Canadian Cyclist


March 2/09 12:55 pm - 2009 UCI Registered Mountain Bike Teams

Posted by Editoress on 03/2/09

The UCI has released the 2009 list of mountain bike teams registered for the World Cup. For possibly the first time, there are no Canadian teams on the list, with Rocky Mountain becoming Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles, and registered in the U.S.

Courtesy UCI

Registration of the UCI Mountain Bike Teams for the 2009 season has been completed. The International Cycling Union (UCI) has registered 90 teams from three continents – America, Europe and Oceania and from 18 nations.

Ireland has registered a UCI Mountain Bike Team for the first time, and Australia makes a comeback this year with two new teams.

The number of UCI Mountain Bike Teams remains high in 2009 in comparison with previous years: thirty teams were registered in 2000 (the first year of UCI Mountain Bike Teams), 29 in 2004, 66 in 2007 and 96 in 2008.

The Olympic cross-country teams once again make up an important part of the overall number of UCI Mountain Bike teams: 57% compared with 36% for the downhill and 4X teams. The remaining 7% are mixed teams in which Olympic cross-country specialists rub shoulders with downhill-4X riders.

The number of teams from the United States (14), Italy (14), Germany (12), France (10), and Spain (8) confirms the increase, already perceived last year, in the number of registrations from these nations.

The full list of teams and their composition

Discovertasmania.Com (Aus)
Torq Performance Nutrition (Aus)
MS Evil Racing (Aut)
Lingier-Versluys Team (Bel)
Team Saeco (Bel)
Mammoth Racing Team (Cro)
Ceska Sporitelna MTB (Cze)
Merida Biking Team (Cze)
Scott & Hagget MTB Team (Cze)
Cemelorca-Trek-Lorca Taller Del Tiempo (Esp)
Conor - Camping La Siesta (Esp)
Motril-Sierra Nevada (Esp)
MSC Bikes (Esp)
Orbea (Esp)
Trek World Racing (Esp)
XMS-Devinci World Cup Team (Esp)
BH-Suntour (Fra)
Breiz Mountain (Fra)
Keops (Fra)
Lapierre International (Fra)
Lapierre Powered By Saab Salomon (Fra)
Morzine-Avoriaz 74 (Fra)
Subaru Mountain Bike Pro Team (Fra)
Team Scott Valloire Galibier (Fra)
Team Sport Bike (Fra)
Team Sunn (Fra)
2stagefactory (GBr)
Animal Commencal (GBr)
Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense (GBr)
Norco World Team (GBr)
Rocky Mountain UK (GBr)
Cannondale Factory Racing (Ger)
Central Ghost Pro Team (Ger)
DS-Rennsport (Ger)
Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team (Ger)
Multivan Merida Biking Team (Ger)
SKS M.I.G. Team (Ger)
Solid Aclass Factory Team (Ger)
SRM Stevens Team (Ger)
Team Bulls (Ger)
Team Marin Bikes (Ger)
Team Mayer Stevens (Ger)
Topeak Ergon Racing Team (Ger)
Just Reid Race Team (Irl)
Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team (Ita)
Argentina Bike Gravity Team (Ita)
Colnago Cap Arreghini (Ita)
Dytech DH (Ita)
Felt International MTB Team (Ita)
Giant Italia Team (Ita)
In Corpore Sano-Gravity Globe-Covre Team (Ita)
Infotre - Leecougan (Ita)
Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker (Ita)
Sunshine Racers Asv Nals (Ita)
Surfing Shop (Ita)
Team Cbe Tecnoimpianti A.S.D. (Ita)
Torpado-4us (Ita)
TX Active Bianchi (Ita)
De Brink-Ten Tusscher (Ned)
Trek-Brentjens Mountainbike Racing Team (Ned)
Team Etto Hoydahl (Nor)
Team Fokus-Danica (Nor)
Team Proteinfabrikken-KTM (Nor)
CCC Polkowice (Pol)
JBG-2 Professional MTB Team (Pol)
Format-Udmurtia (Rus)
Fumic.Brothers.International (Slo)
MBK Orbea (Slo)
Fischer-Bmc (Sui)
Scott 11 (Sui)
Scott-Swisspower Mtb-Racing (Sui)
Suspension Center (Sui)
Team Bikepark.Ch (Sui)
Team Vario Racing (Sui)
Isd Cycling Team (Ukr)
Duncan Riffle Racing (USA)
Giant Mountain Bike Team GMT (USA)
GT Bicycles (USA)
Kenda Morewood (USA)
Kona (USA)
Luna Pro Team (USA)
Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz (USA)
Santa Cruz Syndicate (USA)
Specialized Factory Racing (USA)
Specialized Team America (USA)
Subaru-Gary Fisher (USA)
Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles (USA)
X-Fusion-Intense (USA)
Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team (USA)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.