Canadian Cyclist


March 25/09 12:22 pm - 2009 Track World Championships: Women's IP report. photos and results

Posted by Editoress on 03/25/09


The 2009 Track World Championships opened this afternoon with the qualifying round of the Women's 3000m Individual Pursuit. Canada's Tara Whitten finished seventh with a time of 3:38.962, not good enough to make the medal round, but a strong improvement over last year's 16th place.

In the absence of defending world and Olympic champion Rebecca Romero of Great Britain, her team mate (and Olympic silver medalist) Wendy Houvenaghel was the favourite, and did not disappoint, qualifying first with a time of 3:29.491 . New Zealand's Alison Shanks, fourth at the Olympics, was second in qualifying at 3:31.063, and will meet Houvenaghel in the gold medal final tonight.

Vilija Sereikaite (Lithuania) qualified third and will race against fourth place qualifier Joanna Rowsell (Great Britain) for the bronze medal.

Whitten, who has won bronze and silver medals in World Cup competition in only her second season of international competition, wasn't completely satisfied with her ride.

"It was an average ride for me, not a great one, so I'm not ecstatic. In training I thought I would be a little bit faster today, but this is what I had in my legs. My goal was a new Canadian record [which Whitten currently holds at 3:36.998], and I was hoping to get below 3:36 here."

"Still, seventh in the world is a big improvement over last year, and I know that there are still a lot of areas to work on. Thanks to my coach Eric van den Eynde, I'm improving a lot."

1 Wendy Houvenaghel (GBr) 3:29.491
2 Alison Shanks (NZl) 3:31.063
3 Vilija Sereikaite (Ltu) 3:33.935
4 Joanna Rowsell (GBr) 3:35.028
5 Josephine Tomic (Aus) 3:37.780
6 Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) 3:38.373
7 Tara Whitten (Can) 3:38.962
8 Svitlana Galyuk (Ukr) 3:40.413
9 Leire Olaberria Dorronsoro (Esp) 3:41.176
10 Verena Joos (Ger) 3:42.611
11 Charlotte Becker (Ger) 3:42.821
12 Maria Luisa Calle Williams (Col) 3:42.930
13 Jolien D'hoore (Bel) 3:43.859
14 Lada Kozlikova (Cze) 3:43.880
15 Ausrine Trebaite (Ltu) 3:45.160
16 Dalila Rodriguez Hernandez (Cub) 3:45.956
17 Olga Slyusareva (Rus) 3:47.161
18 Tatsiana Sharakova (Blr) 3:47.636
19 Edyta Jasinska (Pol) 3:53.744
20 Gema Pascual Torrecilla (Esp) 3:56.365
21 Nontasin Chanpeng (Tha) 4:01.997


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.