Canadian Cyclist


November 14/09 18:22 pm - USGP Mercer Cup Day One report, PHOTOS and full results

Posted by Editoress on 11/14/09

The Mercer Cup has become known for one element: mud. And the mud favored the strong as both Ryan Trebon (Kona) and Katerina Nash (Luna) in powerful solo rides to victory.


Photos by Jon Safka (




As important as power, however, was experience in this venue, where several days of rain spawned the formation of a grassy, mud that forced mechanics to work as hard as racers. Single miscues sent riders such as Chris Jones (Champion Systems) over the handlebars and mechanical issues crushed the hopes of Geoff Kabush (Maxxis/Rocky Mountain).

But the mud favors the favorites. After Kabush lit up a savage artillery barrage at the start, Trebon squished his way through turns to draw up to the wheel of the Canadian national champion. A proven mudder, Tim Johsnon (Cannondale/ plowed his way up to Trebon's wheel. Jones, Nicholas Weighall (California Giant/Specialized) and Davide Frattini (Fuji) were equally brilliant in their first laps, which were timed at nine minutes apiece.

The USGP Series leader Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale/ again had to recover from a poor start, sliding out of the top 20 after the first lap.

On the third lap, Trebon finally drew even to Kabush and surged into the lead. Johnson followed creating a duel between himself, the ultimate "nail" and Trebon, the ultimate "hammer" of the sport.

Johson and Trebon went wheel for wheel for two laps before Trebon pushed clear to a solo victory ride. Johnson would ride to second. But the contest for bronze proved entertaining. Kabush dueled with Jones until the Canadian suffered a mechanical and had to run half a lap. Jones seemed to own the third spot until he, in the constant surge for a clean line, hooked his brakes on a stake and crashed heavily. As he fumbled with his drivetrain he saw a surging Driscoll, steadily advancing, roar into the third position with under two laps to go. 

Trebon rode to victory, followed by Johnson. Driscoll thundered in for third, an effort that would grant him honors as SRAM's Most Aggressive Rider.   He would be followed by Jones in fourth and Frattini in fifth.

Again the Under-23 division saw heated action with three young riders hitting the Top-10.  Danny Summerhill (Garmin) pounded to a sixth place ride and top honors in the "Espoir" class. Behind him came 19-year-old Swiss rider Valentin Scherz (Scott) in eighth and Zach McDonalds (Stevens) in ninth overall, to round out the Under-23 podium.

As a result of his finish, Trebon took the overall series lead. David Hackworth (Stevens) held on to the Under-23 jersey.

The women's race saw the continued improvement of Nash, who expects to finish on the podium at the World Championships in her native Czech Republic. She proved herself world class again in this race. After Canadian National Champion Alison Sydor's strong start, Nash strangled this race and rode to a stunning solo win. In second, however, nothing seemed certain.  After a weak start, Georgia Gould (Luna) pushed into second. Behind her was a scrum that included Amy Dombroski (Schlamm), Alison Dunlap (Luna), Maureen Bruno Roy (M&M/Seven) and Kelli Emmett (Giant). But the surge came from way back as Meredith Miller (California Giant/Specialized) came from 20 spots back and pounded up the wheel of Gould. After catching and passing Gould, however, Miller bobbled and lost the spot. Gould would finish second; Miller third. But Miller would receive Most Aggressive Rider honors for her efforts.  Natasha Elliott (Garneau Club Chausseurs) experienced severe chain suck on lap 2 and dropped out.



1 Ryan Trebon (KONA)
2 Timothy Johnson (Cannondale/
3 Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale /
4 Christopher Jones (Team Champion System)
5 Davide Frattini (Team Fuji)
6 Daniel Summerhill (Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin)
7 Barry Wicks (Kona)
9 Zach McDonald (Classic Cycles)
10 Todd Wells (Specialized)
11 Geoff Kabush (Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain)
12 Adam Craig (Giant Mountain Bike Team)
13 Troy Wells (Team Clif Bar)
14 Gavin Mannion (Hot Tubes Junior Development Team)
15 Adam Myerson (Cycle-Smart)
16 Derrick St John (Garneau-Club Chaussures-Ogilvy)
17 Carl Decker (Giant)
18 Brian Matter (Team Geargrinder)
19 Mark LaLonde (Planet Bike)
20 Nicholas Weighall (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized)
21 Adam McGrath (Thule/Van Dessel)
22 Braden Kappius (Clif Bar)
23 Justin Lindine ( / Joe's Garage / IF)
24 Travis Livermon (Cannondale)
25 Steve Fisher (Rad Racing NW)
26 Justin Robinson (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized)
27 Emmanuel Goguen (CL Noonan/Coast to Coast/KAM)
29 Guillaume Nelessen (Van Dessel Factory Team)
30 Kirt Fitzpatrick (S. Camel)
31 Ryan Hopping (United Cycle)
32 Joshua Berry (Team BODE)
33 Mark Batty (Planet Energy)
34 Nathan Bannerman (Hagens Berman Cycling)
35 Kevin Noiles (La Bicicletta Pro Shop)
36 Dave Hackworthy (Team Plan C)
37 Joseph Schmalz (KCCX/Verge)
38 Chance Noble (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized)
39 Jared Stafford (Bikesports Racing)
40 Andrew Wulfkuhle (
41 Joseph Dombrowski (Haymarket Bicycles/Home Visit)
42 Michael Garrigan (La Bicicletta / J. Lindeberg)
43 Ethan Gilmour (US National Development Team)
44 Jesse Anthony (Team Jamis Bikes)
45 William Elliston (Van Dessel Factory Team)
46 Gavriel Epstein (Champion System Racing)
47 Lisban Quintero (TEAM FOUNDATION)
48 John Burns (
49 Nathanael Wyatt (Carolina Fatz/ Santa Cruz/Industry Nine)
50 Peter Bradshaw (Embrocation Cycling Journal)
51 Michael Jenks (Highland Park Hermes)
52 Daniel Langlois
53 David Wilcox (Geekhouse Bikes / Boston Rock Gym)
54 Andrew Reardon (Starbrite Carwash / MOAB)
55 Logan VonBokel (Mesa Cycles Racing Team)
56 J Partland (Kissena Cycling Club)
57 John Crow (Inland Construction)
58 Christopher Consorto (Secret Henry's Team)
59 Carl Hesselein (Whole Athlete)
60 Pavel Gonda (CRCA / Pacifico Team)
61 Kat Statman (Pioneer Racing)
62 Macky Franklin (Pioneer Racing)

DNF Tyler Trace (Trek Red Truck)


1 Katerina Nash (Luna Pro Team)
2 Georgia Gould (LUNA Pro Team)
3 Meredith Miller (California Giant/Specialized)
4 Alison Dunlap (LUNA Pro Team)
5 Maureen Bruno Roy (MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles)
6 Kelli Emmett (Giant Bicycles)
7 Amy Dombroski (Richard Sachs-RGM Watches-Radix)
8 Deidre Winfield (C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes)
9 Susan Butler (
10 Alison Sydor (Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain)
11 Laura Van Gilder (C3 Sollay)
12 Linda Sone (Planet Bike)
13 Kari Studley (Velo Bella)
14 Kaitlin Antonneau (Planet Bike)
15 Amanda Carey (Kenda/
16 Andrea Smith (Minuteman Road Club)
17 Kristin Gavin (Pabst Blue Ribbon)
18 Anna Milkowski ( / Joe's Garage / IF)
19 Kristin Wentworth (Planet Bike)
20 Kimberly Flynn (Vantaggio/Specialized)
21 Linnea Koons (October Factory Racing)
22 Erica Yozell (
23 Nicole Thiemann (Pabst Blue Ribbon)
24 Lauri Webber (Secret Henry's Team)
25 Jennifer Maxwell (ATAC Sportswear p/b Bike Rack DC)
26 Arley Kemmerer (Hub Racing)
27 Kristine Church (Human Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon)
28 Beth Mason (Verge Sport - Test Pilot)
29 Amy Breyla (C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes)
30 Elizabeth Sheldon (T.E.A.M. Fuji)
31 Ann D'Ambruoso (Minuteman Road Club)
32 Jessica Singerman (Wissahickon)

DNF Natasha Elliott (Garneau Club Chausseurs)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.