Canadian Cyclist


December 16/08 5:55 am - Canadian Cyclist of the Year Update

Posted by Editor on 12/16/08

Canadian Cyclist of the Year Update

After one day of voting, there are some patterns emerging in the voting for the 2008 Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards. The vote for the Top Female Rider couldn't be any closer, with Catharine Pendrel and Marie-Helene Premont tied! Every few minutes, one will inch ahead, but then the other will almost immediately catch up and take a slim lead. This one is going to go to the wire. Alex Wrubleski holds a slim lead over Tara Whitten for third in the standings.

In the voting for the Top Male Rider, Svein Tuft has taken a clear lead, with Ryder Hesjedal in second, but quite a way behind. Geoff Kabush and Dominique Rollin are close behind Hesjedal.

Tuft and Pendrel lead the voting for the Best Individual Performance. Tuft's stellar silver medal ride at the Road Worlds is ranked number one, followed by his 7th place at the Olympics. Pendrel holds third and fourth places, with her 4th at the Olympics and Bromont World Cup performances, respectively. However, Premont (Mont Ste Anne World Cup win), Hesjedal (Tour de France) and Michael Barry (9th at the Oympics) are all within striking distance.

It also needs to be pointed out that this is only the first 24 hours of voting, and we have seen riders and performances come from behind before. If you haven't voted yet, be sure to click on the Vote! button in the upper right corner of your browser to register your choices.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.