Canadian Cyclist


October 31/09 10:47 am - MSA Voted Best 4-Cross of 2009

Posted by Editor on 10/31/09

Every year, at the conclusion of the Mountain Bike World Cup season, the riders, teams, journalists (including CC), UCI sponsors and the UCI staff vote on the top events of the year.

For 2009, the winners are Offenburg (Germany) for cross-country, La Bresse (France) for downhill and Mont-Sainte-Anne (Canada) for four-cross. With one trophy and two third places, Mont-Sainte-Anne is the big winner of these elections. A good sign for next year's World Championships!

Olympic Cross-Country: Offenburg Once Again
For the second year in a row, Offenburg was unanimously voted best XCO event. The young but smoothly run event is appreciated for its organisation, spectacular course and its large and enthusiastic crowd. Results for the second and third place are also the same as last year with Houffalize (Belgium) being voted second and Mont-Sainte-Anne (Canada) third.

Downhill: La Bresse Ousts Fort William
Featuring on the World Cup calendar for the first time this year, the little French town of Bresse takes first place in front of Fort William (Great Britain), a seasoned winner of the downhill trophy. The short and original track in Bresse, as well as the huge crowd that cheered the riders all week long came as a big surprise to the mountain bike community. Fort William has to make do with second place in front of Mont-Sainte-Anne (Canada).

Four-cross: Mont-Sainte-Anne Rewarded for New Track
What a change. After years near the bottom of the four-cross votes, Mont-Sainte-Anne suddenly jumps into first place! With the 2010 UCI Mountain Bike & Trials World Championships in mind, the Gestev organization decided to create a complete new track. Their investment and effort was directly rewarded with the winning trophy. With another new track and a night-time event, Schladming (Austria) was voted second and Fort William third.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.