Canadian Cyclist


January 30/10 4:58 am - Cyclo-cross World Championships - Junior Men UPDATES

Posted by Editoress on 01/30/10

A sunny but cold day in Tabor, -2 C with wind chill it is -9.  The Canadian contingent should feel right at home.


A large field of 63 rider take the start with 4 Canadians: Kris Dahl, Kiernan Orange, Conor O'Brien and Mackenzie Carson


Coverage of the 2010 Cyclo-cross World Championships provided with the support of  Shimano


Lap 1

The Dutch and French riders formed at the head of the bunch from the start and the remainder of the field can only chase. Conor O'Brien is the lead Canuck and is sitting mid pack. Kris Dahl sitting ~ 2/3rds back is the next Canadian.  


Lap 2

Gianni Vermeersch (Belgium)  is at the front followed by Gert-Jan Bosman (Netherlands) and Emilien Viennet (France), Tomas Paprstka (Czech Republic) , Emiel Dolfsma (Netherlands) , Gert-Jan Bosman (Netherlands) and 1 more to make a group of 7.  A lot of slipping and sliding on the corners

Conor O'Brien has broken a pedal


Lap 3

Tomas Paprstka has attacked and the bunch is chasing. 


Lap 4 - 2 to go

Tomas Paprstka has a 4 second gap on a chase group 6.  Matej Lasak (Czech Republic) has now joined the chase.


Paprstka gains time and 1/2 way round has 6 seconds.  Chasers are all Dutch:  David Van Der Poel (Netherlands) , Emiel Dolfsma (Netherlands)  and Emiel Dolfsma (Netherlands)   followed by 1 French and 1 Belgian  Vermeersch.


Kris Dahl is sitting mid pack.  Mackenzie Carson is just behind him.  Conor O'Brien is last

Heading to the start line there are 2 chasers remaining at Emiel Dolfsma (Netherlands)   and Julian Alaphilippe (France)


Lap 5 - last lap

Paprstka goes through with 6 seconds on Alaphilippe and Dolfsma at 8 seconds.

Alaphilippe attacks and has caught Paprstka. They head to the final section of the course they are jockeying for the lead

Dolfsma has almost caught the leaders


Over the bridge Paprstka attacks





1  Tomas Paprstka (Czech Republic)     40:30
2  Julian Alaphilippe (France)     at s.t.
3  Emiel Dolfsma (Netherlands)     0:09

4 Matej Lasak (Czech Republic)   0:19


40  Kris Dahl (Canada) 4:11

45 Mackenzie Carson (Canada) 4:21

52 Kiernan Orange (Canada) 6:24

58 Conor O'Brien (Canada) 8:22


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.