Canadian Cyclist


January 27/09 0:00 am - Lip Smacker Pro Women's Cycling Team Announces 2009 Roster

Posted by Editor on 01/27/09

Lip Smacker Pro Women's Cycling Team Announces 2009 Roster

The Lip Smacker Professional Women's Cycling Team's Directeur Sportif, Melissa (Missy) Thompson is pleased to announce the 2009 team:

World Silver Medal winner in the time trial Anne Samplonius, (Canada) will lead the team of talented riders. 2008 US Collegiate Champion in four disciplines (road, cross, mountain, time trial) Carla Swart, (South Africa/Banner Elk, NC) will be joined by Toni Bradshaw (New Zealand/Boulder, CO), Amanda Miller (Ft.Collins, CO), Kate Ross (Boulder, CO), Anna Young (Madison, WI/Boulder,CO), Hillary Billington (Portland, OR), Kacey Manderfield (Davisburg, MI/Boulder,CO).

In building the 2009 team, Thompson sought to bring together a mix of experienced professionals and emerging talent. "I spent the last year directing the pro development squad America's Dairyland and as an elite coach and the experience gave me a sense of what type of riders we needed to build a winning team," said Thompson.

In 2008, Lip Smacker was pleased to partner with Rally Sports Promotions on the America's Dairyland team. Lip Smacker, the #1 favorite lip gloss among girls decided to increase its support in 2009 to become the team's title sponsor.

"The Lip Smacker brand and the Bonne Bell Company have a long history of supporting women's sports" states Buddy Bell, chief executive office of The Bonne Bell Company. "We are proud to sponsor the 2009 cycling team and are pleased to promote and be part of the world of women's bike racing."

The team will ride Specialized road and time trial bikes and compete in NRC events. Other sponsors include: Hed, Defeet, Midwest Airlines, Mt. Borah, Rooly Eyewear and Clif Bar. The team's first race will be at the Redlands Bicycle Classic in California on March 26th.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.