer Maxwell (USA) Team Kenda Tire0:43:47
21 Callie Mcdowell (USA) Boston University / Scantily Plaid0:44:00
22 Nikki Thiemann (USA) Human Zoom Pabst Blue Ribbon0:45:00
23 Kristine Church (USA) Human Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbonat 1 lap
24 Marci Titus Hall (USA) Desalvo Custom Cyclesat 1 lap
25 Elizabeth Harlow (USA) C3-Sollay.comat 1 lap
Elite Men
1 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona/FSA1:00:36
2 Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld.com1:01:25
3 Todd Wells (USA) Team GT1:01:29
4 Andy Jacques-Maynes (USA) Specialized/Kmc Pb Cal Giant1:01:36
5 Troy Wells (USA) TIAA-Cref/Clif Bar1:02:40
6 Jesse Anthony (USA) Team Jamis1:02:50
7 Jamey Driscoll (USA) Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld.com1:04:09
8 Matt White (USA) / Joe's Garage1:04:27
9 Erik Tonkin (USA) Kona1:04:29
10 Derrick St. John (Can) Stevens Cyclocross1:05:02
11 Justin Spinelli (USA) RGM Watches - Richard Sachs - Boathouse Inc1:05:30
12 Brian Matter (USA) Gear Grinder1:05:46
13 Sean Babcock (USA) Team S&M1:05:50
14 Adam Myerson (USA) Cycle-Smart/Van-Dessel1:05:58
15 Nathaniel Ward (USA) / Joe's Garage1:06:04
16 Andrew Wulfkuhle (USA) C3-Sollay.com1:06:17
17 Matt Kraus (USA) RGM Watches - Richard Sachs - Boathouse Inc1:06:31
18 Nicholas Keough (USA) Sonic/ Louis Garneauat 1 lap
19 Ryan Iddings (USA) Lapierre Usaat 1 lap
20 Guillaume Nelessen (USA) Van Dessel Factory Teamat 1 lap
21 Zoltan Tisza (Hun) Pnivo-Betonexpressz 2000at 2 laps
22 Peter Bradshaw (USA) Embrocation/Igleheart/Cambridge/Mad Alchemyat 2 laps
23 Giancarlo Dalle Angelini (USA) Team Redlineat 2 laps
24 Christopher Consorto (USA) Henrys Bikesat 3 laps
25 Nicholas Shaffer (USA) Human Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbonat 3 laps
26 Patrick Bradley (USA) Rutgers University Cycling Teamat 3 laps
27 Rickey Visinski (USA) Exodus Road Racingat 4 laps
DNF Davide Frattini (Ita) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
DNF John Brewer (USA) Haymarket Bicycles p/b Function Drinks
DNF William Dugan (USA) RGM Watches - Richard Sachs - Boathouse Inc
DNF J.P. Partland (USA) Kissena Cycling Club


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.