Canadian Cyclist


May 2/09 20:47 pm - Houffalize World Cup: 4X report, full results and photos

Posted by Editoress on 05/2/09



After a three week hiatus, the 4-Cross World Cup resumed in Houffalize, Belgium.  The 4-Cross is a new event for a World Cup venue that has a history of providing exciting racing, and Houffalize did not disappoint, with numerous lead changes and crashes.  Jared Graves (Yeti Fox Shox) took his second consecutive win to cement his overall lead, while American Jill Kintner (Red Bull-Intense) came back from a disappointing first round to decisively put herself back into the fight for the women's World Cup.  Anneke Beerten (Suspension Center) held onto the women's overall lead after finishing third.

The wide open turns meant that the term 'hole shot' meant less than usual.  Both Graves and Kintner commented on the fact, with Graves pointing out "you could see by the number of crashes that guys were taking chances.  There was no one line, which made it very hard to protect a lead, and a fast start wasn't that meaningful."

One rider that was impacted by the crashes was men's world champion Rafael Alvarez de Lara Lucas (Specialized), who was run into from behind coming out of the first corner by someone trying to cut the corner.  His day was over after a pretzeled front wheel in the crash.

Despite the mayhem, Graves and Kintner were clearly the class of their respective fields.  Graves was unbeaten through all the rounds, constantly jumping away out of the gate and then holding off late attempts to catch him.  By the time the men reached the third round (quarter finals), Graves also had a shadow - Dan Atherton (Animal Commencal), who finished second to Graves in the quarterfinals, semifinals and the medal final.  Roger Rinderknecht (GT) and Joost Wichman (RSP) rounded out the final four.

Kintner's run to the final wasn't quite as smooth.  After winning her first two heats, Jana Horakova (Czech Republic) managed to get by her in the semifinal, and Kintner had to battle for that second spot to make the medal round.

In the medal race, it was Kintner, Beerten, Horakova and Romana Labounkova (Czech Republic).  Kintner jumped into the lead followed by Beerten.  But the World Cup leader miscalculated the first corner and had to brake, allowing Horakova to slip into the second position.

"I came on the inside of Jill, thinking that she would go higher through the corner, but she went in a straight line and I had nowhere to go," explained Beerten.  "But it was great racing, and I kept my jersey."

For Kintner, it was a sign that she was truly back in the mix of 4-cross, after taking last season off to prepare for the BMX event at the Olympics (where she won the bronze medal).  After a disappointing race in South Africa, where she finished fifth, the win in Houffalize was a big confidence booster.

"It felt good to get the monkey off my back."

Big Final
1 Jill Kintner (USA)
2 Jana Horakova (Cze)
3 Anneke Beerten (Ned) Suspension Center
4 Romana Labounkova (Cze)
Small Final
5 Melissa Buhl (USA)
6 Anita Molcik (Aut)
7 Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center
8 Lucia Oetjen (Sui)
1/4 Finals
9 Diana Marggraff (Ecu)
10 Joanna Petterson (RSA)
11 Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team
12 Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Aut)
13 Mio Suemasa (Jpn)
14 Katarina Tothova (Cze)
15 Steffi Marth (Ger)
16 Rachel Seydoux (Sui)
1/8 Finals
17 Sarsha Huntington (Aus)
18 Angelika Hohenwarter (Aut)
19 Marielle Jonker (Ned)
20 Eva Castro Fernandez (Esp)
21 Tereza Votavova (Cze)
22 Elfriede Lehmann (Ger)
23 Stephanie Teltscher (Ger)
24 Neza Knez (Slo)
1 Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team
2 Dan Atherton (GBr) Animal Commencal
3 Roger Rinderknecht (Sui) Gt Bicycles
4 Joost Wichman (Ned)
5 Romain Saladini (Fra) Team Sunn
6 Mickael Deldycke (Fra)
7 Gee Atherton (GBr) Animal Commencal
8 Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze)
9 Johannes Fischbach (Ger) Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team
10 Quentin Derbier (Fra)
11 Joey Van Veghel (Ned)
12 Lukas Mechura (Cze) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense
13 Michal Prokop (Cze) Author
14 Jurg Meijer (Ned)
15 Matej Vitko (Svk)
16 Adam Stasek (Cze) Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team
17 Dominik Gspan (Sui)
18 Lewis Lacey (GBr) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense
19 Matthieu Faury (Fra)
20 Florian Gottschlich (Ger)
21 Tom Dowie (GBr)
22 Daniel Prijkel (Ned)
23 Adrian Kiener (Sui)
24 Ludovic Gadois (Fra) Team Vario Racing
25 David Graf (Sui)
26 Bernard Kerr (GBr)
27 William Evans (GBr)
28 Jakub Riha (Cze)
29 Will Longden (GBr)
30 Stefan Scherz (Ger)
31 Dominik Gladen (Ger)
32 Oliver Fuhrmann (Ger)
33 Cédric Gracia (Fra)
34 Filip Polc (Svk) Ms Evil Racing
35 Duncan Ferris (GBr)
36 Thomas Schäfer (Ger) Solid Aclass Factory Team
37 Radim Kvacek (Cze)
38 Lukas Jaeger (Sui)
39 Sidney Gerber (Sui)
40 Kevin Locquet (Fra)
41 Marek Pesko (Svk)
42 Reto Schmid (Sui)
43 Scott Roberts (GBr)
44 Petr Muhlhans (Cze)
45 Jan Ersek (Svk)
46 Jan Novak (Cze)
47 Laurent Georges (Bel)
48 Werner Muther (Sui)
49 Guido Tschugg (Ger) Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team
50 Scott Beaumont (GBr) Rocky Mountain Uk
51 Johnny Magis (Bel)
52 Nico Seidel (Ger) Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team
53 Aiko Göhler (Ger)
54 Pascal Seydoux (Sui)
55 David Axelsson (Swe)
56 Jeremy Morland (Fra)
57 Martin Frei (Sui)
58 Kristof Lenssens (Bel)
59 Randal Huntington (Aus)
60 Patrick Campbell-Jenner (GBr)
61 Ziga Knez (Slo)
62 Jordan Gould (GBr)
63 Jens Völker (Ger)
64 Rafael Alvarez De Lara Lucas (Esp Specialized Factory Racing


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.