Canadian Cyclist


January 6/09 6:47 am - Team Columbia Announces Team for Tour of California: Barry and Wrubleski named to men's and women's roster

Posted by Editoress on 01/6/09

Team Columbia Sends World's Best to Tour of California
Courtesy Team Columbia

Team Columbia-Highroad, voted the world’s best men’s and women’s cycling teams in 2008, has announced their squad of riders for the 2009 edition of the Amgen Tour of California. Of the team’s 37 riders from 18 nations, this year’s Tour of California team will once again feature veteran rider George Hincapie, who won the final stage of Tour of California in 2008. Also look for former World Time Trial Champion Australian Michael Rogers, Tour de France yellow jersey wearer Kim Kirchen, Tour de France best young rider jersey wearer Thomas Lövkvist, Australian National Time Trial Champion Adam Hansen, Mark Renshaw, Canadian Michael Barry, and young, star sprinter Mark Cavendish, who had a breakout season including 18 wins in 2008.

“The Tour of California is rapidly becoming a top-three worldwide cycling event,” says team owner Bob Stapleton. “It showcases the world’s best cyclists and the innovation and beauty that is California. As the only California-based elite professional cycling team, we are delighted to bring such a strong team to this year’s Tour.”

Team Columbia-Highroad will also have a top line-up from its women’s team to compete in the Santa Rosa criterium on Sunday, February 15th. Featured is the winningest rider in pro cycling, sprinter Ina-Yoko Teutenberg. Teutenberg won 24 races in 2008 including four stages of the women’s Giro d’Italia, three stages of Route de France and the overall Triple Crown event in Philadelphia. Also racing will be former US champion Mara Abbott, current Canadian champion Alex Wrubleski, Swedish Champion Emilia Fahlin and renowned veteran US rider Kim Anderson.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.