Canadian Cyclist


April 9/09 21:11 pm - The Maha Chakri Sirindhon's Cup: Tour of Thailand: Stage 6 and Final GC

Posted by on 04/9/09

The Kelly Benefit Strategies team continued it's international dominance today, winning the Tour of Thailand in decisive fashion. For the sixth and final stage, a 76km circuit race in Udon Thani, Performance Director Jonas Carney employed the aggressive tactics that have been the team's staple throughout the grueling six day race. Carney sent the team out to the front early and controlled the action for much of the day. Andy Bajadali safely finished the race with the yellow jersey he won from teammate Jacob Erker just one day prior.

In addition to Bajadali's first place finish, Erker finished fourth overall, Zach Bell sixth and Dan Bowman seventh, giving the KBS team an impressive four of the top ten places in the general classification. The KBS team also won the team classification and finished second on points.

“We are happy with out success here in Thailand,” says Jonas Carney, Performance Director. “Winning the overall GC at a UCI stage race is a big accomplishment for our team, especially since we just started our season. I didn't expect that we'd be so strong so soon.”

Kelly Benefit Strategies press release


Stage 6: Udon Thani circuit, 76km
1 Nateghi Hossein (Irn) Azad University Iran 1:36:09
2 Seon Ho Park (Kor) Seoul Cycling Team
3 Kam Po Wong (HKg) Mongolian China Team
4 Ahmad Haidar Anuawar (Mas) Trek - Marco Polo
5 Ki Hong Yoo (Kor) Seoul Cycling Team
6 Nguyen Hung Mai (Vie) Vietnam National Team
7 Yoshinori Iino (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
8 Naran Khangarid (Mgl) Mongolian National Team
9 Natthapon Jeebthaworn (Tha) Thailand National Team
10 Rodger Shem (NZl) City of Perth Cycling Team
17 Jacob Erker (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies
18 Zach Bell (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies
71 Chris Lintaman (Can) Team Fuji Asia all s.t.
Final GC
1 Andrew J. Bajadali (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies 22:12:43
2 Phuchong Sai-Udomsin (Tha) Royal Thai Air Force at 0:28
3 Jonathan Lovelock (Aus) Team Plan B Racing 0:40
4 Jacob Erker (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies 1:22
5 Hyo Suk Gong (Kor) Seoul Cycling Team s.t.
6 Zach Bell (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies 2:02
7 Daniel R. Bowman (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies 2:15
8 Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Jpn) Japan National Team 2:18
9 Prajak Mahawong (Tha) Thailand National Team s.t.
10 Timo Scholz (Ger) Ijsselstreek 2:34
84 Chris Lintaman (Can) Team Fuji Asia 52:28


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.