Canadian Cyclist


April 7/09 17:31 pm - The Maha Chakri Sirindhon's Cup: Tour of Thailand: Stage 4, Erker takes lead

Posted by Editoress on 04/7/09

Jake Erker Moves into Yellow Jersey in ThailandErker in Yellow

In stage four from Loei to Phu Ruea, which featured the only climb in the Tour of Thailand, Zack Bell went up the road in a three-man break that eventually grew to seven. He picked up the intermediate sprint and a three second time bonus and the break reached the climb around 1 minute and 30 seconds ahead. This placed great pressure on the Seoul Cycling team with Bell already in the top ten on the GC.

"Our team has ridden great all week, but today was exceptional," says Jonas Carney, performance director, leading the Thailand KBS squad. "We wanted Zack to get up the road, put pressure on the Seoul team and hopefully join the climbers when they caught him. He did an amazing job of making that happen and set our team up."

An Australian rider attacked from the break, going on to win the stage while Bell was caught by the leaders from the field close to the top of the climb where he joined teammates Jake Erker, Neil Shirley and Bowman in the front group of 15 riders. The group worked together for the final 18 km before Shirley escaped alone to finish second on the stage.

"We work to make this kind of success happen," says Charles Aaron, Managing Director, Circuit Global Sport Management. "Ken, Jonas and all of the guys are doing what they do best and we're thrilled by both the results they're achieving as well as our ability to operate two international squads seamlessly at the same time."

The KBS Thailand team now move into first place on the Team GC by placing more riders in the lead group than any other team and go into the Tour's longest stage of 180 km.

Kelly Benefits Strategies press release

Stage 4: : Loei to Phu Ruea, 138.2km
1 Adam James Semple (Aus) Team Plan B Racing 3:33:22
2 Neil B. Shirley (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:52
3 Wong Kam Po (HKg) Mongolian China Team 1:11
4 Yoo Ki Hong (Kor) Seoul Cycling Team
5 Nateghi Hossein (Irn) Azad University Iran
6 Nick Aitken (Aus) City of Perth Cycling Team
7 Xu Gan (Chn) Max Success Sports
8 Zach Bell (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies
9 Jacob Erker (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies
10 Gong Hyo Suk (Kor) Seoul Cycling Team all s.t.
77 Chris Lintaman (Can) Team Fuji Asia 14:18
1 Jacob Erker (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies 16:04:47
2 Gong Hyo Suk (Kor) Seoul Cycling Team at s.t.
3 Andrew J. Bajadali (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:20
4 Zach Bell (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:40
5 Daniel R. Bowman (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:53
6 Sai-Udomsin Phuchong (Tha) Royal Thai Air Force 0:56
7 Mahawong Prajak (Tha) Thailand National Team
8 Hiratsuka Yoshimitsu (Jpn) Japan National Team both s.t.
9 Jonathan Lovelock (Aus) Team Plan B Racing 1:00
10 Timo Scholz (Ger) Ijsselstreek 1:12
79 Chris Lintaman (Can) Team Fuji Asia 25:26
Points GC
1 Seon Ho Park (Kor) Seoul Cycling Team 41 pts
2 Zach Bell (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies 40
3 Shin Dong Hyun (Kor) Sosfo 30
4 Uchima Kohei(Jpn) Japan National Team 26
5 Wong Kam Po (HKg) Mongolian China Team 24
6 Jacob Erker (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies 22



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.