Canadian Cyclist


November 22/09 19:14 pm - Whitmore's Super Cross Day 2 - Southampton, NY

Posted by Editor on 11/22/09

Amy Dombroski (Schlamm p/b Clement & Primus Mootry) proved her win on Saturday was no fluke, while the men's Cannondale/ squad decided that, after a season of tactical teamwork, they would compete amongst themselves for the top prize in Southampton. NACT series' winner Tim Johnson took the win ahead of teammates (or mafia brothers?) Jeremy Powers and Jamey Driscoll.

In the elite women's race, NACT series' winner Natasha Elliott (Garneau Club Chaussure Ogilvy) decided to set the pace early, and rode hard from the gun. But her efforts saw the Canadian fade early in the race.  Luna's Georgia Gould and Dombroski accelerated away from the field with little contest and left the chasers to figure out how to catch up. Hoping that Dombroski might be fatigued from the previous day's effort, Gould put in a strong showing at the front trying to gap the Schlamm rider, but the duo remained stuck together throughout most of the race. The 400 meter finishing straightaway provided opportunity for the U.S. U23 2009 national road champion to show off her sprinting skills, and Gould was left alone to ride in for second.

Meanwhile, behind the leading twosome, Giant's Kelli Emmett continued her strong cyclocross season chasing Dombroski and Gould after shedding Mary McConneloug (Kenda-Seven-NoTubes) and eventually taking third. Laura Van Gilder (C3 Athletes Serving Athletes), another strong road rider, was riding with Elliott but as the Garneau Club rider was suffering, she soon dropped off the pace and Van Gilder made her way up to McConneloug and passed her for fourth. Elliott would hold on for sixth.


Ryan Trebon (Kona) decided to lead things out from the start in the men's one hour competition, indicating he wasn't planning to concede to Cannondale. But despite early accelerations, the usual suspects of Cannondale, Kona and a few others assembled at the front. Jeremy Powers (Cannondale/ attacked early while NACT series' leader Tim Johnson marked Trebon, along with Cannondale teammate Jamey Driscoll. Danish champion Joachim Parbo returned to racing after missing Saturday's race due to illness and, along with Chris Jones (Champion-Systems) and Valetin Scherz - a young Swiss cyclocross racer currently in the U.S. - the trio tried to hold on and bring back Powers. However, the three would fall off the pace as Trebon led the chase to up to Powers.

Unfortunately, the Kona rider's efforts eventually hurt himself more than the others, and the tall man began to tire. Johnson, perhaps sensing the moment of fatigue, attacked the chase group and bridged up to Powers while Trebon was unable to respond. Driscoll followed his teammate's lead, attacking and dropping Trebon, and further back Adam Craig (Giant) began working his way up to Trebon, whom he caught and dropped. At the front, Powers and Johnson began sparring for the win and the man in the red leader's jersey went on to drop his teammate for the solo win. The Cannondale team again swept the podium while Craig rode aggressively to fourth place followed by Scherz in fifth. Trebon eventually finished sixth, closing out a disappointing weekend for the U.S. national champion.


UCI Elite/35+ Women
1 Amy Dombroski (USA) Schlamm p/b Clement&Primus Mootry 0:37:12
2 Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Chix 0:37:18
3 Kelli Emmett (USA) Giant Factory Team 0:38:13
4 Laura Van Gilder (USA) C3 Athletes Serving Athletes 0:38:28
5 Mary McConneloug (USA) KENDA-Seven-NoTubes 0:38:48
6 Natasha Elliott (Can) Garneau Club Chaussures Ogilvy 0:39:30
7 Sara Bresnick-Zocchi (USA) Landrys Bicycles 0:39:53
8 Andrea Smith (USA) Minuteman Road Club 0:40:11
9 Linnea Koons (USA) October Factory Racing 0:41:04
10 Sally Annis (USA) Hub Racing 0:41:30
11 Anna Barensfeld (USA) Minuteman Road Club 0:42:03
12 Christina Tamilio (USA) Minuteman Road Club 0:43:01
13 Anna Milkowski (USA) / Joe's Garage / IF 0:43:20
14 Perri Mertens (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy 0:43:50
15 Emma Bast (USA) Cycle-Smart / NCC 0:44:02
16 Natalia Gardiol (USA) Cambridge Bicycle / Igleheart Frames -1 lap
17 Amy Breyla (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes -1 lap
18 Andrea Luebbe (USA) Human Zoom / Pabst Blue Ribbon -2 laps
dnf Anna Young (USA) Pioneer Racing
UCI Elite/U23 Men
1 Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale/ 1:00:47
2 Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale/ 1:01:04
3 Jamey Driscoll (USA) Cannondale/ 1:01:23
4 Adam Craig (USA) Giant Factory Racing 1:02:10
5 Valentin Scherz (Sui) Procycles-Scott-Newwork 1:02:29
6 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona-FSA 1:02:47
7 Christopher Jones (USA) Team Champion Systems 1:03:16
8 Joachim Parbo (USA) CCV Leopard cycles 1:03:31
9 Tyler Trace (Can) Trek Red Truck 1:03:39
10 Derrick St John (Can) Garneau Club Chaussures Ogilvy 1:03:48
11 Carl Decker (USA) Giant Factory Racing 1:03:48
12 Michael Garrigan (Can) La Bicicletta/ Jetpower 1:04:57
13 Joshua Dillon (USA) RICHARD SACHS - RGM WATCHES - RADIX 1:05:00
14 Ryan Hopping (USA) United Cycle 1:05:09
15 Michael Broderick (USA) KENDA-Seven-NoTubes 1:05:24
16 Kevin Noiles (Can) La Bicicletta Pro Shop 1:05:29
17 Andrew Wulfkuhle (USA) C3-Athletes Serving Athletes 1:05:33
18 Gavin Mannion (USA) Hot Tubes Junior Development Team 1:06:20
19 Shannon Skerritt (USA) The Vanilla Workship/Speedvagen Racing 1:06:28
20 Kirt Fitzpatrick (USA) Sexual Camel 1:08:20
21 Kevin Hulick (USA) The Vanilla Workship/Speedvagen Racing -1 lap
22 Peter Bradshaw (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal -2 laps
23 Ryan Dewald (USA) Battley/Harley-Davidson -2 laps
24 Andrew Crooks (USA) NYC Velo -2 laps
25 Chris Hurst (USA) Team Wheel and Sprocket -2 laps
26 John Burns (USA) -2 laps
27 Pavel Gonda (USA) New York University -3 laps
28 Colin Reuter (USA) International Bicycle/ -4 laps
29 Patrick Bradley (USA) Rutgers University Cycling Team -5 laps
30 Richard Visinski (USA) Exodus Road Racing
31 Christopher Hamlin (USA) UVM Cycling
32 Zach Adams (USA) C3-Athletes Serving Athletes 6L
33 Myles Romanow (USA) Hampton Velo Club
Cat 2-4 Masters 35+
1 Peter Baiamonte (USA) Brooklyn Velo Force / GQ Racing 0:35:38
2 Kevin Horan (USA) Colavita 0:36:21
3 Todd Peterson (USA) Team Bulldog/Cycle Craft 0:37:11
4 Scott Doel (Can) Gears Bike Shop Club 0:37:47
5 Scott Demel (USA) Brooklyn Velo Force / GQ Racing 0:38:45
6 Ian Landau (USA) HUP United 0:39:00
7 Bob Haufler (Can) Midweek Cycling Club 0:39:04
8 Chris Thaler (USA) Evolution Racing 0:40:18
9 Ted Josberger (USA) 0:42:15
10 James Young (USA) Planet Bike 0:42:42
11 Joe Favara (USA) Hampton Velo 0:43:55
12 Oscar Rosales (USA) GS Gotham/Toga -1 lap
13 Stephen Rosental (USA) Sid's Bikes NYC
14 Matthew Rossi (USA)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.