Canadian Cyclist


November 1/09 18:20 pm - NACT Blue Sky Velo Cup

Posted by Editoress on 11/1/09

Blue Sky Velo Cup: "Haunted Cross", October 31st at Xilinx Campus, Longmont Colorado

Katie Compton (Planet Bike) and Tim Johnson, Jeremy Powers and Jamey Driscoll ( pulled out no tricks but took the top treats at the Blue Sky Velo Cup in Longmont, Colorado Saturday.


After snow blanked the state, the sun made a late season cameo appearance. `Cross fans were treated to mud and a display of some of the best racers in the world. Compton demonstrated why she is leading the UCI circuit now, and the elite women’s race quickly became a contest for second as Compton turned the race into a dirt time trial. The Luna Chix duo of Georgia Gould and Alison Dunlap swept up second and third. Meredith Miller (California Giant Berries) put her road skills to the test for fourth. Mountain biker Kelli Emmett (Giant) rounded out the top five.


As Johnson and Powers began to build a lead in the elite men’s race, the two were also jockeying for who will take over the NACT leader’s jersey after the Boulder race Sunday. Johnson dropped his teammate, but with Powers holding on for second and teammate Jamey Driscoll in third, Sunday’s race will decide who pulls on the red jersey Sunday afternoon. Adam Craig (Giant), always entertaining, put in a good show to take fourth while Troy Wells (Clif Bar) was fifth.


Press release


Elite Men
1 Tim Johnson (Cannondale/ 7:02
2 Jeremy Powers (Cannondale/ 7:54
3 James Driscoll (Cannondale/ 7:54
4 Adam Craig (Giant MTB Team) 8:15
5 Troy Wells (ClifBar) 9:47
6 Jesse Anthony (Jamis Bikes) 9:49
7 Danny Summerhill (VMG/FELT) 10:11
8 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru/Gary Fisher) 10:46
9 Zach Mc Donald (Stevens/Classic Cycl) 11:29
10 Brandon Dwight (Boulder Cycle Sport) 11:36
11 Joachim Parbo (Ind) 12:02
12 Aaron Schooler (Team H&R Block-Kona) 12:03
13 Pete Webber (Boulder Cycle Sport) 12:10
14 Jake Wells ( 12:30
15 matt Pacocha (Hudz-Subaru) 13:01
16 Carl Decker (Giant MTB Team) 13:51
17 Ryan Iddings (Lapierre USA) 14:14
18 Erik Tonkin (Kona/FSA) 14:32
19 Brady Kappius (Team Clif Bar) 15:39
20 Spencer Paxson (Team S&M Young Guns) at 1 Lap
21 Allen Krughoff (Team Rio Grande) at 1 Lap
22 Adam Snyder (Team Jamis) at 2 Laps
23 mitchell Hoke (Cliff Bar Development) at 2 Laps
24 Brad White (Hudz-Subaru) at 2 Laps
25 Tim Allen (Sports Garage) at 2 Laps
26 Joshua Berry (Smith Optics) at 3 Laps
27 Brad Cole (Hudz/Subaru) at 3 Laps
28 Andrew Barker (CLIF Bar Development) at 4 Laps
29 Jeremy Ferguson (California Giant/Spe) at 4 Laps
30 Aaron Bouplon (Rocky Mounts / Izze) at 4 Laps
31 Martin Guess (Rocky Mountain Bicycles) at 4 Laps
32 Conor Mullervy (CLIF BAR development) at 4 Laps
33 Troy Heithecker (Ind) at 4 Laps
34 Chris Hurst (Team Wheel and Sprocket) at 5 Laps
35 Chad Melis (Oskar Blues Brewery) at 5 Laps
36 Colin Cares (Clif Bar Development) at 5 Laps
37 Chuck Coyle (Subaru/Vista Auto Gr) at 5 Laps
38 Bryan Mickiewicz (MAFIA/HAMMER NUTRITION) at 5 Laps
39 Russell Finsterwald (Team ClifBar) at 5 Laps
40 Mike Friedberg (mafia) at 5 Laps
41 Brent Steinberg (Wolverine Sports Club) at 5 Laps
42 Jan Koles (Mafia Racing) at 5 Laps
43 john Salskov (Bicycle Haus Racing) at 5 Laps
44 Daniel Matheny (Mafia/Westside) at 5 Laps
45 Katriel Statman (Pioneer Racing) at 5 Laps
46 russell Stevenson (First Rate Mortgage) at 5 Laps
47 Andrew Llewellyn (Texas Roadhouse) at 6 Laps
48 Joe Taddeucci (Natural Grocers pb X) at 6 Laps
49 Geoffrey Nenninger (Unattached) at 6 Laps
50 Darian Founds (Ind) at 6 Laps
51 Logan Vonbokel (KCCX/ Verge) at 6 Laps
52 Wells Chad (Hudz-Subaru Cyclocrs) at 7 Laps
53 Derek Loudermilk (Horizon Organic) at 7 Laps
54 Robert Sonora (Durango Wheel Club) at 7 Laps
55 Lane Miller (Louisville Cyclery) at 7 Laps
DNS Ryan Trebon (Kona USA)
DNS Geoff Kabush (Maxxis/Rocky Mountain)
DNS Andy Jacques-Maynes (Bissell Pro Cycling)
DNS Jason Siegle (Bike Religion)
DNS John Curry (GAS/Intrinsik)
DNS Matt Shriver (Rocky Mountain Chocoolate Factory)
DNS Grant Berry (Rocky Mtn Choc Factory)
DNF Christopher Jones (Team Champion System)
DNF Davide Frattini (Team Fuji)
DNF Craig Richey (Blue Competition Cycles)
DNF Spencer Powlison (Mafia Racing)
DNF Taylor Carrington (Team Lanterne Rouge)
DNF Cody Cox (Clif Bar Development)
DNF joseph Schmalz (KCCX/Verge)
DNF Shawn Harshman (Konig Racing)
DNF Kevin Mullervy (CLIF BAR Development)
DNF Jesse Giordano (Nob Hill Velo)
DNF Jonathan Baker (Hudz-Subaru Cyclocross)
Elite Women
1 Katherine Compton (Planet Bike) 37:00
2 Georgia Gould (Luna Chix) 39:07
3 Alison Dunlap (Luna Chix) 40:29
4 Meredith Miller (Cal Giant Strawberry) 41:03
5 Kelli Emmett (Giant Bicycles) 41:36
6 Amy Dombroski (Webcor Builders) 42:08
7 Heather Irmiger (Subaru/Gary Fisher) 42:19
8 Barbara Howe (Vanderkitten) 42:54
9 Alison Powers (Team Fuji) 43:12
10 Lisa Matlock Strong (Natural Grocers) at 1Lap
11 Lynn Bush (Tough Girl / SCOTT) at 1Lap
12 Sarah Maile (Ventana Mountain Bike) at 1Lap
13 Kori Seehafer (Team Type 1) at 1Lap
14 Kristal Boni (Blue Sky Velo) at 1Lap
15 Lora Heckman (Peloton Cycles - Spe) at 1Lap
16 kathleen Hannon (Freewheel/Hunter Cycross) at 1Lap
17 Cristina Begy (Gates/Spot /Dales) at 1Lap
18 Lauren Costantini (Blue Sky Velo) at 1Lap
19 Melanie Long (Mafia Racing) at 2Laps
20 Lauren Hall (Hudz-Subaru) at 2Laps
21 Susan Prieto (Blue Sky Velo) at 2Laps
22 Ilianna Miller (Mafia Racing) at 2Laps
23 Catherine Johnson (Rocky Mounts/ Izze) at 2Laps
24 Rebecca Much (Webcor Builders) at 2Laps
DNS Lisa Curry (GAS/Intrinsik)
DNS Kate Scheider (Mafia Racing)
DNS Kathy Sherwin (Velo Bella - Ellsworth)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.