Canadian Cyclist


April 19/09 20:34 pm - Tour of Malaysia: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 04/19/09

The Jelajah Malaysia's (JM) first stage witnessed Japanese rider, Makoto IIjima from Bridgestone Anchor proving his worth by winning the first stage from Kuala Selangor to Ipoh.

His victory in today's stage, a total distance of 176.8km meant that he repeated his achievement in the previous JM2007 of winning the first stage from Bentong to Kuantan.

"I managed to break away from the bunch as early as 110km. It was an advantage for me as today's stage comprise of flats and not so much of climbs," he mentioned today during the winners' press conference.

He who is a sprinter completed the stage in 3hours 59minutes and 55 seconds followed by Iranian rider Amir Zargari of Azad University Continental while local rider Ahmad Haidar Anuawar who rides for team Trek Marco Polo Cycling in second and third respectively.

Canada's Will Routley riding for the Jelly Belly Cycling Team, finished in 66th position, 34 seconds down on the winner

Stage 1: Kuala Selangor to Ipoh: 176.8km
1 Makoto Iijima (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor 3:59:55
2 Amir Zargari (Iri) Azad University Continental Team at s.t.
3 Ahmad Haidar Anuawar (Mas) Trek Marco Polo 0:34
4 Hossein Nateghi (Iri) Azad University Continental Team
5 Yusuke Hatanaka (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
6 Hidenori Nodera (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
7 Mohd.Akmal Amrun (Mas) Malaysia B
8 Masamichi Yamamoto (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
9 Parno (Ina) Indonesia
10 Mohd. Harrif Salleh (Mas) Terengganu Toshiba Bike Labz
11 KUEI HSIANG Peng (Tpe) Giant Asia Racing Team
12 Kel Reijnen (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
13 Anuar Manan (Mas) Azad University Continental Team
14 Rafai Chtioui (Tun) Doha Team
15 Mohd. Zamri Salleh (Mas) Malaysian Armed Forces
16 Joel Pearson (Aus) Savings & Loan Cycling Team
17 Suhardi Hassan (Mas) Malaysia A
18 Deon Locke (Aus) Ride Sport Racing
19 Farid Belhani (Alg) Doha Team
20 Matthew Rice (Aus) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
21 Aymen Ben Hassine (Tun) Doha Team
22 Muhamad Zamani Mustarudin (Mas) Malaysia B
23 Iwan Setiawan (Ina) Indonesia
24 Herwin Jaya (Ina) Polygon Sweetnice Team
25 Abdelmalek Madani (Alg) Doha Team
26 Yuzuru Suzuki (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
27 Mohd. Faris Abdul Razak (Mas) Malaysia A
28 Muhamad Firdaus Daud (Mas) Malaysia B
29 David Mccann (Irl) Ride Sport Racing
30 Rastra Patria (Ina) Indonesia
31 Mohd Najmee Wan Mohd (Mas) Malaysia A
32 Sarham Miswan (Mas) Malaysia B
33 Lars Pria (Rom) Tinelli Colossi Cycling Team
34 Masahiro Shinagawa (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team
35 Wei Yi Chang (Tpe) Giant Asia Racing Team
36 Nattaphon Jeebtahwora (Tha) Thailand
37 Mohd. Saiful Anuar Aziz (Mas) Terengganu Toshiba Bike Labz
38 Kris Koke (Aus) Ride Sport Racing
39 Phanupan Koolrungrueangkit (Tha) Thailand
40 Yen Lin Huang (Tpe) Giant Asia Racing Team
41 Mohd. Saufi Mat Senan (Mas) Terengganu Toshiba Bike Labz
42 Chun Te Chiang (Tpe) Giant Asia Racing Team
43 Scott Lyttle (NZl) Ride Sport Racing
44 Mohd. Razif Mohd. Salleh (Mas) Letua Cycling Team
45 Agung Ali Sahbana (Ina) Indonesia
46 Weng Kin Thum (Mas) Malaysia B
47 Mohd. Shafrul Afiza Fauzian (Mas) Malaysian Armed Forces
48 Sho Aikawa (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
49 Jimmy Pranata (Ina) Polygon Sweetnice Team
50 Muhamad Rauf Misbah (Mas) Malaysia A
51 Jai Crawford (Aus) Savings & Loan Cycling Team
52 Andrey Mizurov (Kaz) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
53 Krasnikov Roman (Rus) Polygon Sweetnice Team
54 Ezzedine Lagab (Alg) Doha Team
55 Jatupoom Lekawat (Tha) Thailand
56 Ericson Obosa (Phi) Team Jazysports Beacon Philippines
57 Heksa Priya Prasetya (Ina) Indonesia
58 James Spragg (GBr) Trek Marco Polo
59 Brad Hall (Aus) Tinelli Colossi Cycling Team
60 Hamid Shiriseysan (Iri) Azad University Continental Team
61 Hossein Askari (Iri) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
62 Hari Fitrianto (Ina) Polygon Sweetnice Team
63 Edi Purnomo (Ina) Indonesia
64 Mohd. Shahrul Mat Amin (Mas) Terengganu Toshiba Bike Labz
65 Okart Bualoi (Tha) Thailand
66 Will Routley (Can) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
67 Hossein Jahanbanian (Iri) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
68 Samai (Ina) Letua Cycling Team
69 Mohd. Nur Umardi Rosli (Mas) Terengganu Toshiba Bike Labz
70 Sergey Kudentsov (Rus) Polygon Sweetnice Team
71 Yandong Xing (Chn) Trek Marco Polo
72 Steven Robb (Aus) Savings & Loan Cycling Team
73 Ryan Ariehan (Ina) Letua Cycling Team
74 Prajak Mahawong (Tha) Thailand
75 Abbas Saeiditanha (Iri) Azad University Continental Team
76 Eugen Wacker (Kgz) Azad University Continental Team
77 Mehdi Sohrabi (Iri) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
78 Mohd. Fadhli Anwar Fauzi (Mas) Malaysian Armed Forces
79 Timothy Roe (Aus) Savings & Loan Cycling Team
80 Mohd. Jasmin Roslan (Mas) Terengganu Toshiba Bike Labz
81 Takeaki Ayabe (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team
82 Emelito Atilano (Phi) Team Jazysports Beacon Philippines
83 Tomoya Kano (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
84 Muhamad Hazwan Azeman (Mas) Malaysian Armed Forces
85 Yoshinori Iino (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
86 Ahmad Fallanie Ali (Mas) Malaysia A
87 Masaru Fukuhara (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
88 Mohd. Nor Rizuan Zainal (Mas) Malaysian Armed Forces
89 William Dickeson (Aus) Savings & Loan Cycling Team
90 Bernard Van Ulden (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
91 Ghader Mizbani (Iri) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
92 Ji Wen Low (Sin) Letua Cycling Team
93 Mirsamad Poorseiedi (Iri) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
94 David Pell (Aus) Savings & Loan Cycling Team
95 Tonton Susanto (Ina) Letua Cycling Team
96 Nathan Dahlberg (NZl) Tinelli Colossi Cycling Team
97 Yong Li Ng (Mas) Letua Cycling Team
98 Reiner Clauna (Phi) Team Jazysports Beacon Philippines
99 Michael Naylor (NZl) Tinelli Colossi Cycling Team
100 Yusrizal Usoff (Mas) Malaysia B
101 David Ayre (NZl) Tinelli Colossi Cycling Team
102 Sherwin Carrera (Phi) Team Jazysports Beacon Philippines
103 Renato Sambrano (Phi) Team Jazysports Beacon Philippines
104 Yoshiaki Shimada (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
105 Eric Van De Meent (Ned) Trek Marco Polo
106 James Langedyk (Aus) Tinelli Colossi Cycling Team
107 Takumi Beppu (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team
108 Muhammad Fauzan Ahmad Lutfi (Mas) Malaysia A
109 Genta Nakamura (Jpn) Trek Marco Polo
110 Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team
111 Sea Keong Loh (Mas) Trek Marco Polo all s.t.
112 Kenichi Suzuki (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team 0:53
113 Shinpei Fukuda (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor 0:57
114 Kazuhiro Mori (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team 5:18
115 Fadi Shekhoni (Syr) Doha Team 21:44
116 Trent Stevenson (Aus) Ride Sport Racing 21:46
117 Charles Huff (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
118 Irish Valenzuela (Phi) Team Jazysports Beacon Philippines
119 Shaun Mccarthy (Aus) Ride Sport Racing
120 Takayuki Abe (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
121 Matthew Crane (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
122 Amirul Aswandi Imran (Mas) Malaysian Armed Forces all s.t.



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.