Canadian Cyclist


May 7/09 10:19 am - David Veilleux Returns to KBS Stage Race Team for Joe Martin

Posted by Editoress on 05/7/09

KBS Roster Announced for Joe Martin Stage Race

David "Le Carcajou" Veilleux, injured earlier this season, returns to the Kelly Benefit Strategies stage race squad for the first time this week to race the Joe Martin Stage Race in Fayetteville, Arkansas. The race is said to be the first real test of Veilleux's form since breaking his collarbone during training in San Antonio, TX at the start of the year.

"We're excited to have Le Carcajou back," says Jonas Carney, performance director. "He has a few races under his belt but Joe Martin is the first race that will be perfect to test his form. It's also the final part of our preparation looking toward the most important races of the season for our team: Wilmington, the Kelly Cup, CSC, Air Force, Philly, Nations Cup and the Tour de Beauce."

A premier event on the NRC calendar, the Joe Martin stage race first started in 1978. The four-stage event includes time trial, two road races of 110 and 92 miles plus a challenging criterium. The Kelly Benefit Strategies roster includes Reid Mumford, fresh from wearing the yellow jersey at the Vuelta Ciclista del Uruguay, Dan Bowman, Neil Shirley, Jake Erker, Cheyne Hoage, David Veilleux, and Clay Murfet. The roster also features amateur guest rider Matthew Busche.

"We are fielding a very young squad with Veilleux, Hoag, Murfet, and Busche, " adds Carney, "but these are some of the most talented young riders in North America. I expect to us to continue to race aggressively and race to win."

Kelly Benefit Strategies Joe Martin Stage Race Roster:

Reid Mumford
Dan Bowman
Neil Shirley
Jake Erker
David Veilleux
Clay Murfet
Cheyne Hoag
Matthew Busche (guest rider)

David Veilleux returns after a stellar 2008 season that included wins at the Kelly Cup, the Tour of Pennsylvania, and the Tour of Elk Grove. He is the current U23 Canadian National Time Trial Champion.


Kelly Benefit Strategies press release


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.