Canadian Cyclist


November 1/09 17:52 pm - Velo NB cyclocross

Posted by Editoress on 11/1/09

Velo NB cyclocross, Nov 1st in Dieppe New Brunswick

32 cyclists came out to race in Dieppe this chilly Nov 1st. Course designer Luc Arseneau of the Atlantic Cycling Centre gave them a couse sure to burn off any Halloween candies they may have eaten the night before. With a nasty run up section that forced all the riders to dismount and carry their bikes up the steep hill, no one finished the day complaining the race was too easy or too short.

Riverview's Stuart Wight took an early lead which he held to the end taking 1st in the A category but he was challenged all day by Jean Richard Cormier and Jeff Currie who finished the day in 2nd and 3rd. The lone out of province rider, Ryan MacDonald fell hard part way through the race but toughed it out for 4th in the A category.

In the B cateogry local rider Craig Harper took the win over Mark Mosher (2nd) with 15 year old Neil Symington coming 3rd and Rene Julien 4th

The C race saw another young rider, Julien Roussel take top spot followed by Phil Roach (2nd) and Philippe Theriault (3rd). 4th place in the C race went to a very yound lad, 8 year old Anthony Arseneau, son of the race organizer and riding in his first big race.

The next race in the Velo NB cyclo cross series takes place next Sunday in Fredericton. Details available on the Velo NB website,

Courtesy Sheila Colbourne, Velo NB, Executive Director

Cat A
1 Stuart Wight (Hot Tubes) 54:14
2 Jean Richard Cormier (Mike's Bike Shop) 55:28
3 Jeff Currie (Mike's Bike Shop) 55:42
4 Ryan MacDonald (Louis Garneau) 57:05
5 Mike LeBlanc (Mike's Bike Shop) 57:25
6 Ian MacAvity (Bikes and Beans) 57:54
7 Patrice Boudreau (Mike's Bike Shop) 58:20
8 Shaughn Smith (Bike Works) 58:32
9 Rheal Jaillet (Fitworks) 59:02
10 Charles Cormier (Mike's Bike Shop) 61:11
11 Adam Douthwright (Radical Edge) 62:15
Cat B
1 Craig Harper (Independent) 59:07
2 Mark Mosher (Independent) 62:03
3 Neil Symington (Independent) 54:23
4 Rene Julien (Mike's Bike Shop) 54:47
5 Andrew Aresenault (Independent) 55:06
6 Marc Evers (Independent) 55:45
7 Joshuwa Lamkey (Fitworks) 56:40
8 Marc Andre DesLaurier (Independent) 56:49
9 Jean Leger (Independent) 57:36
10 Steve Morris (Bikes and Beans) 57:55
11 Jean Jacques Fergusen (Independent) 59:43
12 Steve Martin (Independent) 60:26
13 Kelly Murray (Radical Edge) 61:14
14 Michelle Chase (Mike's Bike Shop) 54:37
15 Thomas Emerson (Independent) 60:50
DNF Jon Spinney (Sea Level Cycling)
Cat C
1 Julien Roussel (Fitworks) 61:54
2 Phil Roach (Independent) 56:25
3 Philippe Theriault (Independent) 58:51
4 Anthony Arseneau (Atlantic Cycling Centre) 54:48
5 Adrien Levesque (Juventis) 55:44


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.