Canadian Cyclist


November 15/09 17:51 pm - USGP Mercer Cup Day Two: results, PHOTOS and report

Posted by Editoress on 11/15/09

On a day that favored his rival, Tim Johnson (Cannondale/ buried the field to win the second and sunnier day of the Mercer Cup, part of the U.S. Gran Prix of Cyclocross.


Photos by Jon Safka


Men    Part one

          Part two


Preparing for the World Championships in her native Czech Republic, Katerina Nash (Luna) continued on her World Class trajectory to win the women's event ahead of a surprisingly strong Amy Dombroski (Schlamm) and Meredith Miller (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized).

After Ryan Trebon (Kona) crushed the field on a muddy Saturday, many expected a repeat on a course that had baked dry for Sunday's race. But he would struggle with a poor start that saw Johnson spring clear on the first lap. Canadian National Champion Geoff Kabush (Maxxis/Rocky Mountain) rode strongly in second position after the first lap, just ahead of a scrum of other contenders that included Johnson's teammate, Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale/ Trebon needed two laps to get through traffic to move into third, but Driscoll clung to his wheel in defense of Johnson. By the time he pried Driscoll loose, Johnson's lead proved insurmountable.

Trebon would catch Kabush, but found himself exhausted from the effort to advance farther.  Farther back Todd Wells (Specialized) put together a fantastic ride. Recovering from illness and injury, Wells started his 'cross season late. Forced to start from the fourth row, Wells required several laps to advance to Kabush, catching him with two laps to go. He would then go forward to place third behind Johnson and Trebon, but his effort earned him the SRAM Most Aggressive Rider Honors.

In the womens' race, Nash had a surprise challenger early in the race with Dombroski. Although the Czech superstar broke loose, Dombroski never cracked and finished on the pavement within 30 seconds of Nash. For that she would receive honors as the SRAM Most Aggressive Rider.  The day also saw another powerful ride from Meredith Miller, who caught and dropped Georgia Gould (Luna) on way to a third place ride.

The Under-23 division of the elite men's race showcased what may be the best field of young talent in the history of American 'cross. Swiss rider Valentine Scherz (Scott) won the division ahead of Danny Summerhill (Garmin) and Gavin Mannion (Hot Tubes). All three were in the top 15 and seven riders under the age of 23 placed in the top 30.

The crowds today were nothing short of fantastic. In one muddy turn followed by stairs, the Mid-Atlantic audience did the West Coast one better. In addition to the San Francisco tradition of placing dollar bills in the mud for backmarkers  to earn gratuities, the crowd showered the elite men with snack food giving that muddy section the moniker of the "chips and dip section". The roar was loudest at the end when Johnson, victory at hand, snatched some currency for himself.

Ali Goulet (Church of the Big Ring) pounded out a victory in the Masters 35-plus race that kept him in the series leader's jersey. He also turned a lap a first lap that matched the elite men's time.

Yannik Eckman (Clif Bar Development) swept the weekend in the junior division. Sadly the native of Germany and resident of Colorado is ineligible to represent either America or Germany at the World Championships.


1 Katerina Nash (Luna Pro Team)
2 Amy Dombroski (Richard Sachs-RGM Watches-Radix)
3 Meredith Miller (Team TIBCO)
4 Georgia Gould (LUNA Pro Team)
5 Alison Dunlap (LUNA Pro Team)
6 Alison Sydor (Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain)
7 Laura Van Gilder (C3 Sollay)
8 Maureen Bruno Roy (MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles)
9 Kari Studley (Velo Bella)
10 Kaitlin Antonneau (Planet Bike)
11 Deidre Winfield (C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes)
12 Andrea Smith (Minuteman Road Club)
13 Linda Sone (Planet Bike)
14 Kristin Wentworth (Planet Bike)
15 Linnea Koons (October Factory Racing)
16 Nicole Thiemann (Pabst Blue Ribbon)
17 Erica Yozell (
18 Kimberly Flynn (Vantaggio/Specialized)
19 Rebecca Wellons (NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dental)
20 Kelli Emmett (Giant Bicycles)
21 Kristin Gavin (Pabst Blue Ribbon)
22 Anna Milkowski ( / Joe's Garage / IF)
23 Beth Mason (Verge Sport - Test Pilot)
24 Lauri Webber (Secret Henry's Team)
25 Amanda Carey (Kenda/
26 Kristine Church (Human Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon)
27 Justine Robidoux (independant)

1 Timothy Johnson (Cannondale/
2 Ryan Trebon (KONA)
3 Todd Wells (Specialized)
4 Geoff Kabush (Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain)
5 Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale /
6 Barry Wicks (Kona)
7 Davide Frattini (Team Fuji)
10 Christopher Jones (Team Champion System)
11 Derrick St John (Garneau-Club Chaussures-Ogilvy)
12 Daniel Summerhill (Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin)
13 Nicholas Weighall (Rad Racing NW)
14 Carl Decker (Giant)
15 Gavin Mannion (Hot Tubes Junior Development Team)
16 Luke Keough (CL Noonan/Coast to Coast/KAM)
17 Ethan Gilmour (US National Development Team)
18 Jesse Anthony (Team Jamis Bikes)
19 Justin Lindine ( / Joe's Garage / IF)
20 Adam Myerson (Cycle-Smart)
21 Joseph Dombrowski (Haymarket Bicycles/Home Visit)
22 Zach McDonald (Classic Cycles)
23 Mark LaLonde (Planet Bike)
24 Michael Garrigan (La Bicicletta / J. Lindeberg)
25 Joshua Berry (Team BODE)
26 Kirt Fitzpatrick (S. Camel)
27 Brian Matter (Team Geargrinder)
28 Adam McGrath (Thule/Van Dessel)
29 Jerome Townsend ( / Joe's Garage / IF)
30 Dave Hackworthy (TEAM PLAN C)
31 Steve Fisher (Rad Racing NW)
32 Weston Schempf (C3-Athletes Serving Athletes)
33 Chance Noble (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized)
34 Travis Livermon (Cannondale)
35 Nathan Bannerman (Hagens Berman Cycling)
36 Tyler Trace (Trek Red Truck)
37 Justin Robinson (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized)
38 David Wilcox (Geekhouse Bikes / Boston Rock Gym)
39 Colin Reuter (International Bicycle Centers)
40 Kevin Noiles (La Bicicletta Pro Shop)
41 Peter Bradshaw (Embrocation Cycling Journal)
42 Joseph Schmalz (KCCX/Verge)
44 Mark Batty (Planet Energy)
45 Guillaume Nelessen (Van Dessel Factory Team)
46 Pavel Gonda (CRCA / Pacifico Team)
47 John Burns (
48 William Elliston (Van Dessel Factory Team)
49 Carl Hesselein (Whole Athlete)
50 Andrew Reardon (Starbrite Carwash / MOAB)
51 Michael Jenks (Highland Park Hermes)
52 Logan VonBokel (Mesa Cycles Racing Team)
53 Kat Statman (Pioneer Racing)
54 Igor Volshteyn (Champion System Racing)
55 John Crow (Inland Construction)
56 William Street (Sisu Custom Cycles)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.