Canadian Cyclist


November 27/08 10:10 am - UCI Registers 18 Teams for 2009 ProTour

Posted by Editoress on 11/27/08

UCI Registers 18 Teams for 2009 ProTour
Courtesy UCI

The UCI ProTour council (CUPT) has ruled on the applications for registration submitted by the UCI ProTeams and candidates for a ProTour licence.

Each year, teams are required to submit an application with full supporting documentation to the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI). This procedure, which is carried out on the UCI's behalf by Ernst & Young, allows the UCI to ensure that all these teams meet the requirements set under the regulations, and the legal and financial aspects in particular.

After an examination of the applications, the CUPT registered the following 18 teams:

• AG2R La Mondiale (FRA)
• Astana (KAZ)
• BBox Bouygues Telecom (FRA)
• Caisse d'Epargne (ESP)
• Cofidis, le crédit en ligne (FRA)
• Euskaltel-Euskadi (ESP)
• Française des Jeux (FRA)
• Garmin-Slipstream (USA)
• Katusha (RUS)
• Lampre-N.G.C. (ITA)
• Liquigas (ITA)
• Team Milram (GER)
• Quick Step (BEL)
• Rabobank (NED)
• Fuji-Servetto* (ESP)
• Saxo Bank - IT Factory (DEN)
• Silence-Lotto (BEL)
• Team Columbia (USA)

*Formerly Scott-American Beef

Sixteen of these teams already hold a UCI ProTour licence:

AG2R LA MONDIALE (FRA) / EUSRL France Cyclisme2006-2009
Team Milram (GER) / VeloCity GmbH2007-2009
Lampre-N.G.C. ITA) / Bici Club Azzurro SRL2008-2009
Cofidis, le crédit en ligne (FRA) / Cofidis compétition eusrl2009
Astana (KAZ) / Kazakh Cycling Federation 2007-2010
Caisse d'Epargne (ESP) Abarca Sports S.L2007-2010
Fuji-Servetto (ESP) / GM Bikes SA2007-2010
Team Columbia (USA) / High Road Sports, Inc2007-2010
Liquigas (ITA) / Liquigas Sport Spa2008-2010
Française des Jeux (FRA) / Société de Gestion l'Echappée2009-2010
Katusha (RUS) / Katusha Management SA2009-2011
Quick Step (BEL) / Esperanza Bvba2009-2011
Saxo Bank - IT Factory (DEN) / Riis Cycling A/S2009-2011
Silence-Lotto (BEL) / Omega Pharma2009-2011
Garmin-Slipstream (USA) / Slipstream Sports, LLC2009-2012
Rabobank (NED) / Rabo Wielerploegen2009-2012

The Licence Commission has yet to rule on the licence applications submitted by the teams BBox Bouygues Telecom (FRA) and Euskaltel-Euskadi (ESP). A hearing for this purpose will be organised shortly.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.